User:RogersBA/Sandbox IA 5

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Audubon County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Audubon [1]
Organized: 09 Jul 1855[2]
Parent County(s): Pottawattamie and Non-County Area 11[3]
Neighboring Counties
Adair  • Carroll  • Cass  • Crawford  • Guthrie  • Shelby
See County Maps
Courthouse
Iowa, Audubon Courthouse.png
Location Map
Iowa Audubon Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for John James Audubon. The County is located in the west central area of the state.[4]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Audubon County Courthouse
318 Leroy St
Audubon, IA 50025
Phone: 712-563-4275
Audubon County

Audubon County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1856 1880 1861 1853 1855 1847
* Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths Jan 1891. General compliance by 1924.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Cities
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • Audubon was attached to Cass and Black Hawk Counties prior to organization.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Audubon County, Iowa online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 454
1870 1,212 167.0%
1880 7,448 514.5%
1890 12,412 66.6%
1900 13,626 9.8%
1910 12,671 −7.0%
1920 12,520 −1.2%
1930 12,264 −2.0%
1940 11,790 −3.9%
1950 11,579 −1.8%
1960 10,919 −5.7%
1970 9,595 −12.1%
1980 8,559 −10.8%
1990 7,334 −14.3%
2000 6,830 −6.9%
2010 6,119 −10.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Audubon County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.

  • Andrews, H. F. (Henry Franklin), 1844-1919. History of Audubon County, Iowa its people, industries, and institutions ; with biographical sketches of representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the old families. Indianapolis, Indiana B.F. Bowen, 1915. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library
  • Audubon and Audubon County Iowa : the Eden of the West. Published by Audubon County Historical Society (Iowa), 1982. This is a combination of three older, fragile books: Audubon and Audubon County(1887), The History of Audubon County (1892), and The History of Exira (1891). Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Hansen, Frederick J. The history of the Christian and Katherine Hansen family : of Brayton, Audubon County, Iowa and some of their ancestral generations. 2011. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Biographical history of Shelby and Audubon counties, Iowa. Containing portraits of all the presidents of the United States from Washington to Harrison, with accompanying biographies of each; portraits and biographies of the governors of the state; engravings of prominent citizens in Shelby and Audubon counties, with personal histories of many of the early settlers and leading families. A concise history of the counties, and the cities and townships. W.S. Dunbar, Chicago, IL, 1889. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive; Ancestry($)
  • Iowa Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Crawford CountyCarroll CountyGreene CountyShelby CountyGuthrie CountyCass CountyAdair CountyIA AUDUBON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Multiple Wars

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

To locate the closest family history center or affiliate library, use the link listed above.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Audubon Public Library
401 N Park Pl
Audubon, IA 50025
712-563-3301
Email:gailr@metc.net
Website

Exira Public Library
114 W Washington
PO Box 368
Exira, IA 50076
712-268-5489
Email:exiralib@metc.net
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Nathaniel Hamlin Park
Highway 71
Audubon, IA 50025
712-563-2742
Email:Aced@iowatelelcom.net
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Audubon County Genealogical Society
505 Brayton St
Audubon, IA 50025-1301
Email: webmaster@auduboncounty.net
Website

Audubon County Historical Society
211 Tracy St
Audubon, IA 50025
Email:webmaster@auduboncounty.net
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed (4/16/2021).
  3. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed (4/16/2021).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Audubon, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audubon_County,_Iowa.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed (4/16/2021).
  7. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed (4/16/2021).
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Audubon County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audubon_County,_Iowa, accessed 22 November 2018.