Up Marden, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Up Marden, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Up Marden, Sussex|
|Hundred||Westbourne and Singleton|
|Poor Law Union||Westbourne|
|Parish registers: 1714; For more records see Compton|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MARDEN, UP (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of West Bourne, hundred of Westbourne and Singleton, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 8 miles (N. W.) from Chichester. It contains the tything of West Marden. The church is partly in the early and partly in the later English style. There was formerly a chapel at West Marden.
Up Marden was formed as chapelry within Compton, Sussex Ancient Parish and included West Marden.
The church of St Michael has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Up Marden, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Up Marden, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|PRTS||1601-1640, 1663-1699, 1714-1902||1607-1907||1601-1641, 1663-1909|
Up Marden St Michael
Baptisms 1714-1900 Marriages 1755-1900 Burials 1813-1900 (General registers prior to 1812)
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Marden, Up
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 253-257. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county, Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.