User:RogersBA/Sandbbox MN 23

United States

Minnesota

Fillmore County

Guide to Fillmore County, Minnesota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Minnesota Online Genealogy Records

County Facts County seat: Preston Organized: March 1853, 1853 Parent County(s): Wabasha Neighboring Counties Houston  • Howard (IA)  • Mower  • Olmsted  • Winneshiek (IA)  • Winona See County Maps Courthouse Location Map Adoption This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Millard Fillmore, thirteenth President of the United States. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.

County Courthouse

Fillmore County Courthouse
101 Fillmore St
Preston, MN 55965
Phone: 507-765-3356 (Court Administration)
Phone: 507-765-4701
Fillmore County Website

County Administrator has birth and death records from 1870, marriage records from 1865, divorce and court records from 1885 and probate records from 1858.
County Recorder has land records.

Fillmore County, Minnesota Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth*	Marriage	Death*	Court	Land	Probate	Census
1870	1865	1870	1885	1853	1858	1836
*Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Parent County: Created from Wabasha County March 5, 1853. County seat: Preston Interactive Map of Minnesota County Formation History (1790-1897) - animated maps illustrating Minnesota county boundary changes Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library

Populated Places

Populated Places
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:

Cities
Canton Chatfield Fountain Harmony Lanesboro	Mabel Ostrander Peterson Preston Rushford	Rushford Village Spring Valley Whalan Wykoff
Unincorporated communities
Bratsberg Carimona Cherry Grove Clear Grit Elliota Etna	Fillmore Forestville Granger Greenleafton Hamilton Henrytown	Highland Lenora Newburg Prosper York
Townships
Amherst Arendahl Beaver Bloomfield Bristol Canton Carimona Carrolton	Chatfield Fillmore Forestville Fountain Harmony Holt Jordan Newburg	Norway Pilot Mound Preble Preston Spring Valley Sumner York

Resources

Biographies

• Curtiss-Wedge, Franklyn; Willford, William; and White, Milo; History of Fillmore County, Minnesota; (Chicago: H.C. Cooper, Jr & Co; 1912); Volume two (biographical] online at FamilySearch Digital Library, Google Books.

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Fillmore County, Minnesota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online	Billion Graves Find A Grave Interment.net MN Tombstone Transcription Project MNGenWeb MNGravestones USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)	Family History Library WorldCat
List of Cemeteries in the County	FamilySearch Places Find A Grave
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records

For links to Federal, State, and Territorial censuses, see Minnesota Census.

Historical populations
Census	Pop.	%±
1860	13,542	—
1870	24,887	83.8%
1880	28,162	13.2%
1890	25,996	−7.7%
1900	28,288	8.8%
1910	25,680	−9.2%
1920	25,330	−1.4%
1930	24,748	−2.3%
1940	25,830	4.4%
1950	24,465	−5.3%
1960	23,768	−2.8%
1970	21,916	−7.8%
1980	21,930	0.1%
1990	20,777	−5.3%
2000	21,122	1.7%
2010	20,866	−1.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

• 1835-1890 MInnesota, U.S., Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1835-1890 at Ancestry ($)
• 1849-1905 MInnesota, U.S., Territorial and State Censuses, 1849-1905 at Ancestry ($)
• 1865 Minnesota State Census, 1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
• 1875 Minnesota State Census, 1875 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
• 1885 Minnesota State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
• 1905 Minnesota State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information, see Minnesota Church Records.

• FamilySearch Places
  

Lutheran

• 1800-1988 - Evangelical Lutheran Church of America at Minnesota Historical Society ($)
• Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($) has the following information:
  • American Lutheran Church, Rushford
    
  • American Lutheran Church, Spring Valley
    
  • Bloomfield Lutheran Church, Ostrander
    
  • First Lutheran Church, Whalan
    
  • Greenfield Lutheran Church, Harmony
    
  • Henrytown Lutheran Church, Canton
    
  • Highland Prairie Lutheran Church, Peterson
    
  • Mabel Lutheran Church
    
  • Ostrander Lutheran Church
    

Court Records

• 1853-1901 Miscellaneous records, 1853-1901 at FamilySearch Catalog; Scroll down to Film/Digital Notes, then select the camera icon to view images.

Emigration and Immigration

• 1912-1956 Minnesota Passenger and Crew Lists, 1912-1956 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.

Land and Property Records

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records

• 1852-1908 Deed records, 1852-1908 at FamilySearch Catalog; Scroll down to Film/Digital Notes; then select the camera icon to view images.
• Pre-1908 MInnesota, U.S., Homestead and Cash Entry Patents, Pre-1908 at Ancestry ($)

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fillmore County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

• Neill, Edward D. and Bryant, Charles S.; History of Fillmore County: including explorers and pioneers of Minnesota and outline history of the state of Minnesota; (Minneapolis: Minnesota Historical Company 1882); Online at FamilySearch Digital Library, Google Books, HathiTrust.
• Curtiss-Wedge, Franklyn; Willford, William; and White, Milo; History of Fillmore County, Minnesota; (Chicago: H.C. Cooper, Jr & Co; 1912); Volume one online at FamilySearch Digital Library, Google Books; Ancestry Database ($)
• Minnesota Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com

Maps and Gazetteers

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

• Minnesota Maps at David Rumsey Map Collections
• FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places

Military Records

Multiple Wars

• 1898-1899 Minnesota Volunteers in the Spanish American War and the Philippine Insurrection at Ancestry ($)

Civil War
Civil War service men from Fillmore County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Fillmore County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Companies F and I.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Heavy Artillery, Company D.

- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company A.

- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.

- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.

- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company B.

- 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company K.

- 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company E.

- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company D.

- 11th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.

- 15th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K.

- Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company D.

Online Civil War Indexes and Records

• 1861-1865 U.S. Civil War Soldiers, 1861-1865 at Ancestry (Free collection)
• 1861-1865 MInnesota, U.S., Civil War Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry (free collection)
• 1861-1865 Minnesota Civil War Soldiers at Ancestry (Free collection)
• 1861-1917 United States Civil War and Later Pension Index, 1861-1917 at FamilySearch - How to use this collection
• 1861-1934 U.S., Civil War Pension Index: General Index to Pension Files, 1861-1934 at Ancestry (free Index)

Spanish-American War

• 1898 U.S., Spanish American War Volunteers Index to Compiled Military Service Records, 1898 at Ancestry (Free collection)
• 1898-1899 MInnesota, U.S., Spanish American War Muster Rolls and Casualty Lists, 1898-1899 at Ancestry (Free index)

World War I

• 1917-1918 U.S., World War I Civilian Draft Registrations, 1917-1918 at Ancestry (Free collection)
• 1917-1918 U.S., World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 at Ancestry ($)
• 1918-1941 Minnesota, World War I Records, 1918-1941 at FamilySearch — How to use this collection.
• In the Wold War: Fillmore County, Minnesota, (Lanesboro, Minn.: Ola M. Lavang); Online at FamilySearch Digital Library, Minnesota Reflections, Internet Archive.

World War II

• 1940-1947 Minnesota, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1947 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
• 1940-1947 U.S., World War II Draft Cards Young Men, 1940-1947 at Ancestry ($)
• 1942 U.S., World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942 at Ancestry ($)

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

• 1849-1985 Web: Minnesota, U.S., Naturalization Index, 1849-1985 at Ancestry (Free Collection)
• 1872-1962 Minnesota Naturalization Records and Indexes, 1872-1962 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
• 1880-1920 MInnesota, U.S., Federal Naturalization Records, 1880-1920 at Ancestry ($)
• 1918 Web: MInnesota, U.S., Alien Registration Index, 1918 at Ancestry (Free collection)

Newspapers

• Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub at Minnesota Historical Society — narrow to county (55 listed) or city (106 listed), search for surname, limit by date.

Obituaries

• 1865-2006 Minnesota Obituaries 1865-2006 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
• 1891-2003 Web: Minnesota, U.S., Obituary Index, 1891-2003 at Ancestry (Free Index)

Probate Records

Probate records may include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

• 1801-1925 MInnesota, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1801-1925 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
• 1849-1985 Minnesota Will Records, 1849-1985 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection - Three Minnesota counties are not in this collection: Hennepin, Marshall, and St. Louis.

Social Security Records

• 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
• 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.

Tax Records

Since Minnesota tax records include only persons who owned taxable property, many residents were not included. Still they complement land records and can be used in place of missing censuses or the years between censuses. There may also be gaps. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records.

Birth

• 1840-1980 MInnesota, U.S., Births and Christenings Index, 1840-1980 at Ancestry ($)
• 1900-1934 Minnesota People Records Search select Birth Records (1900-1934), at Minnesota Historical Society — Index only, search by name, date, a related surname, or county.
• 1900-1934 Minnesota, Birth Index, 1900-1934 at MyHeritage($) — index
• 1935-2000 MInnesota, U.S., Birth Index, 1935-2000 at Ancestry ($)

Marriage

• 1850-2019 WEB: Minnesota, U.S., Marriages from the Minnesota Official Marriage System, 1850-2019 at Ancestry (Free Collection)
• 1860 1949 Minnesota, County Marriages, 1860-1949 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
• 1885-present Minnesota Official Marriage System at MOMS.mn.gov — search by county, name or date, and request copy.
• 1976-2003 Minnesota, Marriages, 1976-2003 at MyHeritage($) — index

Death

• 1850-2001 Minnesota, County Deaths, 1850-2001 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
• 1887-2001 Minnesota Deaths, 1887-2001 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
• 1904-2001 Minnesota, Death Index, 1904-2001 at MyHeritage($) — index
• 1908-2017 MInnesota, U.S., Death Index, 1908-2017 at Ancestry ($)

Divorce

• 1970-1995 MInnesota, U.S., Divorce Index, 1970-1995 at Ancestry ($)

Research Facilities

Archives

Listed below are archives in Fillmore County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

• Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

• Austin Minnesota Family History Center
• Rochester Minnesota Family History Center
• LaCrosse Wisconsin Family History Center
• La Crosse Public Library-Archives Department - an affiliate library

Libraries

Listed below are libraries in Fillmore County. For state-wide library facilities, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Fillmore County History Center and Genealogy Library
202 County Rd 8
Fountain MN 55935
507-268-4449
Website

Chatfield Public Library
314 S Main St
Chatfield, MN 55923
507-867-3480
E-mail:chat_dir@selco.info
Website

Harmony Public Library
225 3rd Avenue SW
Harmony, MN 55939
507-886-8133
E-mail:ssilvers@selco.info
Website

Lanesboro Public Library
202 Parkway Ave S
Lanesboro, MN 55949
507-467-2649
Website

Mabel Public Library
110 E Newburg
Mabel, MN 55954
507-493-5336
E-mail:mab_dir@selco.info
Website

Preston Public Library
101 St Paul St NW
Preston, MN 55965
507-765-4511
Website

Rushford Public Library
101 Mill St N
Rushford, MN 55971
507-864-7600
Website

Spring Valley Public Library
121 W Jefferson St
Spring Valley, MN 55975
507-346-2100
E-mail:sv_dir@selco.info
Website

Museums

Fillmore County Historical Center and Library
202 County Rd 8
Fountain, MN 55935
507-268-4449
Email: director@fillmorecountyhistory.org
Website

Canton Historical Society
Mitson House Museum
307 N Main St
Canton, MN 55922
Email: cantonhist@comcast.net
Website

Canton Depot
Intersection of Main Street and Prairie Avenue
PO Box 15
Canton, MN 55922
Website

Chatfield Historical Museum & Archives
Thurber Community Center, Lower Level
21 Second St SE
Chatfield, MN 55923
Website

Veterans Memorial Museum
Chatfield Public Library, Lower Level
314 S Main St
Chatfield, MN 55923
507-867-9094 or 507-867-3756
Website

Preston Historical Society
Preston Open Air History Museum
PO Box 138
Fillmore Street and Root River State Trail
Preston, MN 55965
507-765-2559
Email:prestonhistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website

Rushford Area Historical Society Museum
401 S Elm St
PO Box 98
Rushford, MN 55971-0098
507-864-7560
Email:nnespartz@yahoo.com
Facebook

Spring Valley Community Historical Society
Methodist Church Museum
221 W Courtland St
Spring Valley, MN 55975
507-346-7659
Website

Wykoff Area Historical Society
Ed's Museum
100 Gold St S
PO Box 182
Wykoff, MN 55990-8710
507-951-5734
Email:cjbmeyer@gmail.com
Website

Societies

Listed below are societies in Fillmore County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Minnesota Societies.

Fillmore County Historical Society Museum and Library
202 County Road 8
Fountain, MN 55935
507-268-4449
E-mail:director@fillmorecountyhistory.org
Website

Harmony Area Historical Society
PO Box 291
15 2nd Street NW
Harmony, MN 55939
507-886-2469
Website

Preston Historical Society
PO Box 138
Preston MN 55965
E-mail:prestonhistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website

Rushford Area Historical Society
403 E North St
Rushford, MN 55971
507-864-7560
Facebook

Spring Valley Community Historical Society
220 W Courtland St
Spring Valley MN 55975-1232
507-346-7659
Website

Websites

• Minnesota Historical Society
• Fillmore County at USGenWeb Archives
• Fillmore County MNGenWeb, a member of The MNGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
• Cyndi's List: Fillmore County
• Iron Range Research Center The Iron Range Research Center contains one of the largest collections of genealogical and local history research materials in the Upper Midwest and includes census, naturalization records, passenger arrival records, mining company newsletters, and a survey of Women in Industry taken in 1919, among many others.
• FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

The collection is free on this subscription website.

The index is free on this subscription website.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.