Upper Dicker Common, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Upper Dicker Common, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Upper Dicker Common, Sussex|
|Hundred||Dill; Longbridge; Shiplake|
|Poor Law Union||Hailsham|
|Parish registers: 1844|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1845|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DICKER (Upper), a village in Arlington parish, and a chapelry in Arlington, Chiddingly, and Hellingly parishes, Sussex. The village stands near the river Cuckmere, 2½ miles NNE of Berwick railway station, and 3 W by N of Hailsham. The chapelry bears the name of Upper Dicker Common.
Upper Dicker Holy Trinity was formed in 1843 as an Ecclesiastical district mainly from Arlington, Sussex but also parts of Hellingly, Sussex and Chiddingly, Sussex and in 1857 became an Ecclesistical parish.The civil parish of Arlington includes the enclosure of the former Common and village of Upper Dicker and is in the Wealden district of East Sussex.
A history of the church Upper Dicker Holy Trinity
See Simon Carey's history of the area Arlington and Upper and Lower Dicker
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For civil registration history see Hailsham registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex,The Register Office, Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780Fax 01323 431386 email email@example.com
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Upper Dicker Common parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Upper Dicker Common Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published in 1870-72. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.