Twineham, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Twineham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Cuckfield|
|Parish registers: 1716|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
TWINEHAM (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 5 miles (S. W.) from Cuckfield. The road from London to Brighton, by way of Hickstead, runs through the parish.
A history of the church Twineham St Peter The churchyard includes a Quaker burial ground 1694-1732. The Parish Church of St Peter has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Burchall, Michael J. A Hickstead Place Account Book. A discussion of the importance of sources other than parish registers for learning about the lives of ancestors. This discussion is primarily about the Lords of Twineham Manor and the Stapley family. Other surnames mentioned are Wood, Saunders, Foord, King, Morley, Lockier, Lindfield and Dumbrell. Covers years 1642-1745. Article to be found in the magazine Sussex Family Historian Vol. 1. #2, Sept 1973, pages 47-48. Family History Library Ref. 942.25 B2su
Church records[edit | edit source]
Twineham, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Twineham, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|PRTS||1606-1641, 1664-1886||1606-1902||1606-1642, 1664-1902|
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1716-1878 Marr 1716-1999 Bur 1716-1998 Bishop's Transcripts 1606-1893
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Twineham
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 404-407. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.