User:Beccac1229/Sandbox14

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
England Parish Tables: Cambridgeshire Part 1

Project Leader[edit | edit source]

Becca Curtis

Purpose[edit | edit source]

To fix the outdated tables on each parish page in Cambridgeshire, England. These tables contain many broken links, are missing important databases, or list databases that are not very useful in finding vital records in England. The first part of this project with be deleting the old table and pasting the new code.

Task List[edit | edit source]

Task List

Instructions[edit | edit source]

If One Table[edit | edit source]

If the parish page has one table underneath the "Church records" heading:

1. Go to the parish page (links are on the Task List) and find the "Church records" heading. Click "Edit source" next to the heading.

The top of this section has a line beneath the ====Church records==== heading that says:
{{PAGENAME}} parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
The end of this section has a heading:
===== Non-Conformist Churches =====



2. Delete the code between this line and heading.

Example of what the code will look like:
Cambridgeshire part 1 img 2.png



3. Paste the following code into the empty space.

{| cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1" style="width: 40%"
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''Cam BTs''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/1465708 England, Cambridgeshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1599-1860 (FamilySearch) - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FS''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/ FamilySearch - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FREG''' = [http://www.freereg.org.uk/ FreeREG - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FMP''' = [https://www.findmypast.com/ Cambridgeshire Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''NBI''' = [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/national-burial-index-for-england-and-wales National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''BOYD''' = [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/england-boyds-marriage-indexes-1538-1850 England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''ANC''' = [https://www.ancestry.com/ Ancestry - ($)]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''IGI''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/igi International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free]<ref>ArcherSoftware.co.uk</ref>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FS Catalog PRs''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FS Catalog BTs''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free]
|}

{| width="90%" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1" border="1"
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" align="center" scope="col" colspan="7" | '''PARISH NAME Online Parish Records'''
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" colspan="2" | <center>'''''Baptisms'''''</center> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" colspan="2" | <center>'''''Marriages'''''</center> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" colspan="2" | <center>'''''Burials'''''</center>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" |  
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | Indexes 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | Images 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | Indexes 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | Images 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | Indexes 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | Images
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''Cam BTs''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | {{RecordSearch|1465708|'''1599-1860'''}}
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | {{RecordSearch|1465708|'''1599-1860'''}}
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | {{RecordSearch|1465708|'''1599-1860'''}}
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FS''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | {{RecordSearch|1473014|'''1538-1975'''}}
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | {{RecordSearch|1473015|'''1538–1973'''}}
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | {{RecordSearch|1473016|'''1538-1991'''}}
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FREG''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | [https://www.freereg.org.uk/ '''1539-1950''']
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [https://www.freereg.org.uk/ '''1540-1949''']
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | [https://www.freereg.org.uk/ '''1540-1966''']
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br> 
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FMP''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/cambridgeshire-baptisms '''1538-1950'''] 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/cambridgeshire-marriages '''1538-1973'''] 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/cambridgeshire-burials '''1538-1950''']
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''NBI''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/national-burial-index-for-england-and-wales '''1538-1939''']
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br> 
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''BOYD''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/england-boyds-marriage-indexes-1538-1850 '''1626-1784''']
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br> 
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''ANC''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=9841 '''1538-1975''']
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=9852 '''1538–1973''']
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=9840 '''1538-1991''']
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''IGI''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FS Catalog PRs''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | 
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FS Catalog BTs''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | 
|}

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use [http://maps.familysearch.org/ England Jurisdictions 1851 Map]. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.<br><br>

Copies of parish registers are also available through the [http://www.sog.org.uk/ Society of Genealogists] and the [https://www.cambridgeshire.gov.uk/residents/libraries-leisure-&-culture/archives/ Cambridge Archives].



4. Add the actual parish name where it says '''PARISH NAME Online Parish Records''' (located near the beginning of the newly-inserted code). Do not put the parish in all caps. (For example: Abington Piggotsnot ABINGTON PIGGOTS)

Cambridgeshire part 1 img 4.png


Example:
Cambridgeshire part 1 img 5.png



5. Add the actual parish name where it says: {{PAGENAME}} parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years: (located underneath the Church records heading). Delete the curly brackets and do not put the parish in all caps. (For example: Addington not ADDINGTON)

Buckinghamshire Part 1 img 5.png


Example:
Buckinghamshire Part 1 img 6.png



6. Put "Adding more complete online church records table" in the Summary box and then click "Save page."

If No Table[edit | edit source]

If there is no table underneath the "Church records" heading:

1. Go to the parish page (links are on the Task List) and find the "Church records" heading. Click "Edit source" next to the heading.

The top of this section has a line that says:
====Church records====
The end of this section has a heading:
===== Non-Conformist Churches =====



2. If there is any code between these two headings, delete it.

3. Paste the following code into the empty space.

PARISH NAME parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

{| cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1" style="width: 40%"
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''Cam BTs''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/1465708 England, Cambridgeshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1599-1860 (FamilySearch) - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FS''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/ FamilySearch - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FREG''' = [http://www.freereg.org.uk/ FreeREG - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FMP''' = [https://www.findmypast.com/ Cambridgeshire Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''NBI''' = [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/national-burial-index-for-england-and-wales National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''BOYD''' = [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/england-boyds-marriage-indexes-1538-1850 England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''ANC''' = [https://www.ancestry.com/ Ancestry - ($)]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''IGI''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/igi International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free]<ref>ArcherSoftware.co.uk</ref>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FS Catalog PRs''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FS Catalog BTs''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free]
|}

{| width="90%" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1" border="1"
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" align="center" scope="col" colspan="7" | '''PARISH NAME Online Parish Records'''
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" colspan="2" | <center>'''''Baptisms'''''</center> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" colspan="2" | <center>'''''Marriages'''''</center> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" colspan="2" | <center>'''''Burials'''''</center>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" |  
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | Indexes 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | Images 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | Indexes 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | Images 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | Indexes 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | Images
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''Cam BTs''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | {{RecordSearch|1465708|'''1599-1860'''}}
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | {{RecordSearch|1465708|'''1599-1860'''}}
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | {{RecordSearch|1465708|'''1599-1860'''}}
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FS''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | {{RecordSearch|1473014|'''1538-1975'''}}
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | {{RecordSearch|1473015|'''1538–1973'''}}
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | {{RecordSearch|1473016|'''1538-1991'''}}
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FREG''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | [https://www.freereg.org.uk/ '''1539-1950''']
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [https://www.freereg.org.uk/ '''1540-1949''']
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | [https://www.freereg.org.uk/ '''1540-1966''']
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br> 
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FMP''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/cambridgeshire-baptisms '''1538-1950'''] 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/cambridgeshire-marriages '''1538-1973'''] 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/cambridgeshire-burials '''1538-1950''']
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''NBI''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/national-burial-index-for-england-and-wales '''1538-1939''']
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br> 
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''BOYD''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/england-boyds-marriage-indexes-1538-1850 '''1626-1784''']
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br> 
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''ANC''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=9841 '''1538-1975''']
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=9852 '''1538–1973''']
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=9840 '''1538-1991''']
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''IGI''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FS Catalog PRs''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | 
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FS Catalog BTs''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | 
|}

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use [http://maps.familysearch.org/ England Jurisdictions 1851 Map]. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.<br><br>

Copies of parish registers are also available through the [http://www.sog.org.uk/ Society of Genealogists] and the [https://www.cambridgeshire.gov.uk/residents/libraries-leisure-&-culture/archives/ Cambridge Archives].



4. Add the actual parish name where it says PARISH NAME. This appears twice near the top of the newly inserted code. Do not put the parish name in all caps. (For example: Abington Piggotsnot ABINGTON PIGGOTS).

Cambridgeshire part 1 img 8.png


Example:

Cambridgeshire part 1 img 9.png



5. Put "Adding more complete online church records table" in the Summary box and then click "Save page."

Finished Examples[edit | edit source]

See these wiki pages for a final example of what the table will look like: