User:Janaeelizan7/62

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to England ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

England is one of the four constituent countries of the United Kingdom (together with Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland). It has a history that goes back over a thousand years. In 1707, the Kingdom of England joined the Kingdom of Scotland in union to become the Kingdom of Great Britain. The official language is English.[1]

Most Genalogy records are kept at the parish level in England.


























Available England Records Online[edit | edit source]

England Online Records List[edit | edit source]

A chart that shows links to England Online Genealogy Records for researching ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth, marriage, death, census, church, military, immigration, and naturalization records

FamilySearch Historical Records[edit | edit source]

Search collections of records for documents about your ancestors. You can filter which collections you would like to search within.

Getting Started with England Research[edit | edit source]

Guided Research[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch identified the most complete online indexes for birth, marriage, and death information for England.

Finding Records in England[edit | edit source]

This wil show you a bit of history for Birth, Marriage, and Death records.

"How to" Guides[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch identified online indexes for birth, marriage, and death information in England.

Research Strategies[edit | edit source]

Find quick tips and clues for how to find records in England.

England Research Tools[edit | edit source]

Record Finder[edit | edit source]

This is designed to help you determine the best the best record to search for the type of information you are looking for. It is most helpful for post-1850 research.

England Websites[edit | edit source]

Find a list of websites and resources you can find to help you with your research.

Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870[edit | edit source]

Gives you places to search the Gazetteer of England and Wales.

Counties List[edit | edit source]

Find Counties with their Chapman Code abbreviations.

See More Research Strategies

Family History Center Locator Map

Find in-person help at family history centers around the world.

Online Courses[edit | edit source]

Find videos of doing research in various locations.

Online Research Communities[edit | edit source]

England Research Facebook Group[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Genealogy Research Groups are resources where individuals can post specific genealogical questions or translation requests regarding a country or region in the world. The community consists of individuals who wish to collaborate and help one another find answers.

FamilySearch Research Community[edit | edit source]

Connect with people who are doing research in the same locations you are.

England Clickable Map 1851[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept at the Parish level in England. The map below shows county boundaries as of 1851. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.

CornwallDevonSomersetDorsetWiltshireHampshireSussexKentSurreyLondonMiddlesexEssexBerkshireGloucestershireOxfordshireBuckinghamshireHertfordshireBedfordshireCambridgeshireSuffolkNorfolkHuntingdonshireNorthamptonshireHerefordshireWorcestershireWarwickshireShropshireStaffordshireLeicestershireRutlandLincolnshireNottinghamshireDerbyshireCheshireLancashireYorkshireWestmorlandCumberlandDurhamNorthumberlandEngland image map.png


Counties and Parishes[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the county and parish level in England. Click on a county or parish name below to go to the relevant wiki article listing more information.


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "England," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England, accessed 23 March 2016.