United States State Census Page Revamp Project

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Project[edit | edit source]

Instructions[edit | edit source]

Step 1[edit | edit source]

In another tab, open up a sandbox and copy the following code and paste it into the empty sandbox.

==Online Federal Censuses==
===Population Schedules===
Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. [[United States Census|'''Click here for more information''']] about federal census records. <br><br>
INSERT INFORMATION ABOUT WHEN THE STATE BECAME A TERRITORY OR STATE, AND WHETHER OR NOT IT CAN BE FOUND IN THE 1790 CENSUS OR NOT.

======'''United States Federal Censuses with Online Links'''======
{| class="wikitable" width= "70%" style="display: inline-table;"
|-
! style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%" | 1790
! style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%" | 1800
! style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"| 1810
! style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"| 1820
|-
|{{RecordSearch|1803959|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/5058/ Ancestry.com]
|{{RecordSearch|1804228|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/7590/ Ancestry.com]
|{{RecordSearch|1803765|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/7613/ Ancestry.com]
|{{RecordSearch|1803955|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/7734/ Ancestry.com]
|-
! style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"| 1830
! style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"| 1840
!style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"|1850
!style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"|1860
|-
|{{RecordSearch|1803958|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/8058/ Ancestry.com]
|{{RecordSearch|1786457|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/8057/ Ancestry.com]
|{{RecordSearch|1401638|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/8054/ Ancestry.com]
|{{RecordSearch|1473181|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/7667/ Ancestry.com]
|-
!style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"|1870
!style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"|1880
!style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"|1890
!style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"|1900
|-
|{{RecordSearch|1438024|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/7163/ Ancestry.com]
|{{RecordSearch|1417683|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/6742/ Ancestry.com]
|{{RecordSearch|1610551|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/5445/ Ancestry.com]
|{{RecordSearch|1325221|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/7602/ Ancestry.com]
|-
!style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"|1910
!style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"|1920
!style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"|1930
!style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:"25%"|1940
|-
|{{RecordSearch|1727033|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/7884/ Ancestry.com]
|{{RecordSearch|1488411|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/6061/ Ancestry.com]
|{{RecordSearch|1810731|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/6224/ Ancestry.com]
|{{RecordSearch|2000219|FamilySearch}}<br> [https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/2442/ Ancestry.com]
|-
|}

===Non-Population Schedules for STATE===
Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules. 
{| class="wikitable" width= flexible style="display: inline-table;"
|-
! style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:flexible;" | Year
! style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:flexible;" | Type of Census
! style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:flexible;"| Links
|-
|
|
| 
|-
|
|
|
|-
|
|
|
|-
|
|
|
|-
|}

===Existing and Lost Censuses===
*[[STATE Censuses Existing and Lost|List of existing and lost federal censuses for STATE]]

==Online State and Territorial Censuses==
State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit [https://www.census.gov/history/www/genealogy/other_resources/state_censuses.html United States Census Bureau].<br><br>
Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the [[United States Census Territorial|US Territorial Census page]].<br><br>
{| class="wikitable" width= flexible="display: inline-table;"
|-
! style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:flexible;" | Year
! style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:flexible;" | Type of Census
! style="background:#cccccc; scope:col; width:flexible;"| Links
|-
|
|
|
|-
|
|
|
|-
|
|
|
|-
|
|
|
|-
|}

== Other Census Images ==


==Why Use the Census?==
State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include: 
*Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
*Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
*Sex 
*Age
*Color
*Nativity
*Place of birth of this person
*Place of birth of Father of this person
*Place of birth of Mother of this person
*Period of Residence
*How long a resident of this State (years and months)
*How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
*Regular occupation
*Military service

Step 2[edit | edit source]

Once the code has been copied into the sandbox, replace all the bolded words with the information stated. This will primarily be typing in the state name and entering information about when a state became a state. Don't forget to save your work when this step is done!

Step 3[edit | edit source]

Pull up another tab and go to the current state census page in the Wiki. Transfer over information from the current page.