|County Carlow Wiki Topics|
|County Carlow Record Types|
|Ireland Record Types|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to County Carlow ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
- 1 Background
- 2 Resources
- 3 Archives and Libraries
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 References
Background[edit | edit source]
County Carlow is an inland county of the province of Leinster, bounded on the east by the counties of Wicklow and Wexford, on the north by those of Kildare and Wicklow, on the west by the Queen's county and Kilkenny, and on the south by that of Wexford. As of 1837, County Carlow comprises an area of 219,863 acres. The population in 1821 was 78,952 and in 1831, 81,988.  The county is completely within the diocese of Leighlin. The county courthouse and gaol are in Carlow. County Carlow is almost exclusively an agricultural district.
The Normans invaded Carlow in the twelfth century and the land came into the possession of Strongbow, the Norman leader. The town of Carlow was an important Norman stronghold and was walled in 1361 to protect it from the neighboring Gaelic chieftains, who eventually captured the town in 1405. The County joined the Catholic Confederacy in 1641, which was defeated by Cromwell’s forces in 1650. Famine wiped out a lot of the population, cutting it in half.
Carlow Castle was constructed, to guard the vital river crossing. It was also to serve as the capital of the Lordship of Ireland from 1361 until 1374. This imposing structure survived largely intact until 1814 when it was mostly destroyed in an attempt to turn the building into a lunatic asylum. The original structure was largely replaced and widened in 1815 when it was named Wellington Bridge in celebration of the defeat of Napoleon's army by the Duke of Wellington at the Battle of Waterloo in June of that year. The bridge was built across a small island in the river and a 19th-century house was constructed on the bridge – this was for a time occupied by the Poor Clares, an enclosed religious order.
In 1650, during the Cromwellian conquest of Ireland, Carlow was besieged and taken by English Parliamentarian forces, hastening the end of the Siege of Waterford and the capitulation of that city. During the 1798 rebellion Carlow was the scene of a massacre of 600 rebels and civilians following an unsuccessful attack on the town by the United Irishmen, known as the Battle of Carlow. In 1650, during the Cromwellian conquest of Ireland, Carlow was besieged and taken by English Parliamentarian forces, hastening the end of the Siege of Waterford and the capitulation of that city. During the 1798 rebellion Carlow was the scene of a massacre of 600 rebels and civilians following an unsuccessful attack on the town by the United Irishmen, known as the Battle of Carlow. The Liberty Tree sculpture in Carlow, designed by John Behan, commemorates the events of 1798.
The Great Famine of 1845-1847 badly affected the County. Ten thousand people died of starvation or other impacts of the Great Famine. The population continued to decrease reaching 34,476 in 1921. Carlow is predominately Roman Catholic. In 1891, the percentage of Roman Catholic 88.3%. The Church of Ireland, Presbyterians and Methodists decreased to 4.3%, 0.2% and 0.2%, respectively, with other or no religions increasing to about 5%. As of 2011, the population of County Carlow was roughly 54,612.
Further information about County Carlow is available at GENUKI.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- County Carlow Cemetery Records
- Carlow Cemetery Records - transcriptions of cemetery records in select cemeteries
- Carlow Headstone Photos
Census[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church of Ireland
Society of Friends
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 - Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1845-1958 - Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch — index and images
Civil Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
- List of County Carlow Civil Parishes
Estate Records[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1831-1856 - Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch - index and images
- 1860-1908 - General Valuation revision lists, Baltinglass Union and Shillelagh Union (Carlow portions), 1860-1908 - images
- 1857-1957 - General valuation revision lists, New Ross Union (Carlow), 1857-1957 - images
- 1840-1841 - Valuation office miscellaneous books, County Carlow, 1840-1841 - images
Maps[edit | edit source]
There is an amazingly detailed interactive map from Ordnance Survey Ireland that covers not only Carlow, but the whole of Ireland. You can zoom in to see extremely fine detail. The map provides historic map overlays (see the check boxes underneath "Data Catalogue") that clearly show the townlands, roads, towns, homes, fields, estates, etc. Some churches and cemeteries are included. Several overlays are provided.
Military[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- FindMyPast ($) has thousands of newspapers from County Carlow available online.
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Place-Names[edit | edit source]
Here are two important place-name aids/tools for locating your Irish place and its parish jurisdiction(s):
- The IreAtlas Townland Database - click County "Carlow"; then click "Submit" to view a complete alphabetical listing of all townlands, towns and townships and the parishes in which they lay
- Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel A. Lewis - provides a rich 1837 historical perspective of each Ireland parish and large township; great for determining which churches existed in each parish--Church of Ireland or Nonconformist
Poor Law Records[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
- 1682-1858, 1699-1845 - Index to administrations, 1699-1845, and fragments of the index to wills, 1682-1858
- 1765-1833 - Indexes to administration bonds, 1765-1833
- 1858-1895 - Kilkenny District will books, 1858-1895
School[edit | edit source]
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Carlow County Library
Tullow Street, Carlow
Old School, College Street, Co. Carlow
Societies[edit | edit source]
Carlow Historical and Archaeological Society
P. O. Box 162
Websites[edit | edit source]
- GENUKI County Carlow
- Roots Ireland: Carlow
- RootsChat Carlow Resources and Help
- County Carlow Ireland GenWeb
- Genealogy of the UK, County Carlow
- Genealogy Links Carlow
- Irish Pen Pals Carlow County
- IrishRoots Carlow County
- Ireland Genealogy Projects Archives: Carlow Records
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel. "Carlow, County," A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, 1837, LibraryIreland, accessed 21 August 2018.
- Wikipedia Contributors, "County Carlow," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_Cavan. Visited 22 August 2018.