Information icon.png The FamilySearch Research Wiki will be down for maintenance on Sunday, Sept. 27, at 11:59 pm until Monday, Sept 28, 4:00 am EDT.

User:Ibperkins50/Sandbox

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Apache Edward S Curtis Geronimo .jpg

Linden, Navajo, Arizona[edit | edit source]

United States Gotoarrow.png Arizona Gotoarrow.png Navajo County

Guide to Linden, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Linden was formerly called Juniper. It is about eight miles west of Showlow. In 1888 it was a small Mormon hamlet. The first settlers called the long leaf cottwood trees that lined the dray wash, :lindens." hence the name. It is still unincorporated.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (Mormons) The Family History Library has an extensive collection of church records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. *The library has histories of local Latter-day Saint congregations and an overview of Mormon colonization in: *McClintock, James H. Mormon Settlement in Arizona: A Record of Peaceful Conquest of the Desert. Phoenix, Ariz.: Manufacturing Stationers, 1921. FHL Collection book 979.1 K2m; film 1033844 item 10. The entire book is on Project Gutenburg. Early, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, *Church records for Arizona Wards and Branches can be found on film and are located at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. The film numbers, for each ward, can be locate through the FamilySearch Catalog . Or by refering to Jaussi, Laureen R., and Gloria D. Chaston. Register of Genealogical Society Call Numbers. 2 vols. Provo, Utah: Genealogy Tree, 1982. (FHL book 979.2258 A3j; fiche 6031507). These volumes contain the film numbers for many (but not all) membership and temple record films. George S. Tanner. Mormon Settlements in Arizona. J. Willard Marriott Library, University of Utah, 1970. WorldCat 639677965 Collection Inventory A collection of primary sources relating to the Mormon colonization efforts along the Little Colorado River and the surrounding area. Most materials collected by George S. Tanner. Includes diaries, histories, correspondence, financial records, biographies and autobiographies, and clippings.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

  • Arizona Cemetery Transcription and Photo Project *BillionGraves.com - Provides photos and GPS locations of grave markers. *Cyndi's List -

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

funeral homes *Findagrave.com Interment.net *Rootsweb *UsGenweb.org [edit] Census

Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

  • Show Low Public Library (5.8 miles) 181 N 9th Street Show Low, AZ 85901 phone: 928-532-4073 Type: Library System Staff: 6.91 Collections: 27,773 Programs: 984 Internet Computer: 38 *Show Low Public Library (5.8 miles) 181 N 9th Street Show Low, AZ 85901 phone: 928-532-4070 Type: Central Library *Clay Springs Public Library (11.3 miles) 2106 Granite Road Clay Springs, AZ 85923 phone: 928-739-4848 Type: Branch Library *Larson Memorial Public Library (12.3 miles) 1595 Johnson Drive Lakeside, AZ 85929 phone: 928-368-6688 Type: Library System Staff: 5.00 Collections: 12,000 Programs: 234 Internet Computer: 14 *Navajo Nation Library Home navajonationlibrary.org/ The Office of Navajo Nation Library was established in 2001 by the ... The Office of Navajo Nation Library officially opened in the Navajo Nation Museum, Library and Visitor Center on October 31, 1997. ... Window Rock, Arizona 86515 *Navajo Nation Museum www.navajonationmuseum.org/ News & Updates | Navajo Nation Museum & Ziindi.com Presents Ch'ikééh Baa Hózhó

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Linden - Arizona Memory Project - Arizona State Library ... azmemory.azlibrary.gov/cdm/search/searchterm/Linden Part 1: Val Reidhead's family was always in the sawmill business. He remembered growing up in lumber camps around Linden and Pinedale, Clay Springs and ...

City Directories[edit | edit source]

  • Linden Phone Book and Linden Phone Directory linden.findlinks.com/ Linden Phone Book and Linden Phone Directory makes searching for businesses and people in Linden easy by providing an online business and residential ...

References[edit | edit source]