User:RogersBA/Sandbbox MN 22

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Faribault County, Minnesota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Blue Earth
Organized: February 23, 1856[1]
Parent County(s): Blue Earth[2]
Neighboring Counties
Blue Earth  • Freeborn  • Kossuth (IA)  • Martin  • Waseca  • Winnebago (IA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Minnesota, Faribault County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Minnesota Faribault County Map.svg.png
Adoption
Fairmont Park.JPG

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Jean-Baptiste Faribault, a settler and French fur trader among the Sioux Indians. The County is located in the south-central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Faribault County Courthouse
415 N Main St
Blue Earth, MN 56013
Phone: 507-526-6225
Phone: 507-526-6252
Faribault County Website

Court Administrator has birth, marriage, divorce and probate from 1870, court records from 1950 and naturalization records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [4]

Faribault County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870 1870 1870 1950 1862 1870 1836
*Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Faribault County, Minnesota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For links to Federal, State, and Territorial censuses, see Minnesota Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 1,335
1870 9,940 644.6%
1880 13,016 30.9%
1890 16,708 28.4%
1900 22,055 32.0%
1910 19,949 −9.5%
1920 20,998 5.3%
1930 21,642 3.1%
1940 23,941 10.6%
1950 23,879 −0.3%
1960 23,685 −0.8%
1970 20,896 −11.8%
1980 19,714 −5.7%
1990 16,937 −14.1%
2000 16,181 −4.5%
2010 14,553 −10.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information, see Minnesota Church Records.

Lutheran

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Faribault County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Blue Earth CountyWaseca CountyFreeborn CountyMartin CountyKossuth CountyWinnebago CountyMN FARIBAULT.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Multiple Wars

Civil War
Civil War service men from Faribault County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Faribault County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Companies B and K.
- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Heavy Artillery, Company F.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies H and K.
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies C and F.
- 9th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company D.
- Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company B.

Online Civil War Indexes and Records

Spanish-American War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Since Minnesota tax records include only persons who owned taxable property, many residents were not included. Still they complement land records and can be used in place of missing censuses or the years between censuses. There may also be gaps. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Faribault County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Faribault County. For state-wide library facilities, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Buckham Memorial Library
11 Division St E
Faribault, MN 55021
507-334-2089
E-mail:djames@ci.faribault.mn.us
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Faribault County Historical Society
405 E Sixth St
Blue Earth, MN 56013
507-526-5421
Website

Minnesota Lake Area Historical Society
Kremer House
Box 225
Minnesota Lake, MN 56068
507-462-3420
E-mail:mlfamily@bevcomm.net
Website

Winnebago Area Museum
16 Main St S
Winnebago, MN 56098
507-893-4660
E-mail:wmuseum@bevcomm.net
Website

Wells Historical Society
Wells Depot Museum
100 1st Avenue NW
PO Box 43
Wells, MN 56097
507-553-6303
Email:whs@bevcomm.net
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Faribault County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Minnesota Societies.

Bricelyn Area Historical Society
309 N Main St
Bricelyn, MN 56014
507-653-4644

Elmore Area Historical Society
108 S Henry St
Elmore, MN 56027
507-943-3855
Website

Faribault County Historical Society
405 E. Sixth Street
Blue Earth, MN 56013
507-526-5421
Website

Kiester Area Historical Society
501 W Center St
PO Box 222
Kiester, MN 56051
507-338-0079

Minnesota Lake Area Historical Society
317 Main St
Minnesota Lake, MN 56097
Box 225
Minnesota Lake, MN 56068
507-462-3420
Email:mlfamily@bevcomm.net
Website

Wells Historical Society
100 1st Avenue NW
PO Box 43
Wells, MN 56097
507-553-6303
Email:whs@bevcomm.net
Website

Winnebago Area Museum
16 Main St S
PO Box 595
Winnebago, MN 56098
507-893-4660 or 507-553-6303
Email:wmuseum@bevcomm.net
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Faribault County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Faribault_County,_Minnesota accessed 12 Nov 2018
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Faribault County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Faribault_County,_Minnesota, accessed 25 January 2020.