User:Terriethomas/Sandbox/code4

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
France Wiki Topics
Flag of France.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
France Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for France is SugdenHG
Bas-Rhin-France.png

Guide to Bas-Rhin ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers.

History[edit | edit source]

Bas-Rhin is one of the original 83 departments created on 4 March 1790, during the French Revolution. In the mid-1790s, following the French occupation of the entire left bank of the Rhine, the northern boundary of the department was extended north beyond the Lauter River to the Queich River. With Napoleon's second defeat in 1815, the Congress of Vienna reassigned the areas north of the Lauter to Bavaria, and those territories are now presently located in the neighboring German state of Rheinland-Pfalz. The department has twice been incorporated into Germany, from 1871 after France's defeat in the Franco-Prussian War until the end of World War I in 1918, and then again briefly during World War II from 1940 to 1945.
[1]

Localities[edit | edit source]

Church Records and Civil Registration (Registres Paroissiaux et Etat Civil) Online[edit | edit source]

The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. For more information on these records and how to use them, read France Church Records and France Civil Registration. Additional instructions and practice activities are available:

Fortunately, these records are available online from the archives of each department:
Here is the website for the Department Archives of Bas-Rhin, where you will find these records.

See Using France Online Department Archives for step by step instructions on finding and reading these records. For a demonstration of navigating archives websites, watch the video, Using France Department Archives Online.

Online Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records can support your search in civil and church records. They can help identify all family members. When families have similar names they help determine which children belong in each family. See France Census.

Online Local Databases and Extracted Records[edit | edit source]

Groups devoted to genealogy have also extracted and/or indexed records for specific localities, time periods, religious groups, etc. Since church records at the departmental archives are generally not indexed, you might find an index here that will speed up your searching.

Microfilm Records of the FamilySearch Library[edit | edit source]

The church and civil registration records have all been microfilmed. Currently, they are being digitized, and plans are to complete that project by 2020. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you. To find a microfilm: Click on Bas-Rhin , find and click on "Places within France, Bas-Rhin," and choose your locality from the list.

Writing for Records[edit | edit source]

Online records tend to cover only the time before 100 years, due to privacy laws. You can write to civil registration offices and local churches who might honor requests for more recent records of close family members for the purpose of genealogy.

For a civil registration office, address your request to:

Monsieur l'officier de l'état-civil
Mairie de (Town)
(Postal code) (Town)
France

For a parish church:

Monsieur le Curé
(Church --see The Catholic Directory for church name and address)
(Town) (Postal Code) France

For other addresses and for help writing your request in French, use French Letter Writing Guide.

Learning to Read Enough French, German, or Latin to Do Genealogy[edit | edit source]

It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French or German to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Because this region once belonged to Germany, many records are written in German.

German[edit | edit source]

Here are some resources for learning to read German Records:

French[edit | edit source]

Here are some resources for learning to read French records.

There is a three-lesson course in reading handwriting in old French records:

These lessons focus on reading church record and civil registration records:

Another resource is the French Records Extraction Manual, with this linked Table of Contents. You will be able to practice on actual documents.

Latin[edit | edit source]

Some Catholic church records will be in Latin.

Search Strategy[edit | edit source]

  • Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth record, search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
  • Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
  • You can estimate the ages of the parents and determine a birth year to search for their birth records.
  • Search the death registers for all known family members.
  • Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
  • If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.

Genealogical Societies and Help Groups[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

  • Emigration und Nationalgüterveräusserungen im Pfälzischen Teil des Departements du Bas-Rhin FHL Book 943.43 R2m
    The settlement of and purchase of government land by private individuals in the Pfalz region of Germany during the French occupation from 1791 to 1815
  • Répertoire numérique détaillé de la série Q, domaines nationaux FHL Film 908803, book 944.3835 A5rn ser. Q
    Numerical index to the departmental archives of the Bas-Rhin, series Q, national lands

Military[edit | edit source]

  • Les Bas-Rhinois dans les armées de la Révolution et du 1er Empire FHL Book 944.3835 M2L
  • Registres militaires et tableaux de recensement, 1817-1856 FHL 50 rolls
    A census of 19 and 20 year old males from the arrondisements of: Saverne, Sélestat, Strasbourg and Wissembourg

Notarial records[edit | edit source]

  • Numerical index of the notarial archives of the former area of Basse- Alsace, now in the department of Bas-Rhin, France. Includes an index of notaries and clientele. (Répertoire numérique des archives notariales de Basse Alsace) FHL Film 962552 Item 2

Schools[edit | edit source]

  • Directory of the Evangelical Lutheran clergy, parishes, communities, and schools of higher learning, 1525-1694. (Die evangeliche Gemeinden und Hohen Schulen in Elsass und Lothringen von der Reformation bis zur Gegenwart) FHL Film 1045340 Item 4, Book 943 B4b v. 16

Taxation[edit | edit source]

  • Register of the revenue and list of taxpayers for the bailliage of Uffried. (Registres des revenus du bailliage de l'Uffried, 1561) FHL Film 1165973 Item 2
    Includes registers of Stattmatten, Dalhunden, Sessenheim, Rountzenheim, Roeschwoog, and Roppenheim.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

[[Category:Bas-Rhin, France]]



Yemen Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the governorate level in the Yemen.

Yemen, administrative divisions.png

Governorates[edit | edit source]

Yemen is divided into 22 governorates (muhafazat, singular - muhafazah):

  1. Saada
  2. Al Jawf
  3. Hadhramaut (mainland) and Socotra (off-shore)
  4. Al Mahrah
  5. Hajjah
  6. 'Amran
  7. Al Mahwit
  8. Amanat Al Asimah (Sana'a City)
  9. Sana'a
  10. Ma'rib
  11. Al Hudaydah
  12. Raymah
  13. Dhamar
  14. Ibb
  15. Dhale
  16. Al Bayda
  17. Shabwah
  18. Taiz
  19. Lahij
  20. Abyan
  21. Aden
  22. Socotra
  • For electoral and administrative purposes, the capital city of Sanaa is treated as an additional governorate.

Syria Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Syria. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Syria governates.png

  1. Latakia
  2. Idlib
  3. Aleppo
  4. Al-Raqqah
  5. Al-Hasakah
  6. Tartus
  7. Hama
  8. Deir ez-Zor
  9. Homs
  10. Damascus
  11. Rif Dimashq
  12. Quneitra
  13. Daraa
  14. Al-Suwayda

Probate Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Aust-Agdernew.jpg

Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Faurås härad
  • Fjäre härad
  • Halmstads härad
  • Himle härad
  • Höks härad
  • Tönnersjö härad
  • Viske härad
  • Årstads härad


Probate Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Aust-Agdernew.jpg



Probate Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Buskerud


Ports of Arrival[edit | edit source]

Major Ports
Atlantic and Gulf Coast Ports
Baltimore, Maryland
Boston, Massachusetts
Detroit, Michigan
New Orleans, Louisiana Genealogy
New York City, New York
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Minor Ports by State
Alabama
Alaska
California
Connecticut
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Louisiana
Maine

Maryland
Massachusetts
Mississippi
New York (not New York City)
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
Texas
Washington
Wisconsin

Ports of Arrival[edit | edit source]

Major Ports
Atlantic and Gulf Coast Ports
Baltimore
Maryland
Boston
Massachusetts
Detroit
Michigan
New Orleans, Louisiana Genealogy
New York City, New York
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Minor Ports by State
Alabama
Alaska
California
Connecticut
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Louisiana
Maine

Maryland
Massachusetts
Mississippi
New York (not New York City)
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
Texas
Washington
Wisconsin


|valign="top" align="left" |

By Locality[edit | edit source]

If you know where your ancestor lived at the time of the alleged Indian connection, go to the page for the Indians of that state or province by clicking on the link below.

States[edit | edit source]

Provinces of Canada[edit | edit source]

By Tribe[edit | edit source]

Vital Records of Each State[edit | edit source]

Vital Records in U.S. Territories[edit | edit source]

Territories

  • Northern Mariana Islands flag.png Northern
    Mariana Islands

Former Territories

  • Cuba flag.png Cuba
  • Marshall Islands flag.png Marshall Islands


Vital Records of Each State[edit | edit source]

Vital Records in U.S. Territories[edit | edit source]

Territories[edit | edit source]

Former Territories[edit | edit source]

States[edit | edit source]

Department names and abbreviations for the 14 Salvadoran Departments:


Nicaragua Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Nicaragua.

Nicaragua admin divisions map.png


Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Nicaragua. Departments:

  • Boaco
  • Carazo
  • Chinandega
  • Chontales
  • Estelí
  • Granada
  • Jinotega
  • León
  • Madriz
  • Managua
  • Masaya
  • Matagalpa
  • Nueva Segovia
  • Rivas
  • Río San Juan
  • North Caribbean Coast Autonomous Region
  • South Caribbean Coast Autonomous Region

Honduras Clickable Map[edit | edit source]

Click on the map or the list below to learn research resources for specific departments.

CopánSanta BárbaraOcotepequeLempiraIntibucáLa PazComayaguaYoroFrancisco MorazánEl ParaísoValleCholutecaOlanchoGracias a DiosColónCortésAtlántidaBay Islands (Islas de la Bahia)Un-honduras.png

Departments[edit | edit source]

Departments[edit | edit source]

Guatemala Clickable Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Guatemala. Click on a department in the map for instructions and links to records for the department. By hovering over the number, you can verify the name of the department.


Petén Department, Guatemala GenealogyPetén Department, Guatemala GenealogyHuehuetenango Department, Guatemala GenealogyQuiche Department, Guatemala GenealogyAlta Verapaz Department, Guatemala GenealogyBaja Verapaz Department, Guatemala GenealogySan Marcos Department, Guatemala GenealogyQuetzaltenango Department, Guatemala GenealogyTotonicapán Department, Guatemala GenealogySololá Department, Guatemala GenealogyRetalhuleu Department, Guatemala GenealogySuchitepéquez Department, Guatemala GenealogyChimaltenango Department, Guatemala GenealogySacatepéquez Department, Guatemala GenealogyGuatemala Department, Guatemala GenealogyEscuintla Department, Guatemala GenealogySanta Rosa Department, Guatemala GenealogyJutiapa Department, Guatemala GenealogyJalapa Department, Guatemala GenealogyChiquimula Department, Guatemala GenealogyEl Progreso Department, Guatemala GenealogyZacapa Department, Guatemala GenealogyIzabal Department, Guatemala GenealogyHuehuetenango Department, Guatemala GenealogyQuiche Department, Guatemala GenealogyAlta Verapaz Department, Guatemala GenealogyBaja Verapaz Department, Guatemala GenealogySan Marcos Department, Guatemala GenealogyQuetzaltenango Department, Guatemala GenealogyTotonicapán Department, Guatemala GenealogySololá Department, Guatemala GenealogyRetalhuleu Department, Guatemala GenealogySuchitepéquez Department, Guatemala GenealogyChimaltenango Department, Guatemala GenealogySacatepéquez Department, Guatemala GenealogyGuatemala Department, Guatemala GenealogyEscuintla Department, Guatemala GenealogySanta Rosa Department, Guatemala GenealogyJutiapa Department, Guatemala GenealogyJalapa Department, Guatemala GenealogyChiquimula Department, Guatemala GenealogyEl Progreso Department, Guatemala GenealogyZacapa Department, Guatemala GenealogyIzabal Department, Guatemala GenealogyDepartments-of-Guatemala.jpg


Departments[edit | edit source]

The largest jurisdictions in Guatemala are called 'Departments' (departamentos). These are analogous to States or Provinces in other countries. There are 22 Departments of Guatemala.



El Salvador Map[edit | edit source]

Un-el-salvador.png

States[edit | edit source]

Department names and abbreviations for the 14 Salvadoran Departments:

  • AH - Ahuachapán
  • CA - Cabañas
  • CH - Chalatenango
  • CU - Cuscatlán
  • LI - La Libertad
  • PA- La Paz
  • UN - La Unión
  • MO - Morazán
  • SM - San Miguel
  • SS - San Salvador
  • SV - San Vicente
  • SA - Santa Ana
  • SO - Sonsonate
  • US - Usulután

State of Palestine Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the State of Palestine.
State of Palestine map.jpg

Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the State of Palestine.

  • Jenin
  • Tubas
  • Tulkarm
  • Nablus
  • Qalqiliya
  • Salfit 204
  • Ramallah & Al-Bireh
  • Jericho & Al Aghwar
  • Jerusalem
  • Bethlehem
  • Hebron
  • North Gaza
  • Gaza
  • Deir Al-Balah
  • Khan Yunis
  • Rafah

Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the State of Palestine.

  • Jenin
  • Tubas
  • Tulkarm
  • Nablus
  • Qalqiliya
  • Salfit 204
  • Ramallah & Al-Bireh
  • Jericho & Al Aghwar
  • Jerusalem
  • Bethlehem
  • Hebron
  • North Gaza
  • Gaza
  • Deir Al-Balah
  • Khan Yunis
  • Rafah

Egypt Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Egypt.

Egypt governates.png
  1. Matrouh
  2. Alexandria
  3. Beheira
  4. Kafr el-Sheikh
  5. Dakahlia
  6. Damietta
  7. Port Said
  8. North Sinai
  9. Gharbia
  10. Monufia
  11. Qalyubia
  12. Al Sharqia
  13. Ismailia
  14. Giza
  15. Faiyum
  16. Cairo
  17. Suez
  18. South Sinai
  19. Beni Suef
  20. Minya
  21. New Valley
  22. Asyut
  23. Red Sea
  24. Sohag
  25. Qena
  26. Luxor
  27. Aswan

U.S. Church Records[edit | edit source]

The United States is a country of religious diversity. Unlike many other countries, there has been no “state church,” except for a few periods in some of the early colonies.

Church records in the United States began in the early 1600s. Unfortunately, the United States did not require a civil registration or recording of births, marriages, and deaths until into the 20th Century. Sometimes church records are the only records containing birth, marriage and death about individuals. Therefore, they are a valuable substitute when vital records do not exist.

Your ancestor may have changed denominations for reasons of convenience or conviction. When the family moved to a new community, they may have started attending a church located there, or they may have changed denominations by conversion.

For more information see the history of American Churches.

To learn more about the church records and their repositories, click on a state below.

Court Records by State[edit | edit source]


Directories by State[edit | edit source]

State Military Records[edit | edit source]



United States Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Newspapers in the States[edit | edit source]

Territories and Federal Districts[edit | edit source]

Probate by State[edit | edit source]


State African American Pages[edit | edit source]

Native American Topics
BuffaloHunters.jpg
Buffalo Hunt under the Wolf-Skin Mask
Beginning Research
Tribes
Record Types
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Other Topics

Contents

Cheyenne Indians: Henry Roman Nose, Yellow Bear, and Lame Man.



AI ORP.png






Introduction[edit | edit source]

"The key to success in American Indian genealogy is the cross-disciplinary approach. One cannot just be a genealogist who pours through public records. Only the very lucky will find a census record with a notation that so-and-so was a Choctaw Indian. The task requires an expanded thought process where one must investigate all possibilities without tiring of the effort. The history of the family, community, county and state must be known. Church and local records must be examined for any clue regarding family origins. A successful researcher must also have an intimate knowledge of tribal history and culture. This is a very big order, indeed especially for the small splinter groups that dot the southern map. The quest can be a noble and romantic endeavor. At the least, one can come away with a great body of knowledge of the first American. At most, one can find that allusive [sic] Native American ancestor."[1]


Getting Started[edit | edit source]

American Indian Genealogy is a guide to beginning Native American research, available records types, BIA (Bureau of Indian Affairs) agencies and reservations, census, church, military records, schools, annuity, allotment, treaties, removal records, archives and libraries, cultural groups, and forts.
 Several approaches could be taken to locate information about a potential American Indian ancestor.

If the name of the tribe with which the ancestor was associated is known, a researcher should study the history and culture of that tribe and locate the records created by various records jurisdictions for that tribe.

  • If the tribe is not known, a more logical approach would be to determine the tribes associated with the locality or localities where the ancestor resided. In this case, sometimes only the state is known. Occasionally a county of residence is known. In either case, the records of that locality should be searched until the association of the ancestor is established or at least strongly suspected.
  • If a residence close to a reservation or a Bureau of Indian Affairs agency is known, the history of the reservation or agency and the location of records they generated could be studied.

Many records were created by the Bureau of Indian Affairs and their various offices. Many of those records have been preserved by the National Archives of the United States and its regional archives. Some of those records have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Some of the records are also being digitized and indexed by internet websites and by commercial companies.

There are also other jurisdictions that recorded information about the American Indians, including churches, schools, hospitals, and others. Each of these jurisdictions may have records of individual Indians and should be studied.

By Locality[edit | edit source]

If you know where your ancestor lived at the time of the alleged Indian connection, go to the page for the Indians of that state or province by clicking on the link below.

States[edit | edit source]

Provinces of Canada[edit | edit source]

By Tribe[edit | edit source]

There are over 550 federally recognized Tribal entities in the United States and are usually called tribes or nations. There are also many more Indian groups, sometimes called bands, some of which are included in the federally recognized tribal entities. In addition to those recognized by the federal government, there are tribes that are state-recognized, tribes that are seeking official recognition, and tribes that have existed historically that are no longer recognized as a distinct tribe.

There are approximately 630 "First Nations" recognized by the Canadian government, some of which reside on the US/Canadian border and are closely related to some of the tribes in the United States.

The page for each state of the United States lists the known tribes who reside in or had historical connection to that state. A separate page exists for many of the tribes listed on the state pages. If you know the name of the tribe with which your family is connected, you may simply search for the name of the tribe.

The Tribal Office of each tribe maintains many records of value to the American Indian researcher. Most of the tribes require enrollment in the tribe before they allow access to the records of its members.

Some of the major tribes of the United States are listed here.

By BIA Office[edit | edit source]

Agencies and Sub Agencies Agencies of the Bureau of Indian Affairs are the field offices of that federal bureau. They are normally the office that recorded most of the records pertaining to individual Indians. They are listed under the pages for the Indians of [state], the tribes they served, the name of the agency, and the reservation for which they were the field office. They are also cross-linked among these pages.

Sub-Agencies normally served smaller jurisdictions or tribes than the agencies and were subordinate to an agency.

U.S. Department of the Interior Indian Affairs BIA Regional, Agency, and Field Offices Map

BIA Regional Offices page links to twelve regions: Alaska, Eastern, Eastern Oklahoma, Great Plains, Midwest, Navajo, Northwest, Pacific, Rocky Mountain, Southern Plains, Southwest, and Western; site map, with listing of Tribes served, and agencies

Area Offices. Area Offices of the BIA are administrative offices. They kept many records, but most of the files regarding individuals are kept at the agency level or in the Tribal Offices of each tribe.

Superintendencies. Historically, the Bureau of Indian Affairs used an administrative office called a superintendency to oversee the local agencies and sub agencies. Most of them were abolished in the 1870s and, for a time, the agencies reported directly to the Commissioner of Indian Affairs in Washington, DC. The records of the superintendencies usually consist primarily of correspondence and reports of the BIA Field Offices.

By Reservation[edit | edit source]

There are or have been hundreds of Indian Reservations in the United States. Many of them are federally recognized and supervised. Some are state reservations, administered by a state office of Indian Affairs. Federal reservations usually have an agency of the Bureau of Indian Affairs responsible for the administration of that reservation.

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

There are many research facilities which have significant collections of American Indian records. See also American Indian Archives and Libraries. A few of the larger ones are listed below. Some university libraries and historical societies have significant and unique collections for their areas of interest.

Archives

Records of the native population can be found in several archives, including the National Archives and its regional archives, state archives, and other archival institutions.

Historical Societies

Libraries

Many libraries have special collections of materials regarding the local American Indian groups. Some of the larger libraries have very large collections of such material.

Record Keepers[edit | edit source]

Federal. Several federal departments have historically kept Indian records:

  • Department of War
  • Department of Interior
  • Department of State (Territorial)
  • Bureau of Indian Affairs since 1947, and its forerunner, the Office of Indian Affairs, from 1824 to 1947, have been the primary offices of the federal government responsible for the administration of Indian Affairs in the United States. They also generated the largest amount of records regarding individual Indians.

States. Nearly every state in the United States has an Office of Indian Affairs, although their title may vary from one state to another. These offices coordinate affairs between their state's government and the tribal governments. They also have particular responsibility for any tribes recognized by the state that are not federally recognized. For a list of contact information for each state, click here.

Churches. Several denominations sent missionaries among the Native Americans, often establishing American Indian Missions, some of which evolved into long-standing congregations on or near Indian reservations. Read more...

Schools. Many schools were established for the education of American Indian children, including boarding school, day schools, mission schools, and many others. Read more...

Health Facilities. The Bureau of Indian Affairs established health facilities for American Indians at many locations throughout the United States. Read more...

See Also[edit | edit source]

Related Wiki pages are found at:

Native American

Indians of the United States

Five Civilized Tribes

Did You Know?[edit | edit source]

  • American Indians served in every U.S. Military conflict from the Revolutionary War to the present. Many served as scouts for the United States Army during many of their skirmishes with other Indians.
  • In 1902 the Commissioner of the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) sent a circular letter to all field agents giving them instructions to systematize the surnames of all Indians under their charge.
  • The Indian Reorganization Act (also known as the Wheeler-Howard Act) of 1934 established the right for most Indian tribes of the United States to govern their own affairs through the establishment of their own tribal governments, tribal councils, and tribal offices.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Join the Facebook American Indian (Southeastern US) Genealogy Research Community!

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Thomas J. Blumer, "Practical Pointers in Tracing Your Indian Ancestry in the Southeast," Journal of the Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, 13 (Spring/Fall 1994): 67-82.
  2. ↑ OU Search: American Indian manuscrips and published records in University of Oklahoma (accessed 11 May 2016).
  3. ↑ History of the Apaches in University of Arizona Special Collections (accessed 11 May 2016)
  4. ↑ Search: American Indian Collection in Brigham Young University (accessed 11 May 2016)
v • d • e
Links to Indigenous Peoples of the US-related articles
Tribes
Record
Types
BIA
Topics
State
Indian
Pages
Alabama • Alaska • Arizona • Arkansas • California • Colorado • Connecticut • Delaware • Florida • Georgia • Idaho • Illinois • Indiana • Iowa • Kansas • Kentucky • Louisiana • Maine • Maryland • Massachusetts • Michigan • Minnesota • Mississippi • Missouri • Montana • Nebraska • Nevada • New Hampshire • New Jersey • New Mexico • New York • North Carolina • North Dakota • Ohio • Oklahoma • Oregon • Pennsylvania • Rhode Island • South Carolina • South Dakota • Tennessee • Texas • Utah • Vermont • Virginia • Washington • West Virginia • Wisconsin • Wyoming
Reser-
vations
by State
v • d • e
Links to United States-related articles
Topics
States
Territories
Major
Repositories
Migration
Routes






States[edit | edit source]

Provinces of Canada[edit | edit source]

U.S. Church Records[edit | edit source]

The United States is a country of religious diversity. Unlike many other countries, there has been no “state church,” except for a few periods in some of the early colonies.

Church records in the United States began in the early 1600s. Unfortunately, the United States did not require a civil registration or recording of births, marriages, and deaths until into the 20th Century. Sometimes church records are the only records containing birth, marriage and death about individuals. Therefore, they are a valuable substitute when vital records do not exist.

Your ancestor may have changed denominations for reasons of convenience or conviction. When the family moved to a new community, they may have started attending a church located there, or they may have changed denominations by conversion.

For more information see the history of American Churches.

To learn more about the church records and their repositories, click on a state below.

  • Alabama flag.png  Alabama
  • Alaska flag.png  Alaska
  • Arizona flag.png  Arizona
  • Arkansas flag.png  Arkansas
  • California flag.png  California
  • Colorado flag.png  Colorado
  • Connecticut flag.png  Connecticut
  • Delaware flag.png  Delaware
  • District of Columbia flag.png  District of Columbia
  • Florida flag.png  Florida
  • Georgia flag.png  Georgia
  • Hawaii flag.png  Hawaii
  • Idaho flag.png  Idaho
  • Illinois flag.png  Illinois
  • Indiana flag.png  Indiana
  • Iowa flag.png  Iowa
  • Kansas flag.png  Kansas
    		•
  • Kentucky flag.png  Kentucky
  • Louisiana flag.png  Louisiana
  • Maine flag.png  Maine
  • Maryland flag.png  Maryland
  • Massachusetts flag.png  Massachusetts
  • Michigan flag.png  Michigan
  • Minnesota flag.png  Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri flag.png  Missouri
  • Montana flag.png  Montana
  • Nebraska flag.png  Nebraska
  • Nevada flag.png  Nevada
  • New Hampshire flag.png  New Hampshire
  • New Jersey flag.png  New Jersey
  • New Mexico flag.png  New Mexico
  • New York flag.png  New York
  • North Carolina flag.png  North Carolina
    		•
  • North Dakota flag.png  North Dakota
  • Ohio flag.png  Ohio
  • Oklahoma flag.png  Oklahoma
  • Oregon flag.png  Oregon
  • Pennsylvania flag.png  Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island flag.png  Rhode Island
  • South Carolina flag.png  South Carolina
  • South Dakota flag.png  South Dakota
  • Tennessee flag.png  Tennessee
  • Texas flag.png  Texas
  • Utah flag.png  Utah
  • Vermont flag.png  Vermont
  • Virginia flag.png  Virginia
  • Washington flag.png  Washington
  • West Virginia flag.png  West Virginia
  • Wisconsin flag.png  Wisconsin
  • Wyoming flag.png  Wyoming

    • Directories by State
    [edit | edit source]

  • Alabama flag.png  Alabama
  • Alaska flag.png  Alaska
  • Arizona flag.png  Arizona
  • Arkansas flag.png  Arkansas
  • California flag.png  California
  • Colorado flag.png  Colorado
  • Connecticut flag.png  Connecticut
  • Delaware flag.png  Delaware
  • District of Columbia flag.png  District of Columbia
  • Florida flag.png  Florida
  • Georgia flag.png  Georgia
  • Hawaii flag.png  Hawaii
  • Idaho flag.png  Idaho
  • Illinois flag.png  Illinois
  • Indiana flag.png  Indiana
  • Iowa flag.png  Iowa
  • Kansas flag.png  Kansas
    		•
  • Kentucky flag.png  Kentucky
  • Louisiana flag.png  Louisiana
  • Maine flag.png  Maine
  • Maryland flag.png  Maryland
  • Massachusetts flag.png  Massachusetts
  • Michigan flag.png  Michigan
  • Minnesota flag.png  Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri flag.png  Missouri
  • Montana flag.png  Montana
  • Nebraska flag.png  Nebraska
  • Nevada flag.png  Nevada
  • New Hampshire flag.png  New Hampshire
  • New Jersey flag.png  New Jersey
  • New Mexico flag.png  New Mexico
  • New York flag.png  New York
  • North Carolina flag.png  North Carolina
    		•
  • North Dakota flag.png  North Dakota
  • Ohio flag.png  Ohio
  • Oklahoma flag.png  Oklahoma
  • Oregon flag.png  Oregon
  • Pennsylvania flag.png  Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island flag.png  Rhode Island
  • South Carolina flag.png  South Carolina
  • South Dakota flag.png  South Dakota
  • Tennessee flag.png  Tennessee
  • Texas flag.png  Texas
  • Utah flag.png  Utah
  • Vermont flag.png  Vermont
  • Virginia flag.png  Virginia
  • Washington flag.png  Washington
  • West Virginia flag.png  West Virginia
  • Wisconsin flag.png  Wisconsin
  • Wyoming flag.png  Wyoming

    • State African American Pages[edit | edit source]


    State Military Records[edit | edit source]

    United States[edit | edit source]

  • Alabama flag.png  Alabama
  • Alaska flag.png  Alaska
  • Arizona flag.png  Arizona
  • Arkansas flag.png  Arkansas
  • California flag.png  California
  • Colorado flag.png  Colorado
  • Connecticut flag.png  Connecticut
  • Delaware flag.png  Delaware
  • District of Columbia flag.png  District of Columbia
  • Florida flag.png  Florida
  • Georgia flag.png  Georgia
  • Hawaii flag.png  Hawaii
  • Idaho flag.png  Idaho
  • Illinois flag.png  Illinois
  • Indiana flag.png  Indiana
  • Iowa flag.png  Iowa
  • Kansas flag.png  Kansas
    		•
  • Kentucky flag.png  Kentucky
  • Louisiana flag.png  Louisiana
  • Maine flag.png  Maine
  • Maryland flag.png  Maryland
  • Massachusetts flag.png  Massachusetts
  • Michigan flag.png  Michigan
  • Minnesota flag.png  Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri flag.png  Missouri
  • Montana flag.png  Montana
  • Nebraska flag.png  Nebraska
  • Nevada flag.png  Nevada
  • New Hampshire flag.png  New Hampshire
  • New Jersey flag.png  New Jersey
  • New Mexico flag.png  New Mexico
  • New York flag.png  New York
  • North Carolina flag.png  North Carolina
    		•
  • North Dakota flag.png  North Dakota
  • Ohio flag.png  Ohio
  • Oklahoma flag.png  Oklahoma
  • Oregon flag.png  Oregon
  • Pennsylvania flag.png  Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island flag.png  Rhode Island
  • South Carolina flag.png  South Carolina
  • South Dakota flag.png  South Dakota
  • Tennessee flag.png  Tennessee
  • Texas flag.png  Texas
  • Utah flag.png  Utah
  • Vermont flag.png  Vermont
  • Virginia flag.png  Virginia
  • Washington flag.png  Washington
  • West Virginia flag.png  West Virginia
  • Wisconsin flag.png  Wisconsin
  • Wyoming flag.png  Wyoming

    • How to Obtain United States newspapers[edit | edit source]

    Listed below are resources for finding newspapers generally in the United States. However, many excellent statewide resources exist for finding newspapers of a state or county.

    In addition to this page, please see the state newspaper pages and the county pages on this wiki.

    Newspapers in the States
    Territories and Federal District

    Probate by State[edit | edit source]

    Panama Clickable Map[edit | edit source]

    EmberáEmberáDariénGuna YalaPanamaPanama OesteCocléColónHerreraLos SantosVeraguasNgäbe-BugléChiriquíBocas del ToroEnglish Republic of Panama.png

    Provinces[edit | edit source]

    Panama is divided into ten provinces and five indigenous regions.

    Provinces

    Indigenous Regions



    Learn more about the Guatemala Catholic Church Records collection.

    Access the Guatemala, Catholic Church Records, 1581-1977 records.

    Department
    		City or Town
    		Parish
    Alta Verapaz
    		 Cahabón

    Cobán
    San Cristóbal Verapaz
    San Juan Chamelco
    San Pedro Carchá
    Tactic

    		 Santa María

    Santo Domingo de Guzmán
    San Cristóbal
    San Juan Bautista
    San Pedro Carchá
    Nuestra Señora de la Asunción

    Baja Verapaz
    		 Cubulco

    El Chol
    Rabinal
    Salamá
    San Jerónimo
    San Miguel Chicaj

    		 Santiago Apóstol

    La Inmaculada Concepción
    San Pablo de Rabinal
    San Mateo
    San Jerónimo
    San Gabriel
    San Miguel

    Chiapas (Mexico)
    		 Amatenango de la Frontera

    Mazapa de Madero
    Motozintla

    		 Amatenango de la Frontera

    Mazapa de Madero
    Motozintla

    Chimaltenango
    		 Acatenango

    Comalapa
    Parramos
    Patzicía
    Patzún
    San Andrés Itzapa
    San Jacinto
    San José Poaquil
    San Martín Jilotepeque
    Santa Apolonia
    Santa Cruz Balanyá
    Tecpán
    Zaragoza

    		 San Bernabé

    San Juan Bautista
    Parramos
    Santiago
    San Bernardino
    San Andrés Itzapa
    Santa Ana
    San José Poaquil
    San Martín Obispo
    Santa Apolonia
    Santa Cruz
    San Francisco
    La Virgen del Pilar

    Chiquimula
    		 Chiquimula

    Jocotán
    Olopa
    Quezaltepeque

    		 Nuestra Señora de la Asunción

    Santiago
    Olopa
    San Francisco de Asís

    El Progreso
    		 El Progreso

    Morazán
    San Agustín Acasaguastlán
    Sanarate

    		 Santo Cristo de Esquipulas

    Inmaculada Concepción de María
    San Agustín
    Nuestra Señora del Rosario

    Escuintla
    		 Escuintla

    Palín

    San José
    Santa Lucía Cotzumalguapa

    		 Nuestra Señora de Concepción

    Palín
    San Cristóbal
    Puerto San José
    Santa Lucía Cotzumalguapa

    Guatemala
    		 Amatitlán

    Chimaltenango
    Guatemala







    Mixco
    Palencia
    Petapa
    San Andrés Sajcabajá
    San José Pinula
    San Juan Sacatepéquez
    San Pedro Sacatepéquez
    San Raimundo
    Santa Catarina Pinula
    Villa Canales
    Villa Nueva

    		 San Juan Bautista

    Santa Ana
    Archivo General de Centro América
    Arquidiócesis de Guatemala
    El Calvario
    El Sagrario
    Inmaculada Concepción
    La Providencia
    Nuestra Señora de Candelaria
    San Sebastián
    Santo Domingo
    Palencia
    San Miguel
    San Andrés Apóstol
    San José
    San Juan Bautista
    San Pedro Sacatepéquez
    San Raimundo de Peñafort
    Santa Catarina Pinula
    Villa Canales
    Concepción de María

    Huehuetenango
    		 Aguacatán

    Chiantla
    Colotenango
    Cuilco
    Huehuetenango


    Ixtahuacán
    Jacaltenango
    Malacatancito
    Soloma
    Tectitán

    		 Nuestra Señora de la Encarnación

    Nuestra Señora de Candelaria
    Santa María de la Asunción
    San Andrés
    La Inmaculada Concepción
    San Sebastián
    Santa Bárbara
    San Ildefonso
    Nuestra Señora de Candelaria
    Malacatancito
    San Pedro
    Tectitán

    Izabal
    		 Livingston
    		 Nuestra Señora del Rosario
    Jalapa
    		 Jalapa

    Mataquescuintla
    San Luis Jilotepeque
    San Pedro Pinula

    		 El Sagrario

    Santiago Apóstol
    San Luis Jilotepeque
    San Pedro y Virgen de Candelaria

    Jutiapa
    		 Asunción Mita

    Atescatempa
    Azacualpa
    Comapa
    Conguaco
    Jalpatagua
    Jutiapa
    Santa Catarina Mita
    Yupiltepeque

    		 Virgen de la Asunción

    Atescatempa
    Azacualpa
    Comapa
    San Pedro Apóstol
    Santo Tomás Apóstol
    San Cristóbal
    Santa Catarina Mita
    Yupiltepeque

    Petén
    		 Flores
    		 Nuestra Señora de los Remedios
    Quetzaltenango
    		 Almolonga

    Cantel
    Colomba
    Olintepeque
    Ostuncalco
    Quetzaltenango
    San Carlos Sija
    San Martín Sacatepéquez
    San Mateo
    San Miguel Sigüilá
    San Nicolás Quetzaltenango
    Santa María de Jesús
    Zunil

    		 San Pedro

    Nuestra Señora de los Angeles
    Señor de El Esquipulas
    San Juan Bautista
    San Juan Bautista
    El Espíritu Santo
    San Carlos Sija
    San Juan Bautista
    San Juan Bautista
    San Juan Bautista
    Sagrado Corazón de Jesús
    Espíritu Santo
    Santa Catalina de Alejandría

    Quiché
    		 Chichicastenango

    Chiché
    Chinique
    Joyabaj
    Patzité
    San Antonio Ilotenango
    San Sebastián Lemoa
    Santa Cruz del Quiché

    		 Santo Tomás

    Santo Tomás Apóstol
    Chinique
    Nuestra Señora de la Asunción
    Santa Cruz del Quiché
    San Antonio Ilotenango
    San Sebastián Lemoa
    Santa Cruz

    Retalhuleu
    		 Retalhuleu

    San Felipe
    San Sebastián

    		 San Antonio de Padua

    San Felipe Apóstol
    San Sebastián

    Sacatepéquez
    		 Alotenango

    Antigua Guatemala


    Ciudad Vieja
    Jocotenango
    Magdalena Milpas Altas
    Pastores
    San Bartolomé Becerra
    San Cristóbal El Bajo
    San Gaspar Vivar
    San Lorenzo El Tejar
    San Lucas Sacatepéquez
    San Mateo Milpas Altas
    San Miguel Dueñas
    San Miguel Milpas Altas
    San Pedro las Huertas
    Santa Isabel
    Santa Lucía Milpas Altas
    Santa María de Jesús
    Santiago Sacatepéquez
    Santo Domingo Xenacoj
    Santo Tomás Milpas Altas
    Sumpango

    		 Alotenango

    Nuestra Señora de los Remedios
    San José
    San Sebastián
    La Inmaculada Concepción
    San Bartolomé
    Magdalena Milpas Altas
    Pastores
    San Bartolomé Becerra
    San Cristóbal El Bajo
    San Gaspar Vivar
    San Lorenzo El Tejar
    San Lucas Sacatepéquez
    San Mateo Milpas Altas
    San Miguel Dueñas
    San Miguel Milpas Altas
    San Pedro las Huertas
    Santa Isabel
    Santa Lucía Milpas Altas
    El Dulce Nombre de Jesús
    Santiago Sacatepéquez
    Santo Domingo Xenacoj
    Santo Tomás Milpas Altas
    San Agustín

    San Marcos

    Malacatán
    Tacaná

    In Sololá, Sololá
    In Tectitán, Huehuetenango

    Santa Rosa
    		 Chiquimulilla

    Cuilapa
    Guazacapán
    Los Esclavos
    San Rafael las Flores
    Santa María Ixhuatán
    Santa Rosa de Lima

    		 Santa Cruz

    El Niño Dios
    Nuestra Señora de la Asunción
    Los Esclavos
    San Rafael las Flores
    Cuilapa
    Santa Rosa de Lima

    Sololá

    In this cell,
    Wiki persistently
    translates Sololá
    to "only the".

    		Concepción

    Nahualá
    Panajachel
    San Andrés Semetabaj
    San Antonio Palopó
    San Jorge La Laguna
    San Juan La Laguna
    San Lucas Tolimán
    San Marcos La Laguna
    San Miguelito
    San Pablo La Laguna
    San Pedro La Laguna
    Santa Catarina Ixtahuacán
    Santa Catarina Palopó
    Santa Clara La Laguna
    Santa Cruz La Laguna
    Santa Lucía Utatlán
    Santa María Visitación
    Santiago Atitlán
    Sololá

    		 Nuestra Señora de la Concepción

    Santa Catarina de Alejandría
    Panajachel
    San Andrés Semetabaj
    San Antonio Palopó
    San Jorge La Laguna
    San Juan La Laguna
    San Lucas Tolimán
    San Marcos La Laguna
    San Miguelito
    San Pablo La Laguna
    San Pedro Apóstol
    Santa Catarina
    Santa Catarina Palopó
    Santa Clara La Laguna
    Santa Cruz La Laguna
    Santa Lucía
    Santa María Visitación
    Santiago el Mayor
    Diócesis de Sololá
    Nuestra Señora de la Asunción

    Suchitepéquez
    		 Cuyotenango

    Mazatenango
    Patulul

    Samayac
    San Andrés Villa Seca
    San Antonio Suchitepéquez
    San Bernardino
    San Gabriel
    Santo Domingo Suchitepéquez
    Santo Tomás La Union

    		 Señor de Esquipulas y Santos Reyes

    San Bartolomé Apóstol
    Santa Bárbara
    Santa María Magdalena
    Limpia Concepción
    San Andrés Villa Seca
    San Antonio de Padua
    San Bernardino
    San Gabriel
    Santo Domingo de Guzmán
    Santo Tomás

    Totonicapán
    		 Concepción Chiquirichapa

    Momostenango
    San Andrés Xecul
    San Bartolo
    San Cristóbal Totonicapán
    San Francisco El Alto
    Santa María Chiquimula
    Totonicapán

    		 Inmaculada Concepción

    Momostenango
    San Andrés Xecul
    San Bartolo
    Santiago Apóstol
    San Francisco de Asís
    La Natividad de la Virgen María
    San Miguel Arcángel

    Zacapa
    		 Gualán

    Zacapa

    		 San Miguel Arcángel

    San Pedro


    Probate Naturalization
    Divorce Debt
    Adoption Guardianship
    Licenses Appointment to public offices
    Taxes Civil and criminal lawsuits
    Property disputes Crimes


    Country of Origin Prominent Church Church in U.S.
    Denmark Lutheran Lutheran
    Finland Lutheran Lutheran
    France Roman Catholic Roman Catholic
    Germany Roman Catholic Roman Catholic
    Italy Roman Catholic Roman Catholic
    Latin Countries Roman Catholic Roman Catholic
    Norway Lutheran Lutheran
    Poland Roman Catholic Roman Catholic
    Scotland Church of Scotland Presbyterian
    Sweden Lutheran Lutheran
    England Church of England or Anglicans Protestant Episcopal

    Swedish Lutheran Congregations Created Before 1900[edit | edit source]

    Parishes with associated numbers refer to the map above. For parishes with an asterisk (*), see Stockholm County.

    Map Number(s): Parish:
    3-7, 13 Adolf Fredrik
    18-20 Allmänna arbetsinrättningen
    9, 11-12 Allmänna institutet å Manilla för dövstumma och blinda
    3-5 Allmänna försörjningsinrättningen
    16 Allmänna straffängelset
    3-7, 13 Barnhus Församlingen
    8, 13 Brunkeberg
    * Brännkyrka
    16 Centralfängelset
    9-12 Djurgårdens Landsförsamling
    6-7, 14 Domkyrkoförsamling
    6-7, 14 Finska
    9-12 Hedvig Eleonora
    Map Number(s): Parish:
    8, 13 Jakob och Johannes
    18-20 Katarina
    6-7 Klara
    1-2 Kungsholm
    8, 13 Kungsbacksförsamlingen
    12 Ladugårdslandet
    15-17 Maria Magdalena
    14 Riddarholmen
    3-5 Sabbatsberg fattighus
    15-17 Straff- och arbetsfängelset å Norrmalm
    14 Sankt Nikolai
    3-7, 13 Sankt Olof
    9 Skeppsholm
    * Spånga
    6-7, 14 Storkyrkoförsamlingen
    1-2 Ulrika Eleonora

    Provinces and Municipalities[edit | edit source]

    Genealogy records are kept on the province and municipality level in Vietnam. Click on a province or municipality below to go to the province or municipality Wiki article listing more information.

    Red River Delta

    Bắc Ninh
    Hà Nam
    Hải Dương
    Hưng Yên
    Nam Định
    Ninh Bình
    Thái Bình
    Vĩnh Phúc
    Hanoi (municipality)
    Hai Phong (municipality)

    Northeast

    Bắc Giang
    Bắc Kạn
    Cao Bằng
    Hà Giang
    Lạng Sơn
    Lào Cai
    Phú Thọ
    Quảng Ninh
    Thái Nguyên
    Tuyên Quang
    Yên Bái

    Northwest

    Điện Biên
    Hòa Bình
    Lai Châu
    Sơn La

    North Central Coast

    Hà Tĩnh
    Nghệ An
    Quảng Bình
    Quảng Trị
    Thanh Hóa
    Thừa Thiên–Huế

    Central Highlands

    Đắk Lắk
    Đắk Nông
    Gia Lai
    Kon Tum
    Lâm Đồng

    South Central Coast

    Bình Định
    Bình Thuận
    Khánh Hòa
    Ninh Thuận
    Phú Yên
    Quảng Nam
    Quảng Ngãi
    Da Nang (municipality)

    Southeast

    Bà Rịa–Vũng Tàu
    Bình Dương
    Bình Phước
    Đồng Nai
    Tây Ninh
    Ho Chi Minh City (municipality)

    Mekong Delta

    An Giang
    Bạc Liêu
    Bến Tre
    Cà Mau
    Đồng Tháp
    Hậu Giang
    Kiên Giang
    Long An
    Sóc Trăng
    Tiền Giang
    Trà Vinh
    Vĩnh Long
    Cần Thơ (municipality)

    This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

    Due to contractual agreements, some images on FamilySearch.org can only be viewed at a Family History Center or FamilySearch Affiliate Library.

    Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=User:Terriethomas/Sandbox/code4&oldid=4302135"