To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:Batsondl/Sandbox 27

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Wilma's example so we can see what we can add to Arkansas

United StatesGotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Baxter County

Guide to Baxter County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Baxter County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
1 E 7th Street
Mountain Home, AR 72653
Phone: 870.425.3475

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, land and court records.[1]

Government and Related Websites

  • County-clerk.net (unofficial site) — Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
  • PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) — Provides links to County officials and public records

Baxter County, Arkansas Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1873 1914* 1874 1876 1874 1880
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

County seat: Mountain Home [2]

Cities and Towns[edit | edit source]

  • Click FamilySearch Catalog and select the link Places within... for cities and towns (most counties)

Populated Places

  • Big Flat
  • Buffalo City
  • Cotter
  • Gassville
  • Greenwood Township
  • Mountain Home
{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Mountain Home
Organized: March 24, 1873
Parent County(s): FultonIzardMarionSearcy[3]
Neighboring Counties
Fulton  • Howell (MO)  • Izard  • Marion  • Ozark (MO)  • Searcy  • Stone
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasBaxterCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-baxter.png
Adoption



Image:ARBaxterMorning

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Events below gleaned from Baxter County The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture

  • 1808 - The Osage relinquished their claims to this area to the United States.
  • Most of the pioneers moving into the area before the Civil War were from Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
  • 1819 - The county’s earliest recorded town was Big Clarkridge.
  • Baxter was not yet a county during the Civil War
  • 1873 - March 24 - Governor Baxter formed Baxter County.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Baxter County, Arkansas online and in print
Online search for people in the county
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" (on the left), enter a name, click Search
  • Arkansas Gravestones enter a name and click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
Get a list of cemeteries (then click to names of people)
Find printed records (Often more complete)

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Cothren, Zac. "Baxter County Courthouse," Baxter County history - v. 31-32 (2005-2006) - v. 31, no. 2 (Apr./June 2005).
  • Fleming, Louise. "The good old days in Baxter County," Baxter County history - v. 31-32 (2005-2006) - v. 31, no. 4 (Oct./Dec. 2005).
  • Messick, Mary Ann. History of Baxter County, 1873-1973. Mountain Home, Arkansas:Montain Home Chamber of Commerce, c1973.
  • Andrewson, Jane Messick. "Post offices in Baxter County," Baxter County history - v. 31-32 (2005-2006) - v. 31, no. 2 (Apr./June 2005).
  • Acklin, Emmit Dolan. "Slaves & free blacks in this area 1819-1900" Baxter County history - v. 31-32 (2005-2006) - v. 32, no. 2 (Apr./June 2006).
  • Some Cities and towns may have local histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Baxter CountyFulton CountyIzard CountyStone CountySearcy CountyMarion CountySharp CountyCleburne CountyIndependence CountyVan Buren CountyBoone CountyOzark CountyHowell CountyTaney CountyOregon CountyARBaxter.JPG

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Major catalogs for books, microfilm, or collections pertaining to Baxter County

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society Baxter County Heritage Center
808 South Baker Street
Mountain Home, AR
Telephone: 870.425.2551

  • Their website links to: Sheriffs Biographies; Archival Program, which includes County, Township, and Local Government Records, School Records, Birth, Marriage and Death Records and much more.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Sites with online indexes or images of records

More Baxter County genealogy links

  • Linkpendium - Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList (no link for Baxter County) - Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 66.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.