User:Bloosgrl/sandbox26

Europe

British Isles

United Kingdom

Wales

Guide to Wales ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Wales Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Guided Research Research Strategies Record Finder
Record Types
Cemeteries Census Church Directories Church Records Civil Registration Court Records Directories Emigration & Immigration Genealogies Gravestones Land & Property Merchant Marine	Military Records Newspapers Nobility Occupations Online Records Periodicals Poor Law Unions Probate Records Religious Records School Records Taxation Websites
Wales Background
Biography Church History Gazetteers Historical Geography History Jurisdictions	Languages Maps Names, Personal Place Names Social Life and Customs For Further Reading
Local Research Resources
Wales Archives & Libraries Societies Family History Centers

Background Information

Wales is one of the four constituent countries of the United Kingdom (together with England, Scotland and Northern Ireland) and is located in the western part of Britain. From its original Celtic origins, a distinct Welsh national identity emerged in the centuries after the Roman withdrawal from Britain in the 5th century. The country is bilingual, with both Welsh and English (predominant) being official languages. Birth, Death, Marriage and Military records for Wales are listed with English records.

Why Wales Historic Counties are Used

Although all three county structures are listed below, the Wales counties discussed the most in the FamilySearch Research Wiki are the historic pre-1974 counties. The records dated before 1974 are located within the information found in the historic counties. This practice better assists our patrons who are researching their ancestors before the modern time period.

For further information see England County Boundaries

Getting Started

Getting Started with Wales Research Guided Research English Birth, Christening or Baptism Date English Marriage Dates English Burial or Death Dates Finding Welsh Emigrant or Immigrant Research Strategies

Wales Research Tools Links to articles and websites that assist in Wales research. Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales - (1870) Tithe Maps & Apportionments

Wales Online Genealogy Records

Ask the Community

Wales Clickable Maps

Counties

Most researchers will be researching with the context of these pre-1974 historic counties. Wales, like many other countries, has seen much reorganization over time and it may be necessary to search in several counties.

pre 1974	1974-1996	post 1996
Anglesey	Gwynedd	Anglesey
Breconshire	Powys Mid Glamorgan Gwent	Powys Rhondda Cyon Taf Monmouthshire
Caernarfonshire	Gwynedd	Gwynedd Conwy
Cardiganshire	Dyfed	Ceredigion
Carmarthenshire	Dyfed	Carmarthenshire Pembrokeshire
Denbighshire	Clwyd Powys	Denbighshire Flintshire Wrexham Conwy
Flintshire	Clwyd	Flintshire Denbighshire Wrexham
Glamorgan	Mid Glamorgan South Glamorgan West Glamorgan	Bridgend Merthyr Tydfil Rhondda Cynon Taf Caerphilly Cardiff The Vale of Glamorgan Swansea Neath Port Talbot
Merionethshire	Gwynedd Clwyd	Gwynedd Denbighshire
Monmouthshire	Mid Glamorgan South Glamorgan	Monmouthshire Newport Blaenau Gwent Torfaen Caerphilly
Montgomeryshire	Powys	Powys
Pembrokeshire	Dyfed	Pembrokeshire
Radnorshire	Powys	Powys

See the relevant county pages for further information.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

• FamilySearching Genealogy Research Groups - Online groups discussing genealogy research
• Historical Records
• Family History Center locator map
• England and Wales National Register, 1939 at FamilySearch — index

Research Tutorials

• Blessings and Curses of Tracing Welsh Ancestry
• England and Wales Civil Registration
• England and Wales Census Records 1841-1911 Indexes
• British Resources on FamilySearch.org - Parts 1 and 2