Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico Genealogy
| Puerto Rico Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Puerto Rico Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to Municipality of Trujillo Alto family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents
History[edit | edit source]
The area was origianally part of the Taino people, who were the indigenous people of that time period. Trujillo Alto was founded on January 8, 1801.
In 1844, the was an epidemic of cholera, which significantly decreased the population.
In 1902, the Legislative Assembly of Puerto Rico approved a law for the consolidation of certain municipalities. As a result, Trujillo Alto was incorporated into the town of Carolina. However, in 1905 a new law revoked the previous one, turning Trujillo Alto into an independent municipality again.
Hurricane Maria on September 20, 2017 triggered numerous landslides in Trujillo Alto with the significant amount of rainfall. [1]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete*Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, Trujillo Alto, browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trujillo_Alto,_Puerto_Rico#History , accessed 12/27/20.
