User:Dnew2/Sandbox

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Home Calendar & Schedule Library Services Resources-Holdings Commercial Websites Free FH Classes 2-Day FH Courses Family History Helps Societies Outreach and Webex Class Materials Nationalities & General Websites/Resources




Orange County FamilySearch Library
Visit Our Website!

Joyce and Larry Lowder, Directors

Hours

Holiday Schedule Center Closed

Sunday - Closed

Monday - 9:00am - 5:00pm

Tuesday - 9:00am - 9:00pm

Wednesday - 9:00am - 5:00pm

Thursday - 9:00am - 9:00pm

Friday - 9:00am - 5:00pm

Saturday - 9:00am - 5:00pm

Jan 1: New Year

April 4: General Conference

May 25: Memorial Day

July 3-4: Independence Day

July 16: Carpet Cleaning

July 27-Aug 10: Summer Maintenance

Sept 5-7: Labor Day

Oct 3: General Conference

Oct 10: Family History Expo

Nov 23-28: Thanksgiving

Dec 21-31: Christmas

Jan 4, 2021: Re-open

Address[edit | edit source]

674 South Yorba Street, Orange, California

Location Map

Entrance off the parking lot of
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

The public is welcome.

Phone: (714) 997-7710

Mailing Address[edit | edit source]

P.O. Box 6471
Orange, California 92863-6471

E-Mail Address[edit | edit source]

CA_Orange@familyhistorymail.org

Hardware and Equipment

24 Patron Computers with internet access

WiFi

Epson photo scanner and Epson flatbed scanner free to patrons

"Pro Scan" Microfilm scanner providing one stop find, select and save of microfilm and micro fische

6 Microfilm and 1 Microfiche Reader

Digital Scanning from film, Microfiche & Book Copy Machines; Copy to paper, CD or USB Media 

Photo Scanner, Over 10,000 microfilms, Large Periodical Holdings

over 8,500 Books

Californiaorangefhc.jpg


Class Schedule


Please visit our website for our current class calendar!


Free Database Access
[edit | edit source]

  • Ancestry (use for free)
  • Heritage Quest
  • Fold3.com
  • AmericanAncestors.org (New England Historical & Genealogical Society)
  • US Civil War Research Database
  • US Civil War Letters and Diaries
  • Images of the American Civil War
  • FindMyPast
  • TheGenealogist
  • British Library 19th C Newspapers
  • WorldVitalRecords
  • Pedigree Resource File
  • Scottish Church Records
  • Korean & Vietnam Casualties

Description of some of the above databases
[edit | edit source]

Fold3 - Fold3 is a subscription-based website that features searchable, original documents that provide users a view of the events, places and people that shaped the American nation and the world. The emphasis of the site is Military Documents. Fold3 is currently working with FamilySearch to index the American Revolutionary War Pension files. Individuals with Footnote subscriptions will be able to sign in with the same Footnote username and password they use at home in order to save, annotate, and upload content.

Godfrey Memorial Library - Godfrey Memorial Library has an extensive collection of essential resources to assist genealogical and historical research. Resources include newspapers, city and business directories, vital records, printed census records, state, county, and local histories, as well as numerous family histories, family bible records, and service and pension records.

Heritage Quest/ProQuest - Heritage Quest online includes the complete set of U.S. Federal Census images from 1790 to 1930 including names and indexes for many of the sets. Users will be able to find people and places located in over 20,000 published family and local histories and PERSI, an index of over 1.9 million genealogy and local history articles.

Other online databases include Revolutionary War Pension, Bounty-Land Warrant Application files, and the Freedman Bank Records. World Vital Records - World Vital Records provides access to research helps and has a wide variety of international records, including more than 60 parish registers, Scottish death records, UK marriages, and Irish prisoner records. There are more than 300 newspapers with 100,000 pages added a month, and over 500 online databases, including vital, military, land, pension records, reference materials, family histories, maps, gazetteers, and international coops. With the recent Quintin Publications partnership, World Vital Records will soon have more than 10,000 databases online. At least one new database is added every business day.