To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox TN 51

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lewis County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hohenwald
Organized: December 21, 1843
Parent County(s): Hickman, Maury, Lawrence, Wayne[1]
Neighboring Counties
Hickman  • Lawrence  • Maury  • Perry  • Wayne
See County Maps
Courthouse
TNLewiscourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Lewis County, Tennessee.PNG
Adoption
TGW 45x45.jpg This user is a member of TNGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for explorer Meriwether Lewis, who died and was buried at Grinder's Stand near Hohenwald in 1809. The County is located in the south-central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Lewis County Courthouse
110 N Park Street
Hohenwald, TN 38462
Lewis County Courthouse Phone: 931-796-3734

Lewis County Clerk Phone: 931-796-2200
Lewis County Clerk & Master Phone: 931-796-3734
Lewis Circuit Court Clerk Phone: 931-796-3724

County Clerk has marriage records from 1881
Probate and court records
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records
Register of Deeds has land records. [3]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[4] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[5] (male)

Lewis County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1908 1847 1908 1844 1827 1846 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Lost marriage records: 1844 to November 1847
  • Lost probate records: 1844 to 1845

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Aethra Hohenwald Metal Ford Riverside
Allens Creek (hist.) Howard (hist.) Nancy (hist.) Ruppertown
Bachelder Kimmins Napier Salem
Blondy Kitchens Newberg (hist.) Shubert
Buffalo Valley Lomax Crossroads Oak Grove Springer Ridge (hist.)
Flat Rock (hist.) Lucerne (hist.) Palestine (hist.) Theodore
Gordonsburg McLean (hist.) Providence Voorhies

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Additional Information

Explorer Meriwether Lewis (1774-1809)

Middle Tennessee county. Established 1843.

The county is named after Explorer Meriwether Lewis (1774-1809).[8]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Lewis County.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lewis County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Lewis County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Lewis County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project®

1810-1891

1850

  • Lightfoot, Marise P. and Evelyn B. Shackelford. Maury County Neighbors Records of Giles, Lewis and Marshall Counties, Tennessee.Mt. Pleasant, Tennessee s.n., 1967. FHL 976.8 V22Ls

1880

  • Sistler, Byron. 1880 Census Lewis County, Tennessee.Nashville, Tennessee Byron Sistler & Associates, 1998. FHL 976.8432 X2s 1880

1890 Lost

Substitutes are available:

  • Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 8 1891. Lewis County is included in Vol. 8.
  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.

1891 Male Voters

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church of Christ

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Lewis (County), Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 7,000 entries.

  • Lewis County Historical Society. History and Families, Lewis County, Tennessee. Paducah, Ky.: Turner Pub. Co., 1995. FHL Book 976.8432 H2L.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

  • Lewis County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1844 and is located at the county Courthouse, 110 N Park St., Hohenwald, TN 38462; Telephone: (931) 796-2200. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
  • The Family History Library has microfilm copies of deeds 1844-1905 with indexes 1844-1926; land entries and surveys 1827-1883.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Hickman CountyMaury CountyLawrence CountyWayne CountyPerry CountyTN LEWIS.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

War of 1812

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Lewis County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lewis County:

Confederate Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Lewis County:

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Lewis County click on the following city:

  • 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.
  • 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s. (Largely Methodist?)

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The Lewis County Court has responsibility for the probate records.

Online Records


Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1844-1900 Lightfoot, Marise P. and Evelyn B. Shackelford. Maury County Neighbors: Records of Giles, Lewis and Marshall Counties, Tennessee. Mt. Pleasant, Tennessee: [N.p.], 1967. Indexed. Includes these Lewis County records: cemeteries, marriages, historical sketch, abstracts of wills and settlements 1844-1900, and 1850 census. (FHL book 976.8 V22Ls.)
  • 1842-1861 Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's probate records.
  • 1846-1936 Coleman, Brenda Willis. Tennessee, Lewis County Court Clerk Wills, Nov 1846-1936. Atoka, Tenn.: B.W. Coleman, 199-?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8432 P2c.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Book Abstracts and Indexes[9]

  • 1854 Tax List, 1854, River Counties, Vol. 12, Nos. 1-4 (1983).
  • 1887 Tax List, 1887, River Counties, Vol. 9, Nos. 1-4 (1980).
  • 1917 Tax List, 1917, River Counties, Vol. 10, Nos. 1-4 (1981); Vol. 12, Nos. 1-4 (1983).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online indexes and Records


Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1844-1880 - Early Middle Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2sb v. 2 ff. Indexes names of brides, grooms, and marriage dates for this county for specified years.

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Lewis County Public Library
15 Kyle Ave.
Hohenwald, TN 38462
Phone: 931-796-5365
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Lewis County Historical Society
PO Box 703
Hohenwald, TN 38462
Phone: 931-796-3505
Facebook

Meriwether Lewis Chapter Lewis and Clark Trail Heritage Foundation
P.O. Box 145
Hohenwald, TN 38462
Phone: 931-796-5365 or 931-796-5654
E-mail: pchoate@tfbol.com or chapter@meriwetherlewis.net
Website

Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
website

The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Lewis County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Lewis, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lewis_County,_Tennessee accessed 24 Dec 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  5. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  9. The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/88/Igitennesseel.pdf.