Tyrol, Austro-Hungarian Empire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Austro-Hungarian
Empire Wiki Topics
Record Types
Saxony-Anhalt Background
Tyrol, Austro-Hungarian Empire Genealogy

Guide to ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Disambiguation[edit | edit source]

This article deals with the Tyrol region of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.
For the Tyrolian region of Italy, see Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol Region, Italy Genealogy
For Tyrol County, Austria, see Tyrol, Austria Genealogy.

Historical Geography[edit | edit source]

The Princely County of Tyrol, until 1493: County of Tyrol, was a State of the Holy Roman Empire established about 1140. Originally a jurisdiction under the sovereignty of the Counts of Tyrol, it was inherited by the Counts of Gorizia in 1253 and finally fell to the Austrian House of Habsburg in 1363. In 1804 the Princely County of Tyrol, unified with the secularised Prince-Bishoprics of Trent and Brixen, became a crown land of the Austrian Empire in 1804 and from 1867 a Cisleithanian crown land of Austria-Hungary.

Today the territory of the historic crown land is divided between the Italian autonomous region of Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol and the Austrian state of Tyrol. Both parts are today associated again in the Tyrol–South Tyrol–Trentino Euroregion.

Map of Historic Tyrol and Partitions[edit | edit source]

800px-Tirol-Suedtirol-Trentino.png Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 6.26.06 PM.png

Research Help[edit | edit source]

See Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol Region, Italy Genealogy or Tyrol, Austria Genealogy.