User:Evancol/Sandbox/Nebraska

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Adams County

This article is about a southern Nebraska county. For other uses, see Adams.

Adams County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

{{{link}}}

Adams County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Adams County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 16, 1867
County Seat Hastings
Courthouse
Adams County Courthouse (Nebraska) from S.JPG
Adams County Courthouse (Nebraska)
Address Adams County Courthouse
4th and Denver Streets
Hastings, Nebraska 68901
Phone: 402.461.7107


County Information[edit | edit source]

Adams County, Nebraska Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1871 1870 1871 1871


County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Adams County Courthouse
500 W 5th;
Hastings, NE 68901
Phone: 402.461.7107

County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce and land records. [2]


History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1867--Adams County was created 16 February 1867 from unorganized territory. County seat: Hastings [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

Adams County is located in the central southern region of the state. It is named for John Adams[4] The county was home to The U.S. Naval Ammunition Depot, known locally as "The NAD" which was the largest of the Navy's WWII inland munitions plants.[5] The first permanent settlers to locate in Adams County were Mortimer Kress, alias Wild Bill, and his partner, Jerome Fouts, or California Joe. The old emigrant trail passed through the county with them heading toward the gold in California. The settlers came by 1910, with the largest numbers comprising German Americans, Scandinavian Americans, and Americans from the East Coast colloquailly known as Yankees; the Yankees concentrated in the towns and cities, while the others became wheat farmers. The railroad facilities possessed by Adams County are superior to most others in the State. The advantages also in the settling up and developing of the new country are due largely to the establishment of these roads. [6]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Townships[edit | edit source]

  • Ayr
  • Blaine
  • Cottonwood
  • Denver
  • Hanover
  • Highland
  • Juniata
  • Kenesaw
  • Little Blue
  • Logan
  • Roseland
  • Silver Lake
  • Verona
  • Wanda
  • West Blue
  • Zero

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]


Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Nebraska Gravestones
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Evancol/Sandbox/Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 06
1810 12 100.0%
1820 23 91.7%
1830 36 56.5%
1840 44 22.2%
1850 60 36.4%
1860 75 25.0%
1870 90 20.0%
1880 105 16.7%
1890 235 123.8%
1900 345 46.8%
1910 426 23.5%
1920 597 40.1%
1930 623 4.4%
1940 425 −31.8%
1950 600 41.2%
1960 726 21.0%
1970 823 13.4%
1980 926 12.5%
1990 1,017 9.8%
2000 1,200 18.0%
2010 1,234 2.8%
Source: Wikipedia, accessed 19 July 2016.
State Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

Church[edit | edit source]

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records

  • Hastings


Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Evancol/Sandbox/Nebraska. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.


Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]


Neadams.png


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Evancol/Sandbox/Nebraska for European and African American settlers included:

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Military[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
WWI[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.


Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Adams - Probate records.

Online Probate Records


Taxation[edit | edit source]

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriages[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Adams County Historical Society
    P.O. Box 102
    1330 N Burlington Ave
    Hastings, NE 68901-0102
    Phone:(402) 463-5838

  • Nebraska State Genealogical Society
    Box 5608
    Lincoln, NE 68505

  • Nebraska State Historical Society
    P.O. Box 82554 1500 R St.
    Lincoln, NE 68501-2554
    Phone: 402-471-3270
    Website

  • Nebraska History Network
    1997 280th
    Seward 68434-7823

  • Nebraska Military Historical Society
    Hastings 68901

  • North Central Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 362
    O’Neill NE 68763

  • Northeastern Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 169
    Lyons NE 68038

  • Northwest Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 6
    Alliance, Nebraska 69301

  • West Nebraska Family Research History Center
    1602 Ave. A
    Scottsbluff, NE 69361
    Phone: 308-635-2400

Libraries[edit | edit source]


State DAR Library The State DAR Library is located in the Lue R. Spencer Genealogical Library at the Edith Abbott Memorial Library. It is open during the normal library hours.

  • Edith Abbott Memorial Library
    2nd and Washington Streets
    Grand Island, NE 68801
  • Grand Island Library
    211 N Washington St
    Grand Island, NE 68801
    Phone: 1 308-385-5333
    Website

  • Spencer Historical and Genealogy Society
    Website

  • Beatrice Public Library
    100 North 16th Street
    Beatrice, Nebraska 68310
    Phone: 402-223-3584
    Fax: 402-223-3913
    Email:lriedesel@beatrice.lib.ne.us
    Director Laureen Riedesel (402) 223-3584
    Website


Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • USGenWeb project May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adams County, Nebraska page 428, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County," in ''Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia'', https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Nebraska, accessed 19 July 2016.
  5. Adams County Nebraska Historical Society http://www.adamshistory.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=30:nad&catid=2&Itemid=42 Accessed 7/20/2016
  6. Andreas' History of the State of Nebraska at Kansas Collection Books http://www.kancoll.org/books/andreas_ne/adams/adams-p1.html#early Accessed 7/20/2016
  7. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map II" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at OTMap2.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  9. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at https://newsroom.churchofjesuschrist.org/article/pioneer-trek (accessed 18 July 2011).