Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy
Guide to Trumbull County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Coordinates: 41.32°0′N 80.76°0′W / 41.32°N 80.76°W
| Trumbull County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
 Location in the state of Ohio, United States Genealogy | |
 Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
 | |
| Address | Trumbull County Courthouse 160 High St. NW Warren, Ohio 44481 |
|---|---|
Contents
- 1 Trumbull County, Ohio Record Dates
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biography
- 2.3 Business Records and Commerce
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 County Records
- 2.8 Court Records
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 2.11 Gazetteers
- 2.12 Genealogy
- 2.13 History
- 2.14 Land and Property
- 2.15 Maps
- 2.16 Military
- 2.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.18 Newspapers
- 2.19 Obituaries
- 2.20 Periodicals
- 2.21 Probate
- 2.22 Public Records
- 2.23 Repositories
- 2.24 Taxation
- 2.25 Vital Records
- 3 Websites
- 4 References
Trumbull County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1867 | 1803 | 1837 | 1800 | 1795 | 1803 | 1820 |
- Parent Counties: Formed from Jefferson and Wayne of Northwest Territory in 1800.
- County Seat: Warren
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Jonathan Trumbull, Governor of Connecticut, who once owned the land in this region. It's county seat is Warren and was founded July 10, 1800. It is located in the Northwest area of the state.[2]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [3]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Ashtabula County • Geauga County • Portage County • Mahoning County • Lawrence County, Pennsylvania • Mercer County, Pennsylvania • Crawford County, Pennsylvania
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1940) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1895 A courthouse fire may have damaged or destroyed some records.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill at 24-7 Family History Circle.
- When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle at Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Blog.
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| OHGenWeb Tombstone Photos | ||
| See Ohio Cemeteries for more information. | ||
See the book, Trumbull County Ohio Cemetery Inscriptions 1800-1930 compiled and published by the Trumbull County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society (1983), for a record of tombstone inscriptions found in all of the known cemeteries in the county. Several transcriptions were compiled into this one volume. Genealogy Center
Other Online Records
- 1824-2012 - Ohio, Bloomfield Township, Brownwood Cemetery Records, 1824-2012 at FamilySearch — index and images
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1800 | 1,302 | — |
| 1810 | 8,671 | 566.0% |
| 1820 | 15,546 | 79.3% |
| 1830 | 26,153 | 68.2% |
| 1840 | 38,107 | 45.7% |
| 1850 | 30,490 | −20.0% |
| 1860 | 30,656 | 0.5% |
| 1870 | 38,659 | 26.1% |
| 1880 | 44,880 | 16.1% |
| 1890 | 42,373 | −5.6% |
| 1900 | 46,591 | 10.0% |
| 1910 | 52,766 | 13.3% |
| 1920 | 83,920 | 59.0% |
| 1930 | 123,063 | 46.6% |
| 1940 | 132,315 | 7.5% |
| 1950 | 158,915 | 20.1% |
| 1960 | 208,526 | 31.2% |
| 1970 | 232,579 | 11.5% |
| 1980 | 241,863 | 4.0% |
| 1990 | 227,813 | −5.8% |
| 2000 | 225,116 | −1.2% |
| 2010 | 210,312 | −6.6% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, see Ohio Church Records.
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints[edit | edit source]
- Brookfield
County Records[edit | edit source]
- 1794 - 2010 Ohio, Trumbull County Records, 1795-2010 at FamilySearch — images
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Upton, Harriet Taylor. A Twentieth Century History of Trumbull County, Ohio: A Narrative Account of Its Historical Progress, Its People, and Its Principal Interests, Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library-Vol. 1, Internet Archive, FamilySearch Digital Library-Vol. 2, Google Books, Internet Archive; FHL book 977.138 H2u v. 1-2
- Williams, H.S., History of Trumbull and Mahoning Counties, (Cleveland, Ohio: H.Z. Williams and Bros., 1882). Digital copies of Volume 1 at Google Books Internet Archive. Digital copies of Volume 2 at Internet Archive. Digital copies of combined volumes at FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($)(Indexed); FHL film 795945 Items 2 - 3; book 977.13 H2h v. 1-2
- Allison, Calvin Grace, 19th Century Voices of Trumbull County, Ohio, (Warren, Ohio: Ohio Genealogical Society. Trumbull County Chapter, 1993). FHL book 977.138 H2a
- Varner, Emily L., Trumbull County, Ohio, Spanning the Generations, 1795-2002, (Cortland, Ohio: Howland Printing, 2003). FHL book 977.138 D2v
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- The Trumbull County Archives/Microfilm department has online maps and deed indexes
Maps[edit | edit source]
for more resources
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1888-1919 - Ohio Soldier Home Records, 1888-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Civil War service men from Trumbull County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Trumbull County.
- - 41st Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies A and K
- - 105th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies B, C, and I
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1919 - Ohio, World War I Statement of Service Cards, 1914-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1914-1918 - Ohio, World War I, Enrollment Cards, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1916-1920 - Ohio, WWI Index and Return Cards, 1916-1920 at FamilySearch — index
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1977 - Ohio, County Naturalization Records, 1800-1977 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Memory. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers and Obituaries.
Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Courtesy of The Warren-Trumball County Public Library:
Warren Tribune Chronicle:
- Obituraries: 1900-1938
- Obituaries: 1970, part of 1980, 1981, 1987, 2009
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the {{{1}}} County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records. Online Probate Records
- 1786 - 1998 Ohio Wills and Probate Records 1786-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1789 - 1996 Ohio Probate Records 1789-1996 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
Finding More Probate Records[edit source]
Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
Public Records[edit | edit source]
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Trumbull County Archives
Emily Varner, Archivist. Stone Building, 118 High Street NW, Warren, OH 44481. website
The archives includes and maintains the following records:
- Auditors Tax Duplicates 1811, 1839-1946
- Auditors Transfer Lists 1960-1992
- Births 1867-1908
- Commissioners Journals 1828-1929
- Deaths 1867-1908
- Estates 1803-1989
- Marriages 1800-1995
- Mortgage Records & Indices 1850-1947
- Probate Records 1803-1953
- Probate/Administration Docket 1837 on
- Probate Journals 1854-1966
- Wills 1841-1966
Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Trumbull County Courthouse
160 High St NW
Warren, OH 44481
Phone: 330.675.2557
Clerk Court has divorce, court and naturalization
records from 1800; Probate Judge has marriage
and probate records; County Recorder has land records[4]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Warren-Trumbull County Public Library
Local History and Genealogy Room
444 Mahoning Avenue NW
Warren, Ohio 44483
Telephone: 330- 399-8807 ext 120
Unique collections include, among others:
WINNAGLE COLLECTION contains research materials gathered on local families by genealogist Grace Marvin Winnagle (1882-1965). A wide variety of collected data and correspondence is included.
UNUSUAL SOURCES (Records from the Ohio Penitentiary, Ohio Reformatory (Mansfield), the Ohio School for the Deaf & Dumb (Columbus), the Boys Industrial School (Lancaster) and the Girls Industrial School (Delaware) are on microfilm for the early years.)
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
The Connecticut Western Reserve Genealogy was a part of northeast Ohio originally intended for settlement by Revolutionary War refugees from Connecticut.[5] The former Connecticut Western Reserve lands were in the modern counties of Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Erie, Geauga, Huron, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, and Trumbull fully, but also in parts of Ashland, Mahoning, Ottawa, Summit, and Wayne counties in Ohio.
The Research Library at the Western Reserve Historical Society History Center is the premier repository for Cleveland, Ohio and Connecticut Western Reserve history material. One of the principal strengths is its manuscript collections.[6] The WRHS collection has original land records, genealogies of New England, New York, and Pennsylvania, biographies, histories, and family Bibles.[5]
Other Societies
Trumbull County Genealogical Society
PO Box 309
Warren, Ohio 44482
Ohio Historical Society
Archives/Library
1982 Velma Avenue
Columbus, OH 43211-2497
Telephone: 614-297-2510
Online Genealogy Research Groups[edit | edit source]
- U.S. Midwest Genealogy Research Community - FamilySearch Facebook Research Group
- Ohio Ancestors - FamilySearch Community group, must have a free FamilySearch account to join
- U.S. and Canada Genealogy Research - FamilySearch Community group, must have a free FamilySearch account to join
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.
- 1800-1950 - Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1800-1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Finding More Tax Records
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.
Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Births[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1841-2003 - Ohio, County Births, 1841-2003 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1867-1908. Births were not required to be recorded until 1867, and are generally not available prior to that date. The Trumbull County Archives has birth records from 1867-1908 indexed alphabetically on cards.
- 1908-present. The Ohio Department of Health maintains the birth records from 29 Dec 1908 to present.
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1789-2013 - Ohio, County Marriages, 1789-2013 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1800-1958 - Ohio, Marriages, 1800-1958 at FamilySearch — free; Index.
- 1800-1942 - Ohio, Marriages, 1800-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1800-Sept 1995 - The Trumbull County Archives has both an alphabetical card index, and actual certificates available. Marriage licenses are available from 1816, when they were kept separately, but in 1891 they were combined with the marriage certificates.
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
- 1949-present, Abstracts. Abstracts of original divorce decrees from 7 Sep 1949 to present are maintained at the Ohio Department of Health. Records prior to this date are generally maintained in the probate court of the county in which the original marriage license was filed.
- 1970-2003 Ohio, Marriages, 1970 - 2003 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Deaths[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1808-1975, Records. The Trumbull County Archives has transcripts of each case from civil, criminal and divorce courts, in Common Pleas Court Journals and Common Pleas Court Record Books.
- 1840-2001 - Ohio, County Death Records, 1840-2001 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1867-1908. The Trumbull County Archives also has the death records for this time period indexed alphabetically on cards. Deaths were not required to be recorded until 1867.
- 1908-1944. The Ohio Historical Society maintains death certificates for the state from 20 Dec 1908 - 31 Dec 1944.
- 1945-present. The Ohio Department of Health maintains the death certificates for this time period.
- 1908-1953 - Death certificates online: 1908-1953. Free name indexes and certificate images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
- 1908-1932, 1938-2018 Ohio, Death Records, 1908-1932, 1938-2018 at Ancestry.com ($) — index and images
- 1913-1944, 1954-1963 Ohio Death Index, 1913-1944, 1954-1963 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Finding More Vital Records
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
Original Death Records on Microfilm
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Trumbull County, OH History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Ohio Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Trumbull County OH Genealogy
- USGenWeb project, Trumbull County page. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Trumbull County Genealogical Society
- Trumbull County History & Genealogy - Genealogy Trails
- Trumbull County Ohio History - American Local History Network
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Trumbull County, Ohio. Page 540-547 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 531-533.
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/trumbull/ accessed 2/27/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Trumbull County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trumbull_County,_Ohio, accessed 16 January 2019.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Trumbull County, Ohio. Page 546 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 William Dollarhide, and Ronald A. Bremer, America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, UT: Heritage Quest, 1988), 89. At various repositories (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 J54d.
- ↑ Family History and Genealogical Research in Western Reserve Historical Society (accessed 11 March 2015).
