User:AdkinsWH/Sandbox Temp 4

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Clay County, Florida ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Green Cove Springs
Organized: December 31, 1858
Parent County(s): Duval[1]
Neighboring Counties
Baker  • Bradford  • Duval  • Putnam  • St. Johns  •
See County Maps
Courthouse
FloridaClayCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Fl-clay.png
Adoption
Flgenlogo100.png This user is a member of The FLGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Henry Clay, a famous American statesman, member of the United States Senate from Kentucky, and United States Secretary of State in the 19th century. The County Seat is Green Cove Springs and the county was created December 31, 1858.[2]The County is located in the Northeast area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Clay County Courthouse
PO Box 698;
Green Cove Springs, FL 32043-0698
Phone: 904.284.6317

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, probate, court, and land records from 1872
and divorce records from 1859; County Health Department has birth and death
rec from 1973 [4]

Clay County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1973 1872 1973 1872 1872 1872 1830
*Statewide registration of births and deaths began in 1899. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1872 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1858--Clay County was created 31 December 1858 from DuvalCounty.
  • County seat: Green Cove Springs[6]

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewedat the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Bellair
  • Belmore
  • Brewers Landing
  • Camp Echockotee
  • Doctors Inlet
  • Fellowship Park
  • Hibernia
  • Highland
  • Holly Point
  • Hugh
  • Kingsley
  • Kingsley Beach
  • Kingsley Village
  • Lake Geneva
  • Laurel Grove
  • Leno
  • Loch Lommond
  • Magnolia Springs
  • Meadowbrook Terrace
  • Neilhurst
  • North Meadowbrook Terrace
  • Park of the Palms
  • Pass Station
  • Peoria Siding
  • Rattlesnake Bend
  • Rideout
  • Ridgewood
  • Russell
  • Walkill
  • West Tocoi
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Additional Information

Henry Clay

The county is named after U.S. Speaker of the House Henry Clay (1777-1852).[8]

Clay County was created on December 31, 1858, from a section of Duval. Its name is in honor of Henry Clay, a famous American statesman, member of the United States Senate from Kentucky, and United States Secretary of State in the 19th century.[9]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Clay, Florida online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Florida Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites may have additional information on Clay County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: Florida Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Doctors Inlet

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for most counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

History of Clay County, FLGenWeb

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Baker CountyDuval CountySt. Johns CountyPutnam CountyBradford CountyAlachua CountyFL CLAY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

  • Florida Obituaries - Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties - USGenWeb Obituaries Project

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Florida Historical SocietyWebsite Florida State Genealogical SocietyWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Clay County, Florida Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/fla/clay/ accessed 04/24/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Clay County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clay_County,_Florida 04/24/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Clay County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clay_County,_Florida, accessed 25 September 2018.
  8. "Henry Clay," Wikipedia.
  9. Clay County, FLGenWeb, 2011.