United States, Louisiana, Passenger Departures from New Orleans - FamilySearch Historial Records
|Access the Records|
United States, Louisiana, Passenger Departures from New Orleans, 1867-1871
|This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.|
|Flag of the United States of America|
|US 37 Star Medallion Centennial Flag 1867-1877|
|National Archives and Records Administration Logo|
|Record Type||Passenger Departure List|
|Record Group||RG 36: Records of the United States Custom Service|
|Microfilm Publication||M2115. Lists of Passengers Departing from New Orleans, 1867-1871. 1 rolls.|
|National Archives and Records Administration|
- 1 What is in This Collection?
- 2 What Can These Records Tell Me?
- 3 Collection Content
- 4 How Do I Search This Collection?
- 5 What Do I Do Next?
- 6 Citing This Collection
- 7 How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?
What is in This Collection?[edit | edit source]
This collection contains passenger lists for vessels departing from the Port of New Orleans, Louisiana, from November 11, 1867 to May 19, 1871. The records are part of Record Group 36 Records of the United States Custom Service and are on Microfilm publication M2115 Lists of Passengers Departing from New Orleans, 1867-1871.
Image Visibility[edit | edit source]
Whenever possible FamilySearch makes images and indexes available for all users. However, rights to view these data are limited by contract and subject to change. Because of this there may be limitations on where and how images and indexes are available or who can see them. Please be aware some collections consist only of partial information indexed from the records and do not contain any images.
For additional information about image restrictions see Restrictions for Viewing Images in FamilySearch Historical Record Collections.
What Can These Records Tell Me?[edit | edit source]
- Age (Years and Months)
- Country to which they severally belong (Nativity)
- Country to which they tend to become inhabitants
- Died on Voyage
- Part of Vessel Occupied During Voyage
Collection Content[edit | edit source]
Sample Images[edit | edit source]
How Do I Search This Collection?[edit | edit source]
Before searching this collection, it is helpful to know:
- The full name of your ancestor
- The approximate date of immigration
If you do not know this information, check the census records after 1900.
Search the Index[edit | edit source]Search by name on the Collection Details Page.
- Fill in the search boxes in the Search Collection section with the information you know
- Click Search to show possible matches
How Do I Analyze the Results?[edit | edit source]
Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images. Keep track of your research in a research log.
What Do I Do Next?[edit | edit source]
Indexes and transcriptions may not include all the data found in the original records. Look at the actual image of the record to verify the information and to find additional information.
I Found the Person I Was Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Add any new information to your records
- Use the information found in the record to find other records such as emigrations, port records, and ship’s manifests
- Use the record to learn the place of origin and find vital records such as birth, baptism, and marriage
- Use the information found in the record to find land and probate records
- Use the record to see if other family members who may have immigrated with the person you are looking for are listed and have additional information or leads; you may also find additional information on new family members in census records
I Can’t Find the Person I’m Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- If your ancestor does not have a common name, collect entries for every person who has the same surname. This list can help you find possible relatives
- If you cannot locate your ancestor in the locality in which you believe they lived, then try searching records of a nearby town or county
- Try different spellings of your ancestor’s name
- Remember that sometimes individuals went by nicknames or alternated between using first and middle names
- Look for the Declaration of Intent soon after the immigrant arrived. Then look for the Naturalization Petition five years later, when the residency requirement would have been met. Look for naturalization records in federal courts, then in state, county, or city courts. An individual may have filed the first and final papers in different courts and sometimes in a different state if the person moved. Immigrants who were younger than 18 when they arrived did not need to file a Declaration of Intent as part of the process
- Check other possible ports of entry
Research Helps[edit | edit source]
The following articles will help you in your research for your family in the state of Louisiana.
- Beginning Research in United States Immigration and Emigration Records
- Beginning Research in United States Naturalization Records
- Louisiana Guided Research
- Louisiana Record Finder
- Research Tips and Strategies
- Step-by-Step Research
Citing This Collection[edit | edit source]
Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.
The citation for this collection can be found on the Collection Details Page in the section Citing this Collection.
When looking at a record, the citation can be viewed by clicking the drop-down arrow next to Document Information.
How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?[edit | edit source]
|We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Historical Records/Guidelines for Articles.|
Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.