User:Beccac1229/Sandbox98

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Glamorgan Guided Research - What else you can try

This page will give you additional guidance and resources to find marriage information for your ancestor. Use this page after first completing the marriage section of the Glamorgan Guided Research page. If researching after 1837, see Civil Registration.


Substitute records

[hide]


Additional Records with Marriage Information

Substitute records may contain information about more than one event and are used when records for an event are not available. Records that are used to substitute for marriage events may not have been created at the time of the marriage. The accuracy of the record is contingent upon when the information was recorded. Search for information in multiple substitute records to confirm the accuracy of these records.

Use these substitute records to locate marriage information about your ancestor:
Wiki Page
FamilySearch(FS) Collections
Why to search the records
Church of England
Burial Records
Glamorgan Church of England
Guided Research
Go back to the Glamorgan Guided Research page, and click on "Death". Death and burial parish registers may include a relation of the deceased (often the spouse).
Nonconformist Records
Wales Nonconformist
Guided Research
By 1851, 80% of the Welsh population was nonconformist. Nonconformist churches have baptism, marriage, and burial records.
Civil Registration
Wales Civil Registration
Guided Research
Starting in 1837, marriage registration lists the bride and groom's names, marriage date and place, ages, and fathers' names. Death registration may include a relation to the deceased, such as spouse. Birth registration lists the child's parents, including mother's maiden name.
Census Records
Wales Census FS Collections
Census records from 1851 onward lists the relationship to the head of household and marital status of every individual. The 1911 census lists the number of years married.
Cemetery Records
See Wiki page
Cemetery records, including tombstone inscriptions, may list the deceased's spouse.
Probate Records
See Wiki page
Probate records often list relationships, including the deceased's spouse.
Newspapers
See Wiki page
May contain marriage notices or obituaries. Obituaries may list the deceased's spouse.






Improve searching

[hide]


Tips for finding marriages

Successfully finding marriage records in online databases depends on a few key points. Try the following search suggestions:

  • Spelling variations. Your ancestor's name may be misspelled. Search with spelling variations for the first and last name of your ancestor.
  • Search given name. Search by given name by leaving out the last name.
  • Search for bride. Search by the bride’s name rather than the groom’s name.
  • Add information. For common names, add more information to narrow the search such as approximate year of marriage or the county the marriage took place in.
  • Date range. Expand the date range of the search by 5 years.
  • Know county. Because of the abundance of common names, knowing the county is important to narrow down the search. Go to Finding the Wales County or Parish of Origin to learn how to find the county.





Why the record may not exist

[hide]


Known Record Gaps

Records Start
Mandatory birth registration started in 1837. However, universal compliance did not occur until 1866. Before 1837, births and baptisms can be found in church records (mainly nonconformist records). Although the oldest baptism records date to 1538, most churches did not start recording baptisms until the 1600s.

Records Published

Records Destroyed
Some church records may have been lost, destroyed, or damaged (especially in the 1500s and early 1600s). More specific information is not known. Civil registration records are generally complete.