Towner County, North Dakota Genealogy
Guide to Towner County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
Contents
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Social Security Records
- 2.27 Tax Records
- 2.28 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
It was named after Oscar M. Towner (b. 1842, d. 1897).[2] The County is located in north center area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Towner County Courthouse
315 2nd Street
PO Box 517
Cando, ND 58324-0517
Phone: 701.968.4345
Towner County Website
District Court Clerk has marriage records from 1888, divorce records from 1890, probate records from 1886, court records from 1889, land records from 1884, and burial records.[4]
Owner County, North Dakota Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1903 | 1888 | 1903 | 1883 | 1883 | 1883 | 1836 |
Full compliance by 1924.[6] | ||||||
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
| Unorganized territories | ||
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Towner County Biographies on North Dakota Genealogy Trails website - alphabetical list of early settlers and prominent individuals from county histories
- North Dakota Biography Index at North Dakota State University Archives - Index only; gives references to publications containing information on North Dakotans, living and deceased
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- 1877-1999 - North Dakota, Cemetery Records, 1877-1999 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1890 | 1,450 | — |
| 1900 | 6,491 | 347.7% |
| 1910 | 8,963 | 38.1% |
| 1920 | 8,327 | −7.1% |
| 1930 | 8,393 | 0.8% |
| 1940 | 7,200 | −14.2% |
| 1950 | 6,360 | −11.7% |
| 1960 | 5,624 | −11.6% |
| 1970 | 4,645 | −17.4% |
| 1980 | 4,052 | −12.8% |
| 1990 | 3,627 | −10.5% |
| 2000 | 2,876 | −20.7% |
| 2010 | 2,246 | −21.9% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Before North Dakota was a state in 1889, parts of North Dakota were included in the 1836 Iowa Territory census (also known as Wisconsin Territory), 1840 Iowa Territory census, 1850 Minnesota Territory census, and the 1860-1880 Dakota Territory censuses.[9] See links listed below.
Territory and State Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1836 - 1836 Wisconsin Territory Census – index only; North Dakota was included in the 1836 Wisconsin Territory Census
- 1840 - United States Census, 1840 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; North Dakota was included in the 1840 Iowa Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1850 - United States Census, 1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; North Dakota was included in the 1850 Minnesota Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1860 - United States Census, 1860 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; North Dakota was included in the 1860 Dakota Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1870 - United States Census, 1870 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; North Dakota was included in the 1870 Dakota Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1880 - United States Census, 1880 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; North Dakota was included in the 1880 Dakota Territory Census - How to Use this Collection
- 1885 Dakota Territory 1885 Census Index at NDSU Archives – index only
- 1885, 1915, 1925 North Dakota, Territorial and State Censuses, 1885, 1915, 1925 at Ancestry.com – ($), index and images
- 1915 North Dakota Census, 1915 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1925 North Dakota Census, 1925 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Censuses were taken for the state of North Dakota starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.
- 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930 - Towner County Census Records - Scroll down to "Census Records." (USGenWeb Archives)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.
Online Church Records
Lutheran Church
- 1875-1940 - U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church of America, Records, 1875-1940 at Ancestry — ($); Index and images; Dates vary for each county
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1902 - Cando Medical Directory (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1909 - Towner County Attorneys (USGenWeb Archives)
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1953 - North Dakota, Red River Valley Genealogical Society, Pioneer Files, 1880-1953 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.
- Index to Towner County BLM Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Towner County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.
- Towner County History Topics (Genealogy Trails)
- Towner County History - Scroll down to "History." (USGenWeb Archives)
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of North Dakota - shows boundary changes for North Dakota Counties
- North Dakota Maps at NDGenWeb -historical maps
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Online Collections[edit | edit source]
These collections are unique to North Dakota. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and North Dakota Military Records.
Civil War
- 1861-1865 - Dakota Territory Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch. - How to Use this Collection
- 1890 - United States Census of Union Veterans and Widows of the Civil War, 1890 at FamilySearch. - How to Use this Collection
World War I
- 1917-1918 - North Dakota Military Men 1917-1918 at Ancestry ($)
- 1917-1918 - Roster of the men and women who served in the army or naval service (including the Marine Corps) of the United States or its allies from the state of North Dakota in the World War, 1917-1918, Vols. 1-4 at Ancestry ($)
- World War I Casualties, Towner County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
World War II
- World War II Army Casualties, Towner County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
- World War II Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard Casualties, Towner County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
Korean War
- 1950-1957 - Korean War Casualties, Towner County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
For further information see North Dakota Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1868-1924 - North Dakota, Naturalization Records, 1868-1924 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- North Dakota Naturalization Records Index at NDSU Archives – index only, covers various dates and counties
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
For more information, see North Dakota Newspapers.
North Dakota Newspapers Online
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of North Dakota newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of North Dakota newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some North Dakota newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
- State Historical Society of North Dakota - contains inventory and catalog of all known ND newspapers
Towner County Newspapers
- 1910-1923 - Towner County Newspapers 1910-1923 (USGenWeb Archives)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Towner County Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1985 North Dakota and South Dakota Wills and Probate Records 1800-1985 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
School Records[edit | edit source]
- Towner County School Records - Scroll down to "Schools." (USGenWeb Archives)
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1872-1958 - North Dakota, County Marriages, 1872-1958 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1888-1949 - Partial List of Marriage Records, Towner County, 1888-1949 (USGenWeb Archives)
- Towner County Marriage Announcements (Genealogy Trails)
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1892-present - NDDH Public Death Index, 1892-present at North Dakota Dept. of Health – index only
- Towner County Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Towner County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Dakota Archives and Libraries.
North Dakota State University Archives
West Building 3551 7th Avenue N
Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing Address:
NDSU Archives
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Phone: 701-231-8914
Fax: 701-231-5632
Email: ndsu.archives@ndsu.edu
Website
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Towner County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Dakota Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Cando Pioneer Foundation Museum
7342 72nd Ave NE
Cando, ND 58324-0142
Telephone Number:701-968-3490
Website
Towner County Historical Society Museum
108 4th Avenue
Munich, ND 58352
Telephone Number: 701-682-5106
Email: dabar@utma.com
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Towner County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Dakota Societies.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Towner County, North Dakota, USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Towner County, North Dakota, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
- Towner County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Towner County Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
- Genealogy Trails: Towner County, North Dakota, Genealogy and History
- Digital Horizons North Dakota
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Towner County, North Dakota, Genealogy and History
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Towner, North Dakota," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Towner_County,_North_Dakota accessed 8/28/2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Towner County, North Dakota. Page 526 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Towner County, North Dakota. Page 526 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 519.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 562; Alice M. Hetzel, U.S. Vital Statistics System: Major Activities and Developments, 1950-95 (Hyattsville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, [1997]), 58.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Towner County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 511. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
