| University of Georgia Main Library
|
E-mail:[1] Ask a question form
Address:
- Main Library[2]
320 S. Jackson Street
Athens, GA 30602-1641
Hargrett Special Collections[3]
300 S. Hull Street
Athens, GA 30602
Telephone: Main Library 706-542-3251;[2] Hargrett Special Collections 706-542-7123[3]
Fax: Hargrett Special Collections 706-542-0672[3]
Hours and holidays:
- Main Library Mon-Thu 7:30am - 2am; Fri 7:30am - 9pm; Sat 10am - 7pm; Sun 1pm - 2am[4]
- Special Collections Mon-Fri 8am - 5pm; Sat 1pm - 5pm; Sun Closed[5]
- UGA holidays
Directions, parking, maps, and public transportation:
- Hargrett Special Collections
Internet sites and databases:
- University of Georgia Libraries search tools, services, libraries and collections, research help, about us, contact us, catalog, news and events.
- GIL Library catalog online searchable by keyword, author, title, subject, series, ISBN, ISSN, or date. Also available in WorldCat.
- Online Resources University of Georgia Libraries, GILFind - UGA Libraries catalog, Digital Library of Georgia, New Georgia Encyclopedia, Civil Rights Digital Library, Brown Media Archives @ UGA - YouTube Channel, Hargrett Library Digital Collections, Russell Library Digital Collections.
They have the largest collection in the state of manuscripts about early Georgia settlers. Also, they hold county histories, county records, family records, biographies and newspapers.[6]
Both the Main Library, and the Hargrett Rare Books and Manuscripts Library (in the separate Russell Special Collections Building) contain genealogical materials.
- Main Library users have access to the databases of the Ancestry.com library edition, and how-to guides for Georgia family history.[7] The Main Library also has published and newspaper vital records and obituaries.[8] Military records include Revolutionary War, and Civil War records such as Confederate and Union rosters, and unit histories.[9] They also hold both American and old Georgia newspapers,[10] and federal census records for the southeastern states 1790 to 1920.[11] This library serves as Georgia's regional depository for documents published by the Federal government as well as the official depository for documents published by the State of Georgia.[12]
- Hargrett Special Collections is focused on Georgia history and culture, including rare books and Georgiana, historical manuscripts, photographs, maps, broadsides, the University of Georgia archives, performing arts, and natural history. Holdings date from the 15th century. Rare books and Georgiana have a comprehensive collection of published works on Georgia. There are about 1,500 historical maps covering the 1500s-1900s, and United Daughters of the Confederacy rosters.[5]
- To use Special Collections all researchers are asked to register.[5]
- Genealogy Guide Main library reference, Special Collections, websites, other local libraries, suggestions for searching GIL for genealogy, obituaries, military records, newspapers, and census records.
- Archival Research @ UGA Special Collections: A How-To Guide what are archives?, how do I do archival research?, things to know before you go, what's so special about UGA's Special Collections?
If you cannot visit or find a record at the University of Georgia Main Library, a similar record may be available at one of the following.
Overlapping Collections
- National Archives I, Washington DC, census, pre-WWI military service & pensions, passenger lists, naturalizations, passports, federal bounty land, homesteads, bankruptcy, ethnic sources, prisons, and federal employees.[13]
- National Archives at Atlanta federal censuses, Ancestry.com, military, pensions, bounty-land, photos, passengers lists, naturalizations, Native Americans, African Americans, and workshops.[14]
- Federal Records Center, Ellenwood, GA., receives federal agency and court records of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
Similar Collections
- Georgia Archives, Morrow, is the best place to start family history research in Georgia. Genealogies, county histories, newspapers, tax digests, private papers, church records, cemeteries, Bible records, municipal records, census, maps, land plats, photographs, Georgia Confederate service and pension records, colonial, headright & bounty land grants, land lottery, and Georgia county records.
Neighboring Collections
- Athens Historical Society meetings, membership, and publications.
- Clarke County Health Department, Athens, birth and death records since 1919.[15]
- Clarke County Clerk of the Probate Court, Athens, marriage and probate records since 1801.[15]
- Clarke County Clerk of the Superior Court, Athens, divorce, court, and land records since 1801, and military records since 1922.[15]
- Athens-Clarke County Library Heritage Room book, map, microfilm and archival collection spans the southeastern USA and East Coast, with some New England, vertical files, surname files, and newspapers.[16]
- Clarke County Coroner suspicious deaths.
- U.S. District Court, Middle District of Georgia, Athens, recent civil, criminal, and bankruptcy cases.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Barrow, Jackson, Madison, Oconee, and Olgethorpe.
- Atlanta-Fulton Public Library Central Library, large collection with good coverage of the southeast USA.[17] They have county histories, family histories, will indexes, deeds, military rosters, passenger lists, Atlanta city directories, Georgia censuses 1820-1930, local histories, and newspapers.[18]
- Atlanta History Center, Kenan Research Center, extensive Georgia family and county histories, Sons of the American Revolution library, holdings for North and South Carolina, Tennessee, and Alabama genealogy.
- Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, Atlanta, members, meetings, newsletter, surname queries, links.
- Coweta County Genealogical Society Research Library, have the best set of family folders in Georgia.[19] They also have Civil War records, DAR and Revolutionary War records, pension and bounty land records, immigration indexes, censuses, church records and histories.[20]
- DeKalb History Center, Decatur, subject files, biographical files, cemetery index, maps, manuscripts, photographs, rare books, memoirs, yearbooks, and Atlanta City and suburban directories.[21]
- Ellen Payne Odom Genealogy Library, Moultrie, emphasizes Scottish immigrants to America, but also has a good basic American genealogy collection.
- Georgia Historical Society, Savannah, 4 million manuscripts, photos, papers, military, diaries, plantation records. They have almost as many genealogical sources as the Georgia Archives.
- Georgia Genealogical Society, Atlanta, events, meetings, membership, publications and index, and research tools, but no library. They provide advice, but do not conduct research for you.[22]
- Georgia Salzburger Society, Rincon, histories, journals, genealogical records, and church histories.[23]
- Huxford-Spear Genealogical Library, Homerville, their genealogical collection covers the Southeast United States well,including 14,000 files on families from south Georgia and north Florida.[24]
- Jewish Genealogical Society of Georgia, Atlanta, family histories, immigration, East Europe, Georgia, North America.
- Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Atlanta baptisms, confirmations, marriages, deaths, parish records.
- Thomasville Genealogical, History and Fine Arts Library good collection of southern states family history material such as immigration records, marriages and deaths, Internet access, censuses, and state and county histories.[25]
- Washington Memorial Library, Macon, one of the best collections in Georgia for genealogy, African Americans, and local history.[26] Emphasis on the 13 colonies, American Revolution, and Great Britain.[27]
- Repositories in other surrounding states: Alabama, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
- Family History Library, Salt Lake City, 450 computers, 3,400 databases, 3.1 million microforms, 4,500 periodicals, 310,000 books of worldwide family and local histories, civil, church, immigration, ethnic, military, and records pertaining to members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Many Georgia Archives microfilms are also available at branch FamilySearch Centers in local church buildings of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and described in their online FamilySearch Catalog.[28]
- Dallas Public Central Library 111,700 volumes, 64,500 microfilms, 89,000 microfiche, and over 700 maps, marriage, probate, deed, and tax abstracts in book form, or microfilm of originals for some states, and online databases including Georgia and other Southern states.[29]
- ↑ Ask a Question in University of Georgia Libraries (17 January 2016).
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Directions/Parking in University of Georgia Libraries (17 January 2016).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Hargrett Rare Book & Manuscript Library Contact Information in University of Georgia Libraries (17 January 2016).
- ↑ Building Hours for Main and Science Libraries in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 Hargrett Rare Book & Manuscripts Library in University of Georgia Libraries (17 January 2016).
- ↑ William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 33. WorldCat 39493985; FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
- ↑ Genealogy at the UGA Libraries: Home in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
- ↑ Genealogy at the UGA Libraries: Obituaries in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
- ↑ Genealogy at the UGA Libraries: Military Records in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
- ↑ Genealogy at the UGA Libraries: Newspapers in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
- ↑ Genealogy at the UGA Libraries: Census Records in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
- ↑ Map and Government Information Library in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 2.
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 127-28.
- ↑ 15.0 15.1 15.2 Handybook for Genealogists (Logan, Utah : Everton Publishers Inc, 1999), 84. WorldCat 670125599; FHL Book 973 D27e 1999.
- ↑ Heritage Room in Athens Regional Library System (accessed 15 January 2021).
- ↑ William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 33. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
- ↑ Special Collections in Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System (accessed 8 January 2016).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 33.
- ↑ CCGS Inventory an MS Excel database with link on Records - Digital and Print in Coweta County Genealogical Society (accessed 12 January 2016).
- ↑ Collections in DeKalb History Center (accessed 11 September 2015).
- ↑ Contact Us in Georgia Genealogical Society (accessed 8 January 2016).
- ↑ Living History Museum in Visit Ebenezer (accessed 11 September 2015).
- ↑ Huxford-Spear Genealogical Library History in Huxford Genealogical Society, Inc. (accessed 15 January 2016).
- ↑ Library Resources in The Thomasville Genealogical, History and Fine Arts Library (accessed 8 January 2016).
- ↑ William Dollarhide, and Ronald A. Bremer, America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, UT: Heritage Quest, 1988), 33. WorldCat 39493985; FHL Book 973 J54d.
- ↑ The Genealogical and Historical Room in Middle Georgia Regional Library (accessed 17 January 2016).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 1.
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 107.
|
