User:RogersBA/Sandbox MN 24

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Freeborn County, Minnesota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Albert Lea
Organized: March 6, 1857[1]
Parent County(s): Blue Earth, Rice[2]
Neighboring Counties
Dodge  • Faribault  • Mower  • Steele  • Waseca  • Winnebago (IA)  • Worth (IA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Minnesota, Freeborn County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Minnesota Freeborn County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for William Freeborn, an early Minnesota politician. The County is located in the south-central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Freeborn County Courthouse
411 S Broadway Avenue
Albert Lea, MN 56007
Phone: 507-377-5153
Freeborn County Website

Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870, marriage and court records from 1857.
County Recorder has land records from 1854.
Probate Office has probate records from 1866. [4]

Freeborn County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870 1857 1870 1857 1854 1866 1836
*Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Populated Places
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Freeborn County, Minnesota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For links to Federal, State, and Territorial censuses, see Minnesota Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 3,367
1870 10,578 214.2%
1880 16,069 51.9%
1890 17,962 11.8%
1900 21,838 21.6%
1910 22,282 2.0%
1920 24,692 10.8%
1930 28,741 16.4%
1940 31,780 10.6%
1950 34,517 8.6%
1960 37,891 9.8%
1970 38,064 0.5%
1980 36,329 −4.6%
1990 33,060 −9.0%
2000 32,584 −1.4%
2010 31,255 −4.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information, see Minnesota Church Records.

Lutheran

  • The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($) has the following church records:
    • Concordia (Bear Lake) Lutheran Church, Twin Lakes
    • Concordia Lutheran Church, Albert Lea
    • First Lutheran Church, Albert Lea
    • Freeborn Lutheran Church, Clarks Grove
    • Lime Creek Lutheran Church, Emmons

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Freeborn County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Waseca CountySteele CountyDodge CountyMower CountyFaribault CountyWinnebago CountyWorth CountyMN FREEBORN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Mulitple Wars

Civil War
Civil War service men from Freeborn County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Freeborn County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Company H
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company C
- 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company F
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C
- 10th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company E
- 15th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K

Online Civil War Indexes and Records

Spanish-American War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Since Minnesota tax records include only persons who owned taxable property, many residents were not included. Still they complement land records and can be used in place of missing censuses or the years between censuses. There may also be gaps. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Freeborn County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Freeborn County. For state-wide library facilities, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Albert Lea Public Library
211 E Clark St
Albert Lea, MN 56007
507-377-4350
Email: alpl.library@gmail.com
Website

Wells Public Library
54 1st Street SW
Wells, MN 56097
507-553-3702
Email: tflnotices@tds.lib.mn.us
Website

Freeborn County Historical Museum and Library
1031 Bridge Ave
Albert Lea, MN 56007
507-373-8003
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Freeborn County Historical Museum and Library
1031 Bridge Ave
Albert Lea, MN 56007
507-373-8003
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Freeborn County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Minnesota Societies.

Freeborn County Genealogical Society
PO Box 403
1033 Bridge Ave
Albert Lea, MN 56007

Alden Community Historical Society
PO Box 323
Alden, MN 56009
website

Hollandale Area Historical Society
PO Box 184
Hollandale, MN 56045-0184
507-889-4491

Clarks Grove Area Heritage Society
PO Box 188
Clarks Grove, MN 56016-0188
Facebook

Southern Minnesota Historical Center
Mankato State University
Mankato, MN 56001
507-389-1029
email: archives@mnsu.edu
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library, accessed 1/14/2021
  2. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library, accessed 1/14/2021
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Freeborn County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freeborn_County,_Minnesota accessed 12 Nov 2018
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library, accessed 1/14/2021.
  7. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library, accessed 1/14/2021.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Freeborn County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freeborn_County,_Minnesota, accessed 27 January 2020.