To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox TN 58

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Marion County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Jasper
Organized: November 20, 1817
Parent County(s): Cherokee Indian Lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Dade (GA)  • Franklin  • Grundy  • Hamilton  • Jackson (AL)  • Sequatchie
See County Maps
Courthouse
TNMarioncourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Marion County, Tennessee.PNG
Adoption
TGW 45x45.jpg This user is a member of TNGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named Francis Marion. The County is located in the southeast central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Courthouse
1 Courthouse Square
Jasper, TN 37347
Marion County Courthouse Phone: 423-942-2515

Marion Clerk & Master Phone: 423-942-2601
Marion Register Of Deeds Phone: 423 942 2573
Marion County Clerk
24 Courthouse Square, Room 101
Jasper, TN 37347
Marion County Clerk Phone: 423-942-2515

County Clerk has marriage records from 1919 and probate records from 1874.
Register of Deeds has land records. [3]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[4] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[5] (male)

Marion County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1908 1881 1908 1842 1819 1874 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1922 Courthouse was destroyed by fire in August 1922; only records from the registrar's office and the county court clerk's office were saved.[7]

  • Lost marriage records: 1817 to 1880
  • Lost probate records: 1817 to 1875

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1817--Marion County was created 20 November 1817 from Cherokee Indian Lands.
  • County seat: Jasper[8]

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Cedar Springs Inman Nickletown Shirleyton
Clifftops Jasper Oak Grove Smithtown
Comfort Ketchall (hist.) Orme South Pittsburg
Condra Ketner Mill Pine Hill Stanley
Dixie Lee Kimball Pinhook Suck Creek
East Hill Ladds Powells Crossroads Sulphur Springs
Ebenezer Martin Springs Rankin Cove Sweetens Cove
Elder Mountain Mineral Springs Raulstontown The Crossroads
Glover Hill Monteagle Red Hill Victoria
Greentown Mountain (hist.) Richard City Vulcan
Griffith Creek Mount Olive Sequatchie Whiteside
Haletown New Hope Shake Rag Whitwell
Hamburg Nickajack (hist.) Shellmound (hist.)

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Additional Information

"The Swamp Fox" Brig. Gen. Francis Marion (c1732-1795)

Marion County is located in south-eastern Tennessee, and encompasses about five hundred square miles. It was established in 1817. The county borders both Georgia and Alabama.

The county is named after "The Swamp Fox" Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Marion (c1732-1795).[9]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Miller, Alan N. East Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1778 to 1911. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2000. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2m. Digital version at World Vital Records ($). Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes Marion County.
  • Tennesse Bureau of Agriculture, Statistics and Mines. Coal Mines and Mining--Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: A.B. Travel, 1883. Free digital copy.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Marion County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Marion County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Marion County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project®

For a map of Marion County census districts see Marion County Census Districts.

1810-1891

1820 Lost[10]

1820 Manufactures

The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518.

The following book is a useful aid for finding the original records. Aonline index, provided by Lineages, will help researchers determine if this resource can be of assistance:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. Covers this county.

1830

1840

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

1850

1860

  • Goins, Sara Agee and Norma Jean Dennis Hobbs. 1860 Census, Marion County, Tennessee. Dunlap, Tenn.: Goins and Hobbs Genealogy Service, 1986. FHL US/CAN Book 976.879 X2g 1860.

1870

  • Goins, Sara Agee and Norma Jean Dennis Hobbs. 1870 Census, Marion County, Tennessee. Dunlap, Tenn.: Goins and Hobbs Genealogy Service, 1986. FHL US/CAN Book 976.879 X2g 1870.

1880

1891 Male Voters

1900

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

The first court of Marion County was held in the house of John Shropshire in what is now Whitwell in 1817. After the Shropshire house, the court was held for one year in the old Cheek house, a two-story double log house located south of Whitwell in a place called Cheekville, later named Liberty, where court had been held while this county was still in North Carolina. In 1819 the county seat was moved to the town of Jasper.

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

As of August 2010, a query for Search persons born in Marion (County), Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 30,000 entries.

  • Douthat, James L. Sequatchie Families: Biographical Sketches of the Earlier Settlers of the Sequeatchie Valley of Tennessee. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: J.L. Douthat, 1983. FHL US/CAN Book 976.87 D3d.
  • Harris, Euline. Ancestor Charts: Marion County, Tennessee. 2 vols. Whitwell, Tenn.: E. Harris, 1993. FHL US/CAN Book 976.879 D2h ff.
  • Stewart - Blakemore, Mary Stewart. A Narrative Genealogy of the Stewarts of Sequatchie Valley, Tennessee, and Allied Families. Richmond, Va.: Dietz Press, 1960. FHL Book 929.273 St49b; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
  • Who's Who in TN courtesy of TNGenWeb

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Sequatchie Valley

Marion County's original Deed Books are kept at the County Courthouse. In 1969, TSLA microfilmed Deed Books A to WW (1819-1915). FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 593422-593443.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Raulston, J. Leonard and James Weston Livingood. Sequatchie: A Story of the Southern Cumberlands. Knoxville, Tenn.: University of Tennessee Press, 1974. FHL US/CAN Book 976.87 H2r.


Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Grundy CountySequatchie CountyHamilton CountyFranklin CountyJackson CountyDade CountyWalker CountyTN MARION.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
The following Marion County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional resources include:

War of 1812

  • Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan. 1961):20-23. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. Includes Marion County pensioners (pp. 21-22).
  • War of 1812 Veterans, Natchez Trace Traveler, Vol. 8, No. 4 (Nov. 1988).

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Marion County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marion County:

Confederate Soldiers

Union Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Marion County:

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Marion County:

Map showing Civil War battles in Tennessee.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

  • East Tennessee Roots: Several genealogical articles with abstracts of RogersBA/Sandbox TN 58 records have been published in East Tennessee Roots (10 vols.). A subject index to these articles is available online. Surname indexes to Volumes 9 and 10 are also available online. The Family History Library has collected most issues of East Tennessee Roots FHL Book 976.8 D25e.
  • The Searcher: The Family History Library has Volume 2, no 3 (Dec 1990) - volume 15, no. 4 (winter 2003). FHL US/CAN 976.879 D25s This serial ceased publication on 15 February 2004. For further information see website: Marion County Genealogical Group. Indexed in PERiodical Source Index

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Marion County's original will books are kept at the County Courthouse. Wills proved before 1875 do not survive. In 1969, TSLA microfilmed extant wills covering the years 1875 to 1968. FHL copy: FHL Film 593420.

Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

The original Marion County Tax Books, Assessment Roll, 1875, and Tax Duplicate 1903-1904 are kept at the County Courthouse. In 1969, TSLA microfilmed these records. FHL copy: FHL US/CAN Film 593446.

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1836 Harris, Euline. 1836 Tax List for Marion County, Tennessee. Whitwell, Tenn.: E. Harris, n.d. FHL US/CAN Book 976.879 R4h.
  • 1836 Douthat, James L. Marion County, Tennessee, 1836 Tennessee Civil District and Tax Lists. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1993. FHL US/CAN Book 976.879 R4d; online: index and purchase details.
  • 1836 "Taxpayers, by District, 1836," Southern Roots & Shoots, Vol. 12, No. 3 (1996).
  • 1836 Harris, Euline. "1836 Marion County Tax List," available online, courtesy: RootsWeb. Source: TSLA microfilm; links to online 1836 Civil District Map.
  • 1853 "Revenue Docket, Claims, Licenses, 1853," Searcher, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Winter 1995).
  • 1854 "District One Tax List, 1854," Searcher, Vol. 13, No. 1 (Spring 2001).
  • 1856-1859 - "Revenue and Execution Docket, 1856-59," Searcher, Vol. 11, No. 4 (Winter 1999).
  • 1891 "Poll Tax, 1891," Searcher, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Summer 1995); Vol. 7, No. 2 (Fall 1995).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Note that no birth records were recorded in Marion County in 1913.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Note that no death records were recorded in Marion County in 1913.

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Books Online;

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Jasper Public Library
14 West Second St.
Jasper, TN 37347
Phone: 423-942-3369
Fax: 423-942-6383
Website Facebook

Beene-Pearson Public Library
208 Elm Ave.
South Pittsburg, TN 37380
Phone: 423-837-6513

Orena Humphreys Public Library
900 Main Street, Suite 1
Whitwell, TN 37397
Phone: 423-658-6134

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

South Pittsburg Historic Preservation Society
P.O. Box 175
South Pittsburg, Tennessee 37380
Phone: 423-837-8327
E-mail: information@historicsouthpittsburgtn.org
Website

East Tennessee Historical Society
601 S. Gay St.
P.O. Box 1629
Knoxville, Tennessee 37901-1629
Phone: 865-215-8824
E-mail: eths@east-tennessee-history.org
Website

Marion County Genealogical and Historical Group
6611 Old Dunlap Rd.
Whitwell, TN 37397
Phone: 423-658-5770
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Marion, Tennessee" in Wikipedia accessed 27 Dec 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat);FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  5. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 13 March 2016).
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. "Francis Marion," Wikipedia.
  10. Mary Barnett Curtis, Early East Tennessee Tax Lists: a compiled list of residents of the area covered in 22 east Tennessee counties for which there is (sic) no census records prior to 1830 (Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing, 1964). FHL 976.8 R4c
  11. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State.