To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Udimore, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Udimore, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Udimore, Sussex
Udimore St Mary East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gostrow
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Rye
Registration District Rye
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dallington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

UDIMORE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and borough of Rye, hundred of Gostrow, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 3½ miles (W. S. W.) from Rye. This parish is bounded on the south by Brede channel, and situated on the road from Rye to Battle. The church is principally in the early English style.[1]

Udimore St Mary is an Ancient Parish in East Sussex and includes Little Udimore. The ecclesiastical modern parish is teamed with St George Brede, Sussex

A History of the Church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Udimore St Mary

The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Udimore Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Other places of worship include

Methodist Chapel built in 1882 closed in 1960's and converted to private residential dwelling Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
Methodist Chapel, Cock Marling built 1863 closed 1907 Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Udimore Wikipedia list of places of worship in Rother Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within Rye Registration district, from 1935 this was incorporated into Battle Registration district
Certiificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records[edit | edit source]

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Udimore

Census records[edit | edit source]

Udimore parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Sussex, Parish Registers, 1538-1910 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Sussex Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Sussex Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Udimore Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP



1530-1990
TGEN 1538-1920s
1538-1920s
1538-1920s
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Sussex Record Office and The Keep (which houses the collections of the East Sussex Record Office).

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Rye Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Udimore/

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 411-414. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.

FamilySearch