User:AdkinsWH/Sandbox Temp 22

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Brown County, Minnesota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: New Ulm
Organized: February 20, 1855
Parent County(s): Blue Earth
Neighboring Counties
Blue Earth  • Cottonwood  • Nicollet  • Redwood  • Renville  • Watonwan
See County Maps
Courthouse
Minnesota, Brown Courthouse.png
Location Map
Minnesota Brown County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Joseph Renshaw Brown, a member of the Governor's Council of Minnesota in 1855. The County is located in the south central area of the state.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Brown County Courthouse
14 South State Street
New Ulm, MN 56073
Phone: 507-233-6670
Phone: 507-233-6657

Brown County Website

County Recorder has birth and death records from 1870, marriage records from 1857 and land records.
Clerk District Court has divorce and probate records from 1856 and court records from 1885.
Minnesota Historical Society has naturalization records.[2]

Brown County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870 1857 1870 1885 1857 1856 1836
Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Populated Places
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Brown County, Minnesota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For links to Federal, State, and Territorial censuses, see Minnesota Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 2,339
1870 6,396 173.5%
1880 12,018 87.9%
1890 15,817 31.6%
1900 19,787 25.1%
1910 20,134 1.8%
1920 22,421 11.4%
1930 23,428 4.5%
1940 25,544 9.0%
1950 25,895 1.4%
1960 27,676 6.9%
1970 28,887 4.4%
1980 28,645 −0.8%
1990 26,984 −5.8%
2000 26,911 −0.3%
2010 25,893 −3.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information, see Minnesota Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Brown County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Renville CountyNicollet CountyBlue Earth CountyWatonwan CountyCottonwood CountyRedwood CountyMN BROWN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Faribault County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Faribault County.

Online Civil War Indexes and Records

Spanish-American War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Since Minnesota tax records include only persons who owned taxable property, many residents were not included. Still they complement land records and can be used in place of missing censuses or the years between censuses. There may also be gaps. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Brown County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Brown County. For state-wide library facilities, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

  • Brown County Historical Society
    2 N Broadway St
    New Ulm, MN 56073-1714
    Phone: 507-233-2616
    Website
  • Browns Valley Historical Society
    PO Box 165
    Browns Valley, MN 56219
  • Comfrey Area Historical Society
    PO Box 218
    Comfrey, MN 56019-0218
  • Sleepy Eye Area Historical Society
    100 Oak Street
    PO Box 544
    Sleepy Eye, MN 56085
    Phone: 507-794-5053
  • Springfield Area Historical Society
    Box 113
    Springfield, MN 56087-0113

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Brown County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Minnesota Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Brown County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brown_County,_Minnesota accessed 8 Nov 2018
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Brown County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brown_County,_Minnesota, accessed 21 January 2020.