User:Luccagenes/Sandbox/TestPage33
Minnesota Genealogy and Family History Research
A guide to Minnesota genealogy and family history records such as, birth and death records, marriage records, land and census records, military records, family pedigrees, and much more.
• Where to look for the right records
• Check state and county boundaries
• See all of the Minnesota wiki pages.
- Aitkin
- Anoka
- Becker
- Beltrami
- Benton
- Big Stone
- Blue Earth
- Brown
- Carlton
- Carver
- Cass
- Chippewa
- Chisago
- Clay
- Clearwater
- Cook
- Cottonwood
- Crow Wing
- Dakota
- Dodge
- Douglas
- Faribault
- Fillmore
- Freeborn
- Goodhue
- Grant
- Hennepin
- Houston
- Hubbard
- Isanti
- Itasca
- Jackson
- Kanabec
- Kandiyohi
- Kittson
- Koochiching
- Lac Qui Parle
- Lake
- Lake of the Woods
- Le Sueur
- Lincoln
- Lyon
- Mahnomen
- Marshall
- Martin
- McLeod
- Meeker
- Mille Lacs
- Morrison
- Mower
- Murray
- Nicollet
- Nobles
- Norman
- Olmsted
- Otter Tail
- Pennington
- Pine
- Pipestone
- Polk
- Pope
- Ramsey
- Red Lake
- Redwood
- Renville
- Rice
- Rock
- Roseau
- Scott
- Sherburne
- Sibley
- St. Louis
- Stearns
- Steele
- Stevens
- Swift
- Todd
- Traverse
- Wabasha
- Wadena
- Waseca
- Washington
- Watonwan
- Wilkin
- Winona
- Wright
- Yellow Medicine
Minnesota's most unique Genealogical feature
Minnesota was formerly claimed by France, Spain, the United Kingdom, Quebec, unorganized U.S., Northwest, Indiana, Louisiana, Illinois, Michigan, Missouri, Iowa, and Wisconsin territories.[4]
Lost relatives?
By studying the Minnesota population migration patterns using the railroads, Mississippi and Minnesota River travel, ship travel across the Great Lakes, entry to the US from Canada via the Red River, the westward expansion across the St._Croix_River from Wisconsin and early trails and roads in combination with known immigration settlements for various nationalities it may be possible to pin down areas within the state where they may have traveled. Travel through or beyond the state can also be aided by using the railroad migration routes which headed westward during the 1800s.
Did you know?
The largest ethnic groups in Minnesota are Germans, Swedes, and Norwegians. By 1880 the foreign-born population in Minnesota included nearly 108,000 Scandinavians, many of whom were Norwegians; 66,000 Germans; and about 39,000 British, most of whom were Irish. Nearly 30,000 Minnesotans had come from Canada, most of whom were British and French Canadians. There were nearly 8,000 Bohemians (mostly Czechs) and 1,000 or 2,000 each from Switzerland, Poland, Russia, and France.
- ↑ The name Minnesota comes from the Dakota word (Mnisota) which translates to "clear blue water" or "clouded blue water" (referring to the reflection of the clouds). "Mnisota" Dakota Dictionary Online. 2010. https://filemaker.cla.umn.edu/dakota/browserecord.php?-action=browse&-recid=1630 (September 7, 2013).
- ↑ [http://historical-county.newberry.org/website/Minnesota/viewer.htm Minnesota Atlas of Historical County Boundaries, John H. Long, Editor; Peggy Tuck Sinko, Associate Editor; Gordon DenBoer, Historical Compiler; Douglas Knox, Book Digitizing Director and Digital Compiler; Emily Kelley, Research Associate; Laura Rico-Beck, GIS Specialist; Peter Siczewicz, ArcIMS Interactive Map Designer; Robert Will, Cartographic Assistant. Copyright The Newberry Library 2008.
- ↑ St. Croix County covered much of north eastern Minnesota in 1840 and is now an existing county in western Wisconsin. See St. Croix County
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, ed. Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. 3rd ed (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 350. (FHL Collection 973 D27rb 2004). WorldCat entry.
|
About 1 million vist the Minnesota Historical Society each year. |
| Minnesota Topics |
|
| State Page Emissary (SPE) (this position is open: learn more) County Page Emissary (CPE) positions are also available |
  |
|---|
 |
Land of 10,000 Lakes North Star State The Gopher State |
 |
(French: The Star of the North) |
.svg.png) |
Saint Paul, since 1849 Largest cities: 1st - Minneapolis 2nd - Saint Paul 3rd - Rochester 4th - Duluth Note: ~60% of the State's population lives in the Twin Cities Metro area |
Ranked 21st 5,420,380 (2013 est) |
Minnesota Territory Admission to Union: May 11, 1858 (32nd) |
(UTC: Universal Time Coordinated) Thursday, 08:34 (UTC) |
MN, Minn. US-MN |
surrounding States  |
Find Help
- Contact Wiki Support through their user pages
- Use the talk page associated with each article
- Fill out a Submit form for questions or comments
Live help options (phone, email, or chat line)
Find a volunteer (Request a mentor)
Local area help (Find a Family History Center)
- - - also see the FHC Introduction article
Facebook (Numerous research communities)
Wiki meetings (Discuss topics of interest)
You can also watch the Learning Center videos
--- This is your first line of communication
--- There are benefits to free registration
--- Here is Your talk page (must sign in)
1st: Create your user page
--- Find Your user page here
--- To start, type any word and then save
--- Add userboxes to dress up Your page
2nd: Set Your preferences
--- Set email choices, search options, etc
--- You can change Your password here
3rd: Play in your sandbox pages
--- Go to Your sandbox
--- To start, type any word and then save
4th: Check out the Community meetings
--- Join the discussions/ask questions
--- Meeting recordings are available
5th: Use your watchlist
--- Keep track of pages that interest you
--- Find Your watched pages here
6th: How to use the history and talk tabs
--- Find other user pages in the history tab
--- post questions/comments on talk tab
