Utuado, Puerto Rico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Puerto Rico Wiki Topics
Puerto Rico flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Puerto Rico Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Municipality of Utuado family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Municipality of Utuado
Ask the
Community


History[edit | edit source]

Utuado was founded October 12, 1739, by Sebastian de Morfi. The firat settlers to Utuado was because a Gold Rush in the area in the 1600-1700's.

During the late 18th and early 19th centuries, Utuado's population continued to grow as coffee gained in importance and growers saw the need for high altitudes and mountainous terrain to produce the best coffee beans. People not only migrated from the Puerto Rican coastal towns but also from Ireland (Founder Sebastian de Morfi = Sebastian Murphy), Canary Islands and the Balearic Islands of Majorca and Menorca, all seeking the riches that coffee had to offer.

Hurricane Maria in 2017 triggered many landslides in Utuado. In many areas of Utuado there were more than 25 landslides per square mile due to the large amount of rainfall.

In the United States census of 2010 listed the population as: 33,100. [1]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.

Online Records, 1805-2001[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Until the church records of this municipality are digitized and published online, write to the local Catholic Church for records prior to 1876. To find the address of the local parish, consult the Catholic Directory. For help with writing your letter or e-mail, use the Letter Writing Guide for Genealogy. If it seems that the priest would prefer to correspond in Spanish, use the Spanish Letter Writing Guide.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Utuado, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Utuado%2C_Puerto_Rico#History, accessed 12/28/2020.