To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:Gublerjones

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Daniel R. Jones, MS, AG
is an Accredited Genealogist specializing in Swiss and German research. After graduating magna cum laude from Brigham Young University, Daniel worked professionally for over a dozen years in helping several high-profile clients with research all over Europe. He has experience in numerous archives across more than a dozen countries in Europe, North America, Africa, and Australia. Daniel has also presented at multiple national conferences, including FGS, IGHR, SLIG, FEEFHS, and RootsTech. He is currently a research specialist in Germanic and Slavic Europe for the Family History Library.



en This user is a native speaker of English
de-3 This user is an advanced speaker of German
nl-3 This user is an advanced speaker of Dutch
United States flag.png This user lives in the United States.
Animation6.gif This user is of Swiss ancestry.
Moderator This user is a member of the moderator team. (verify)


Education and Credentials[edit | edit source]

  • Brigham Young University, B.A. Family History, magna cum laude (2002)
  • University of Utah, M.S. History---Early Modern Europe (2014)
  • Accredited Genealogist in Switzerland

Employment and Service[edit | edit source]

International Archives Experience[edit | edit source]

  • Zürich, Switzerland
  • Herisau, Switzerland (Appenzell)
  • Bern, Switzerland
  • Frauenfeld, Switzerland (Thurgau)
  • Neuchâtel, Switzerland
  • Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Glarus, Switzerland
  • Kassel, Germany
  • Hannover, Germany
  • Berlin, Germany
  • Boppard, Germany
  • Magdeburg, Germany
  • Eisenach, Germany
  • Dresden, Germany
  • Nürnberg, Germany
  • Hohenstein, Germany
  • Oppenheim, Germany
  • Herrstein, Germany
  • Öhringen, Germany
  • Vienna, Austria
  • Graz, Austria
  • Amersfoort, Netherlands
  • Rzeszów, Poland
  • Warsaw, Poland
  • Lódz, Poland
  • Przemyśl, Poland
  • Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Fano, Italy
  • Oslo, Norway
  • Sundsvall, Sweden
  • L'viv, Ukraine
  • Minsk, Belarus
  • Dublin, Ireland
  • Kilkenny, Ireland
  • London, England
  • Hertford, England
  • Cardiff, Wales
  • Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Cape Town, South Africa
  • Pretoria, South Africa
  • Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
  • Adelaide, Australia

Presenter at the following Conferences and Seminars[edit | edit source]

  • PALAM, Cincinnati, Ohio, 2020 (upcoming)
  • GRIP, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 2020 (upcoming)
  • National Genealogical Society, Salt Lake City, 2020 (upcoming)
  • RootsTech, Salt Lake City, Utah, 2020 (upcoming)
  • Foundation for East European Family History Studies (FEEFHS): Salt Lake City, Utah, 2019
  • BYU Conference on Family History and Genealogy: Provo, Utah, 2019
  • International German Genealogy Partnership (IGGP): Sacramento, California, 2019
  • RootsTech, Salt Lake City, Utah, 2019
  • Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy (SLIG): Salt Lake City, Utah, 2019
  • BYU Conference on Family History and Genealogy: Provo, Utah, 2018
  • Federation of Genealogical Societies (FGS): Fort Wayne, Indiana, 2018
  • Foundation for East European Family History Studies (FEEFHS): Salt Lake City, Utah, 2018
  • Institute of Genealogy and Historical Research (IGHR): Athens, Georgia, 2018
  • Cochrane Family History Conference: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada, 2018
  • RootsTech: Salt Lake City, Utah, 2018
  • Ogden Family History Center 2017 Conference: Ogden, Utah, 2017
  • Institute of Genealogy and Historical Research (IGHR): Athens, Georgia, 2017
  • Foundation for East European Family History Studies (FEEFHS): Salt Lake City, Utah, 2017
  • Western European Family History Conference: Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah, 2017
  • European Family History Conference: Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah, 2016
  • Foundation for East European Family History Studies: Salt Lake City, Utah, 2016
  • Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy: Salt Lake City, Utah, 2015
  • Swiss Seminar: Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah, 2014
  • South Africa Seminar: Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah, 2014
  • Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy: Salt Lake City, Utah, 2013

Classes and Lectures[edit | edit source]

Online Learning Courses[edit | edit source]

  • Germany: Meyer's Gazetteer
  • Germany: Hansen's Map Guides
  • Germany: Reverse-Sort Gazetteers
  • Germany: Kartenmeister
  • Germany: 1905 Prussian Gazetteer
  • Germany: Spellings, Prefixes, and Translations
  • German Paleography: Introduction to German
  • German Paleography: Fraktur script
  • German Paleography: Capital Letters
  • German Paleography: Lowercase Letters
  • German Paleography: Reading German Names
  • Sweden: Places of Origin
  • Sweden: Church Records - Baptisms
  • Sweden: Church Records - Marriages and Burials
  • Sweden: Household Examination Records
  • Sweden: Moving In and Out Records
  • Sweden: Basic Research Strategy
  • England: Evaluating England Censuses
  • England: Locating England Civil Registration Records

Publications[edit | edit source]

  • "The Grain of Salt," Crossroads (Utah Genealogical Association)
  • "Swiss Immigrants", German-American Genealogy

Research Interests[edit | edit source]

  • South Africa genealogy
  • Eastern European research
  • Swiss town records
  • European royalty and nobility genealogy
  • Latin American research

Languages[edit | edit source]

  • German: speak, read, and write
  • Dutch: speak, read, and write
  • Latin, French, Italian, Spanish – reading ability

Online Activity[edit | edit source]


Switzerland census records
year 1757-1758 Baden, Aargau - 1185178, 1, 1079
year 1661, Rudgers Altorf, 1185179, 3, 85 - list of conversions.