Ulverston St Mary, Lancashire Genealogy

England

Lancashire

Lancashire Parishes

Ulverston St Mary

Guide to Ulverston St Mary, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

See a Comprehensive List of Chapelries in Ulverston Parish

Ulverston St Mary Lancashire.JPG

Parish History

ULVERSTON (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster; containing, with the townships of Mansriggs, Osmotherley, and Subberthwaite, and the chapelries of Blawith, Church-Conistone, Egtonwith Newland, Lowick, and Torver. It lies 22 miles (N. W.) from Lancaster. This place derives its name, written in old records Olvestonam, from Ulpha, a Saxon lord; and was conferred in 1127, on the abbey of Furness, by Stephen, afterwards King of England.  Ulverston is a port within the port of Lancaster, and is little more than a mile distant from the Furness channel in Morecambe bay.  The parish was anciently included in the parish of Dalton. In the rural parts of the parish are five separate chapels. The Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics have places of worship; and Sunday schools in connexion both with the churches and meetinghouses afford religious instruction to a large number of children. There are, besides, auxiliaries of the Christian Knowledge, the British and Foreign Bible, the Gospel Propagation, the Church Missionary, and London and Wesleyan Missionary, Societies. The Friends meeting-house near Swarthmoor Hall is a plain structure: over the doorway is the inscription "Ex dono G. F. 1688.

The name Ulverston, first recorded in the Domesday Book (1086) as Ulvrestun probably means 'Úlfarr's farm' from the Old Norse personal name Úlfarr and tun, 'farm, homestead' or the equivalent Old English Wulfhere + tūn. The names Úlfarr and Wulfhere both translate roughly as 'wolf warrior' or 'wolf army', which explains the presence of a wolf on the town's coat of arms. The loss of the 'W' in Wulfhere can be attributed to the historic Scandinavian influence in the region. Locally, the town has traditionally been known as Oostan.] Other variations of the name recorded throughout history include Oluestonam (1127), and Uluereston (1189).

The town's market charter was granted in 1280 by Edward I. This was for a market every Thursday; modern Ulverston keeps its old market town appearance, and market days are now held on both Thursdays and Saturdays. The charter also allowed for all public houses to open from 10:30 am until 11:00 pm irrespective of any other statute on the books. During the summer months the Saturday market day is themed with craft stalls, charity stalls and locally produced wares on "Made in Cumbria" stalls.

Historically, the ancient parish included several other chapelries or townships which later became separate civil parishes: Blawith, Church Coniston, Egton with Newland, Lowick, Mansriggs, Osmotherley, Subberthwaite and Torver. From 1894 to 1974 the town constituted an urban district in the administrative county of Lancashire. It became a successor parish in the Cumbria district of South Lakeland under the Local Government Act 1972.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church Records

Online Records

• 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index

Ulverston St. Mary parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following websites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)

FMP = findmypast (£)

FREG = FreeReg

FS = FamilySearch.org

LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk

LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk

ULVERSTON ST MARY PARISH (1545) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1546-1910	1545-1914	1678-1903
LOPC	1771-1780, 1813-1841	1545-1617, 1771-1780, 1821-1841	1771-1780, 1814-1841
LBMD	None	None	None
FMP	None	1545-1837	None
ULVERSTON HOLY TRINITY Chapelry  (1832) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	None	None	None
LOPC	1866-1868	None	1864-1868
LBMD	None	None	None
BLAWITH ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry  (1728) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1728-1837	None	None
LOPC	1745-1875	1730-1837	1745-1875
LBMD	None	None	None
FMP	None	1730-1837	None
AC	1728-1837	1728-1837	1728-1837
CONISTON ST ANDREW Chapelry  (1599) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1599-1701, 1875-1880	1604-1700	1871-1881
LOPC	1690-1875	1690-1836, 1839-1855	1691-1810, 1813-1871
LBMD	None	None	None
FMP	None	1604-1836	None
AC	1599-1700	1599-1700	1599-1700
FREG	1599-1701	1604-1700	1600-1701
EGTON WITH NEWLAND Chapelry  (1813) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1813-1868	1856-1861	1813-1868
LOPC	None	None	None
LBMD	None	None	None
AC	Various Years	Various Years	Various Years
LOWICK ST LUKE Chapelry  (1718) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1718-1873	1727-1872	1777-1873
LOPC	1777-1873	1778-1872	1778-1873
LBMD	None	None	None
FMP	None	1727-1837	None
AC	1718-1837	1718-1837	1718-1837
TORVER Chapelry  (1599) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1599-1792	1599-1785	None
LOPC	None	None	None
LBMD	None	None	None
FMP	None	1599-1836	None
AC	1599-1792	1599-1792	1599-1792

Original Records

The Lancashire Record Office at Bow Lane, Preston PR2 1RE, holds the original parish registers in its vast collections. Contact their website for contact information.

The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and Bishop's transcripts of Ulverston St. Mary parish for the years 1545-1914. These films are available for ordering/circulating and researching at any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Poor Law Unions

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

• 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Ulverston. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
• 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Subberthwaite. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
• 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Osmotherley. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
• 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Mansriggs. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

• England Jurisdictions 1851
• Vision of Britain