User:Beccac1229/Sandbox115

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Ireland Protestant Records - What else you can try

This page will give you additional guidance and resources to find information in Protestant records. Use this page if a record cannot be found on Ireland Protestant Guided Research page. If researching after 1864 (after 1845 for marriages), see Civil Records.


Substitute records

[hide]


Additional Records

Substitute records may contain information about more than one event and are used when records for an event are not available. The accuracy of the record is contingent upon when the information was recorded. Search for information in multiple substitute records to confirm the accuracy of these records.

Use these substitute records to locate birth information about your ancestor:
Wiki Page
FamilySearch(FS) Collections
Why to search the records
Civil Records
Ireland Civil Records
Guided Research
Beginning in 1864, the government required the registration of all births, marriages, and deaths. Registration of non-Catholic marriages began in 1845.
Census Substitutes
See Wiki page
Census substitutes are lists of individuals in a specific place at a given time. Various lists have been compiled by church and civil authorities in Ireland. Due to the loss of many government census records, census substitutes are especially valuable.
Census Records
See Wiki page
Census records list the age and birthplace of the recorded individuals, allowing researchers to discover birth places and calculate birth years. The 1901 census is the earliest complete census. The 1911 census is the only other complete census. Most of the previous censuses (1821-1891) were destroyed in a fire in 1922. However, some fragments exist for the 1821-1851 censuses.
Cemetery Records
See Wiki page
Monumental or tombstone inscriptions or other cemetery records may list birth, marriage, and death information.
Newspapers
See Wiki page
May contain birth, marriage, or death notices. Obituaries also contain similar information.



Improve searching

[hide]


Tips for finding vital records

Successfully finding vital records in online databases depends on a few key points. Try the following search suggestions:

  • Add information. For common names, add more information to narrow the search such as approximate birth date or parent's names if known.
  • Spelling variations. Your ancestor's name may be misspelled. Search with spelling variations for the first and last name of your ancestor.
  • Search other party. Search for the parents or spouse.
  • Know county. Because of the abundance of common names, knowing the county is important to narrow down the search. Go to Finding the Ireland County or Parish of Origin to learn how to find the county.
  • Date range. Expand the date range of the search by 5 years.



Why the record may not exist

[hide]


Records Start
Church of Ireland records began in the 1600s, but most parishes began keeping records in the 1700s and 1800s.

Records Published


Records Destroyed
Close to two-thirds of all Church of Ireland records were destroyed in a fire in 1922. However, some originals, copies, and transcripts exist for many parishes. For a list of which parish registers exist and how to find them see: Parish Registers.