Information icon.png The FamilySearch Research Wiki will be down for maintenance on Sunday, Sept. 27, at 11:59 pm until Monday, Sept 28, 4:00 am EDT.

User:Beccac1229/Sandbox9

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Russia Wiki Topics
Russian flag.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Russia Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources

Introduction[edit | edit source]

Family Histories[edit | edit source]

Online Resources[edit | edit source]

Digital Books[edit | edit source]

Community Networking Sites[edit | edit source]

Family Tree Databases[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Major Collections and Databases[edit | edit source]

Several large databases contain previous research or can lead you to others who are interested in sharing family information. These sources include:

International Genealogical Index. The index provides names and vital information for over 3.4 million deceased persons who lived in France. This valuable research tool lists birth, christening, or marriage dates. The index for France includes names extracted from parish registers by volunteers and names submitted by other researchers.

Ancestral File. This file, part of FamilySearch™, contains family history information linked in family groups and pedigrees that has been contributed since 1979. As of 1993, the file contains the names of 15 million people, including thousands of French families. On Ancestral File you can print pedigree charts, family group records, and individual summary sheets for any person in the file.

Family Group Records Collection. More than eight million family group record forms have been microfilmed in the Family Group Records Collection. This collection includes many French families. There are two major sections: the Archive Section and the Patron Section. The film numbers for both sections are listed in the Author/Title section of the FamilySearch Catalog under family group records collection.

Record Types[edit | edit source]