Tucson Arizona West Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


The Center OPEN! Please wear your mask and bring your flash drive![edit | edit source]

The Tucson Arizona West Family History Center is located at the Tucson West Stake Center. It serves northwestern Tucson, Oro Valley, Marana, and Picture Rocks. It includes a collection of about 5000 books useful for genealogy research in the United States and Europe, as well as a variety of journals from genealogical societies. Note that there is no charge for using any of the available resources or center services.[edit | edit source]

Individual Consulting[edit | edit source]

  • Center staff are available for personal consulting with no appointment needed

Have a church organization and community organization that would like to reserve off-hour time please sign-up here Patrons Scheduling Tucson Arizona  Family History Center[edit | edit source]

Staff Research Specialties[edit | edit source]

US Industrial and Agricultural Census Schedules, available on Wednesday and Saturdays

Links[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Research Wiki: What It Can Do For You!: A comprehensive video presentation explaining the Wiki, navigating it, and some especially useful pages. Case studies demonstrate using the Wiki for genealogical research. Editing and adding articles to the Wiki are covered.


Arizonatucsonwestfhc.JPG

Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]

Location & Map:

  • 3530 W Magee, Tucson, AZ 85741 USA
  • From Ina Road go north on Thornydale about one mile to Magee Road. Turn east on Magee, continue one quarter mile to the church building on the left.
  • Take the second entrance on the east side of the building.
  • The Family Search Center is entered through the small door just to the left of the main east entrance of the building.
  • Location Map


Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


E-mail: az_tucsonwest@familyhistorymail.org

The Center is CLOSED through the month of March. We will reopen April 6th. If you have need for the facility, please email us to get in touch.[edit | edit source]

Center Hours:

  • Tuesday: 9AM to 6PM
  • Wednesday: 9AM to 6PM
  • Friday 9AM to 6PM
  • Saturday: 9AM to 1PM

Holiday and Summer Break Schedule:

  • Closed for Summer Break July 2 - July 13
  • Closed for Thanksgiving, Tuesday, 24 November 2020 - Monday 30 November 2020
  • Closed for Christmas, from Monday, 21 December 2020 - Monday, 4 January 2021
  • Closed for Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints General Conference - April 6 and October 5 (Saturdays)

Calendar and Events[edit | edit source]

Want to find all the genealogy events in the Arizona area? Check out this link.

Upcoming Events[edit | edit source]

VIRTUAL - Ohio Genealogical Society (OGS) 2021 Conference "Bringin' It Home 2021"[edit | edit source]

2021 Wed Apr 14th - Sat 17th

Genealogy Conference

Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center in Lewis Center, Ohio map

The OGS 2021 Conference will be entirely Virtual!

Three days of excellent genealogy education. Keynote speakers are:

Peggy Lauritzen

D. Joshua Taylor

Ari Wilkins

See the OGS website for full details.

VIRTUAL - 8th SCGS Genetic Genealogy Conference[edit | edit source]

2021 Fri Jun 4th

Genealogy Conference

Due to COVID concerns and the changes this virus is causing our community, Jamboree 2021 is now a Conference!

jamboree 2021



Center Resources[edit | edit source]

We have 9 computers, 2 scanners, and 2 microfilm and microfiche readers.

Arizonatucsonwestfhcinside.JPG

  • FamilySearch Catalog. Access to the microfilm holdings of the Family History Library in Salt Lake Internet access is available at the library.
  • We have extensive hardbound collections for North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Virginia as well as a few New England collections.

Databases and Software[edit | edit source]

  • FHC Portal: This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. The resources currently include:
  1. 19th Century British Library Newspapers digital archive – Searchable database of the British Library's newspaper holdings with a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century (from 1800 to 1900)
  2. Alexander Street Press - Focused on records from the American Civil War. Searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. Contains approximately 100,000 indexed pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs. Includes images, photographs, posters, and ephemera
  3. Ancestry.com – Searchable collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court, land, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership
  4. ArkivDigital Online – Images of Swedish Church Records and other historical records. Indexed by locality
  5. Find My Past – Searchable collections of records from the United Kingdom and Ireland, including the 1911 British Census. (Not all of the content from Find My Past is available in family history centers)
  6. Fold3 – Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos, focused on military records and stories
  7. Heritage Quest Online – Heritage Quest Online database is a collection of material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. U.S. federal census images from 1790, books, periodicals, Revolutionary War Era Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files, Freedman’s Bank records
  8. Historic Map Works Library Edition - Digital map collections available, with high-resolution, full color historic and antique maps
  9. Legacy Stories - Resource for storing and publishing online family history information in text, audio, and multi-media formats
  10. Newspapers.com - The largest online newspaper archive and has 15,900+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s. Millions of additional pages added every month
  11. Paper Trail – Provides access to 19th-century westward American migration documents
  12. World Vital Records – Access to birth, marriage, and death records; Social Security Death Index; family trees; census records; immigration records; court, land, and probate records; military records directory lists; newspapers, family histories, reference materials, biographies, wills, gravestone photos, ship manifests, map collections, and yearbook collections

Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]

  • Nine computers with internet access, each with dual monitors
  • One microfilm scanner - bring a USB flash drive to store your digitized documents
  • Two microfilm readers
  • Two scanners for digitizing photographs, slides, negatives, and documents - bring an USB flash drive to store your digitized documents
  • Wireless access available upon request.