User:Evancol/Sandbox/NewMexico

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Bernalillo County

Guide to Bernalillo County, New Mexico ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Bernalillo County, New Mexico
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 22, 1846
County Seat Albuquerque
Courthouse
Address Bernalillo County Courthouse
1 Civic Plaza NW;
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone:. 505.768.4090 
Bernalillo County Website


Nm-bernalillo.png

County Information[edit | edit source]

Bernalillo County, New Mexico Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1885 1850 1873 1861

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]


County Clerk has marriage records from 1885, probate records from 1895 and land records from 1888; District Court Clerk has divorce and court records.[1]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • Before 1821New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
  • In 1821Mexico obtained jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
  • 22 September 1846 - Bernalillo County was created based on an old Mexican government partido  under the Kearny Code of laws for the occupied Mexican territory.[2][3] Bernalillo county was one of seven original New Mexico counties. This code named after General Stephen W. Kearny
    In 1848, New Mexico Territory formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended with the signing of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.
Bernalillo and other counties in New Mexico Territory in 1852.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 9 January 1852 - All New Mexico counties were redefined. Bernalillo county was extended west to the California border including land in present day Arizona and Nevada.[4] [5] [6] Residents far from the county seat, probably did not send many records to the county offices.
  • 29 December 1863 - Arizona Territory was created from the western half of New Mexico Territory. Bernalillo county was reduced in size to the portion that was still in New Mexico Territory.[7]
  • 13 Jan 1876 SANTA ANA county discontinued, BERNALILLO county gained all of its lands and records.[8]
  • 1 Jan 1901 BERNALILLO county lost land to the creation of McKINLEY county. [9]

14 Apr 1903 BERNALILLO county lost land to the creation of SANDOVAL county. [10]
1 Jan 1905 BERNALILLO county lost land to the creation of TORRANCE county.[11]

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. See also Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona for further details.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Cities

  • Albuquerque

Town
Edgewood

Villages

  • Los Ranchos de Albuquerque
  • Tijeras

Census-designated places

  • Carnuel
  • Cedar Crest
  • Cedro
  • Chilili
  • Edith Endave
  • Isleta Village Proper
  • Manzano Springs
  • North Valley
  • Pajarito Mesa
  • Paradise Hills
  • Ponderosa Pine
  • San Antonito
  • Sandia Heights
  • Sandia Knolls
  • Sandia Park
  • Sedillo
  • South Valley

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Traill County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online

 

Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)

 

List of Cemeteries in the County

 

See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information
  • Tijeras Cemetery, Tijeras at BillionGraves. Cemetery appears to be inside south part of freeway interchange involving State Highway 337, US 85, and I-40. A small church is also inside this as well.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 105
1810 290 176.2%
1820 400 37.9%
1830 760 90.0%
1840 903 18.8%
1850 1,299 43.9%
1860 1,892 45.7%
1870 2,100 11.0%
1880 2,295 9.3%
1890 2,812 22.5%
1900 3,600 28.0%
1910 4,022 11.7%
1920 5,123 27.4%
1930 5,832 13.8%
1940 6,704 15.0%
1950 6,955 3.7%
1960 7,300 5.0%
1970 8,400 15.1%
1980 8,765 4.3%
1990 9,382 7.0%
2000 10,032 6.9%
2010 12,552 25.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.

Church[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records

  • Albuquerque

Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Evancol/Sandbox/NewMexico. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Nmbernalillo.jpg

Military[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]

1917 - 1919 New Mexico, World War I Records, 1917-1919 at Ancestry ($) For more natiowide World War I databases, see US Military OnlineGenealogy Records.

World War II[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Births[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Albuquerque Genealogical Society
PO Box 25512
Albuquerque, New Mexico, 87125-0512
E-mail[1]
Website

Albuquerque Historical Society
PO Box 1293
Albuquerque, New Mexico, 87125
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



Web Sites[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bernalillo County, New Mexico page 473, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Courts and Judicial Powers, Sec. 5” Kearny Code: Laws for the Government of the Territory of New Mexico, September 22, 1846 (Santa Fe, N. Mex.: S. W. Kearny, 1846), 47. Digital online edition.
  3. Kearny's Code 1846, "Courts and Judicial Powers,” secs. 5-7/p. 49; Abel, Map #2; Coan, 252; Williams, 108-109
  4. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 291
  5. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  6. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  7. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, pp. 664-665; Van Zandt, 165
  8. N.M. Terr. Laws 1875-1876, 22d assy., ch. 8/pp. 38-40
  9. N.M. Terr. Laws 1899, 33d assy., ch. 19/pp. 43-45
  10. N.M. Terr. Laws 1903, 35th assy., ch. 27/pp. 37-43
  11. N.M. Terr. Laws 1903, 35th assy., ch. 70/pp. 132-134