To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Upchurch, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Upchurch, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Upchurch, Kent
Upchurch St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg
Upchurch St Mary the Virgin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Milton
County Kent
Poor Law Union Milton
Registration District Milton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1633
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

UPCHURCH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Milton, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E division of Kent, 5½ miles E by S from Chatham. [1]

Upchurch is a village and civil parish within the Swale district of Kent, see Upchurch Wikipedia

Upchurch St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The Parish church of St Mary the Virgin, Horsham Lane, Upchurch has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 6 (1798), pp. 24-34. Date accessed: 25 November 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Upchurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Upchurch Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1633-1888
1633-1919; 1756-1808 (Banns)
1633-1881
FS PRs 1888-1900 1877-1900 (banns) 1881-1900

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Examination of the original record at the Centre for Kentish Studies (March 2012) confirms that the Gore Farm referred to in the images is that referred to by Edward Hasted and the Borough of Road "Division of Upper Scray" relates to Upchurch parish.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Upchurch 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 418-420. Date accessed: 25 May 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

FamilySearch