Trotton, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Trotton, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Midhurst|
|Parish registers: 1660; Separate registers exist for Milland beginning 1825|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1571|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
TROTTON (St. George), a parish, in the union of Midhurst, partly in the hundred of Easebourne, but chiefly in that of Dumpford, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 3½ miles (W. by N.) from Midhurst. The parish lies on the river Rother. The church is principally in the decorated style, and contains a beautiful monument of brass inlaid with Sussex marble, to Lord and Lady Camois. There is a chapel of ease at Milland, near the border of Hampshire.
A history of the church Trotton St George
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church records[edit | edit source]
Trotton, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Trotton, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|PRTS||1571-1642, 1660-1881||1571-1901||1571-1642, 1662-1901|
Milland registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Milland Online Records|
Tuxlith chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Tuxlith Chapelry Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Trotton
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 392-395. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.