From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
en This user is a native speaker of English
es-2 This user is an intermediate speaker of Spanish
United States flag.png This user lives in the United States.
Emblem-star.png This user has been awarded a Gold Star for Genealogy Research Community contributions.

Bradley D. Marchant spent his childhood in three states, mostly in the east coast. His interest in genealogy happened by an interesting story, which he'll have to tell you sometime. :) He was 16 years old at the time. Although the ward specialist admitted she didn't think he'd stick with researching, he surprised all by jumping onto the genealogy train and it was full steam ahead from then on!

Bradley went to BYU-Idaho for his Associates degree in General Studies. Afterwards, he transferred to and graduated from BYU in Provo, Utah. While at BYU, he went on an internship to England where he gathered emigration records for the Center for Family History-Genealogy's Immigrant Ancestors Project. He also worked for over a year as a transcriber for the Basque Family Heritage project.

Currently, he divides his time between client work and working as a reference consultant for the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Education[edit | edit source]

BS in Family History-Genealogy, Brigham Young University. April 2008. Double emphasis with British Isles-Scandinavia.

Languages of Strong Research Specialty: [edit | edit source]

Swedish Spanish Norwegian Danish

Languages of Intermediate Research Specialty:[edit | edit source]

Finnish  Portuguese  Italian

Currently, he volunteers as a Regional Manager over the Nordic Countries of Sweden, Denmark, Norway and Finland. He also moderates the dual-language pages for Venezuela.

When not doing genealogy, he can usually be found chasing after his sometimes-very-disobedient dog Prince at parks and hikes.

Personal Research Projects[edit | edit source]

  • Maintaining my interest in all things Giggleswick
  • Indexing and researching all families of Pregonero, Tachira, Venezuela (including a 40+ year section of time with nearly indecipherable records!!!) 
  • Continuing my interests in my Swedish families of Gärds Härad, Kristianstad