User:RogersBA/Sandbox IA 3

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Allamakee County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Waukon[1]
Organized: March 1, 1849[2]
Parent County(s): Unorganized territory[3]
Neighboring Counties
Clayton  • Fayette  • Winneshiek  • Crawford (WI)  • Vernon (WI)  • Houston (MN)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Iowa, Allamakee County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Iowa Allamakee Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County named is debated, some believing it was the name of an Indian chief, others think it was named for Allen Magee, an early historic trader. The County is located in the northeast area of the state. [4]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Allamakee County Courthouse
110 Allamakee St NW
PO Box 248
Waukon, IA 52172-1794
Phone:563-568-6351
Allamakee County Website

Allamakee County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1849 1880 1852 1851 1852 1847
* Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths Jan 1891. General compliance by 1924.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships
Ghost towns
  • Columbus


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Allamakee County, Iowa online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1850 777
1860 12,237 1474.9%
1870 17,868 46.0%
1880 19,791 10.8%
1890 17,907 −9.5%
1900 18,711 4.5%
1910 17,328 −7.4%
1920 17,285 −0.2%
1930 16,328 −5.5%
1940 17,184 5.2%
1950 16,351 −4.8%
1960 15,982 −2.3%
1970 14,968 −6.3%
1980 15,108 0.9%
1990 13,855 −8.3%
2000 14,675 5.9%
2010 14,330 −2.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Allamakee County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Houston CountyVernon CountyCrawford CountyWinneshiek CountyFayette CountyClayton CountyIA ALLAMAKEE(1).PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Multiple Wars

Civil War
Civil War service men in Allamakee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company K
- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company F
- 12th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies A, B and I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • Historical Iowa Newspapers at NewspaperArchive ($) online. This database is sometimes free at libraries under the name AccessNewspaperArchive.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

To locate the closest family history center or affiliate library, use the link listed above.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Postville Public Library
235 W Tilden St
Postville, IA 52162
563-864-7600
Email:library@postville.lib.ia.us
Website

Robey Memorial Library
401 1st Avenue NW
Waukon, IA 52172
563-568-4424
Email:robeymemorial@waukon.lib.ia.us
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Allamakee County Historical Society Museum and Genealogy Research Center
121 Allamakee St
PO Box 95
Waukon, Iowa 52172
563-568-2954
Email:info@allamakeehistory.org
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Allamakee County Historical Society Museum and Genealogy Research Center
121 Allamakee St
PO Box 95
Waukon, Iowa 52172
563-568-2954
Email:info@allamakeehistory.org
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed (4/12/2021).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Allamakee, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allamakee_County,_Iowa.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Allamakee County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed (12/04/2021).
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Allamakee County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allamakee_County,_Iowa, accessed 14 September 2018.