Valle Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Valle, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Valle Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Otredal prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedenes
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Valle
Kommune Valle
Skifteretten Setesdal
Tinglag Valle
Fogderi Nedenes
Sorenskriveri Sætersdal
Skipreide Setesdal


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covers Valle clerical district, including Bykle, Valle, and Hylestad parishes. It is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities and covers Valle clerical district, including Bykle and Hylestad parishes. It is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the name of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.


  • 1865: The 1865 census for Valle clerical district includes Valle, Bykle, and Hylestad and is available on microfilm a the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the name of the farm or resident, persons name, status in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway.


  • 1875: The 1875 census for Valle and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This 1875 census contains the name of the farm or residence, persons name, sex, position in the family, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Valle includes the parishes of Valle, Bykle, and Hylestad and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the name of the farm or resident, name of person, sex, temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives); as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø, Norway.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

46 Aakre, 50 Aamli, 23 Aareholtet,

51 Berge, 23 Borkebu, 52 Brattetveit, 55 Bø nordre,

27 Dale, 25 Djupedal,

32 Espetveit,

58 Flaarendstranden, 25 Flateland, 22 Fotveit,

29 Graamandshus, 29 Graasteinhagen,

21 Hagen, 52 Hagen, 49 Harstad, 40 Haugebirke, 33 Haugum, 27 Hisda, 34 Hoftuft nordre, 38 Holum, 30 Hommehaugen, 28 Hommelunden,

39 Jordet,

40 Kjelleberg, 43 Kjørvestad, 45 Koturteigen, 24 Kroen, 36 Kvassaaker, 54 Kveste, 36 Kvæven,

21 Listølsteigen, 26 Ljosaadalen, 22 Lunden, 26 Løiland, 31 Løiningsheien,

52 Midtfjeldene, 37 Myrum,

22 Neset, 58 Neset,47 Nomeland,

27 Oddeskar,

45 Rike, 31 Rota, 59 Rota, 23 Rygnestad nordre, 23 Røene, 21 Røiseland,

41 Sagneskar, 57 Sandnes, 52 Stavedalen, 48 Steinsland, 31 Svalestuen,

53 Tveiten,

24 Vaatemyr, 42 Valle Præstegaard, 44 Viken

42 Øen

The place names listed in ...Gards og Ættesoge Valle are:

Akhyl, Attistog, Auvershage,

Bakken, Berg, Bergheim, Bergtun, Bjugshus, Bjøddebakke, Bjørkeli, Bjørketun, Bjørnehov, Blidli, Bratterud, Brattækre, Brokka, Brottveit, Brubakken, Bruheim, Brustad, Brònen, Bø,

Dale, Der heim, Der nord, Dokki, Dreng, Drenkadøl, Dølevodd,

Elvestad, Espetveit, Evretveit, Evstevodd,

Fagerheim, Feddufs, Fjellberg, Fjellheim, Fjelltun, Flateland, Flatelandsmoen, Flateli, Flaten, Flattun, Flårenden, Flårendsstrondi, Fossheim, Fotveit, Fredbo, Fredheim, Fredtun, Fristad, Fuglehuk, Furehaug, Furelund, Fureteig,

Gamlebakke, Gangseid, Gardatun, Garden, Granemo, Granlund, Grantun, Graver, Grjotgarden, Grjotsled, Gråmannshus, Gråsteinhage, Gullkro, Gunhildsstog,

Hagen, Halte - Jørundstuptin, Harstad, Haugebirke, Haugan, Haugebakk, Hagefoss, Haugen, Haugli, Hauglund, Haugly, Haugsjå, Haugtun, Haugum, Heggjebakken, Heggjehaug, Heimigard, Heimre Åreholti, Heimtun, Hoftuft, Holti, Holum, Homme, Hommehaugen, Hommelunden, Honnevje, Høgtun, Høssestøyl, Håbakk,

Innistog,

Jonsbakke, Jordet, Juvenes,

Kjelleberg, Klokkestog, Knutshus, Krokan, Krone, Kumle, Kveste, Kvivodden, Kvòsåk, Kyrehagen, Kyrkjeled, Kyrvestad, Kåvehagen,

Leitet, Lian, Liarheim, Lidarende, Lii, Lillesand, Lisle Kjelleberg, Lislehage, Litun, Ljosheim, Ljosåsdalen, Lund, Lunden, Lunderhus, Lundheim, Lyngbakken, Løyland,

Mannspann, Midtgarden, Mo, Moen, Motun, Munkehaug, Musevodd, Myri, Myrum, Myrvang,

Nedundhaug, Nesbu, Neset, Nigard, Nistog, Nomeland, Nordgarden, Nordheim, Nordibakken, Nordigard, Nordli, Nordstog, Nordtun, Nygarden, Nygård, Nyheim, Nystad, Nørdre Hoftuft, Nørdre Rygnestad, Nørdre Åreholti,

Odden, Oddeskar, Oppigard, Oppistog, Oppsal, Oppundhaug,

Plass, Plasset, Prestegarden, Presteli, Pålsstog,

Reinebu, Reini, Rekaviki, Revehagen, Rike, Rishaug, Rudet, Ruslehaugen, Rusto, Rygnestad, Ryningan, Ròta, Røysland, Røyso, Råsi,

Sagneskar, Sandnes, Seljebakken, Skarpækre, Skarshaug, Skartun, Skeivodden, Skjenøyne, Skjerehaug, Skjerevodd, Skogestad, Skogevodd, Skogheim, Skogli, Skogly, Skogvoll, Skumstein, Skrukkenes, Skòtet, Slengen, Slettevodd, Smokkjen, Solbakken, Solberg, Solbrekk, Solglytt, Solhaug, Solheim, Solhøgda, Soltun, Steingarden, Steinhagen, Steinsland, Steinsstog, Store-Hisdal, Store Kjelleberg, Storerein, Storøyne, Strandli, Støyla, Støylehaug, Svalestoga, Svensstog, Svingen, Sygard, Syndre Bø, Syndre Hoftuft, Syndre Rygnestad, Systog, Sæstad, Søgarden, Sørheim, Søribakken, Sørtun,

Tannestad, Tjørehaug, Tjørgrov, Torshus, Torverota, Tosong, Tuft, Tussehaug, Tveitebø, Tveiti, Tårstog,

Uri, Utheim, Utigard, Utistog, Utsyn,

Viki, Vikvoll, Vikåker, Vodden, Vokhaug, Vreistevodd, Vrålshus, Våtækre,

Ækra,

Øvre Hagefoss, Øvrevoll, Øyne,

Åkre, Åmli, Ånebu, Åreholti, Åsdokk, Åsen, Åsheim

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Bjørge, Magnar Kruse: Familien Abelseth. A genealogy of the Abelseth family in Norway who are descendants of Oluf Jonsen Abelseth (1570-1653) from Valle, Aust-Agder, Norway.

FHL 929.2481 A1 Available through the FamilySearch Catalog

Harstad, Bjug Aanondsen, b. 1848: A brief history of Valle, Saetersdal, Norway and some families from there. With: Early family history and reminiscences / by Bjug Harstad ; [translated from Norwegian by Oliver B. Harstad and Adolph M. Harstad].

This book contains the ancestors and descendants of Bjug Aanondsen Harstad born 17 Dec 1848 in Valle, Setesdal, Aust-Agder County, Norway, the son of Aanond Tellefsen (1800-1861) and Torbjør Kittelsdatter (1810-1894). He came to Seneca, Illinois, in 1861 and moved to Fillmore County, Minnesota in 1865. He married 14 Feb 1877 Gyro Svensdatter Aamli in North Dakota. They moved to Washington State in 1891. The book also includes a brief history of Valle in Setesdal in Aust-Agder County, Norway, from ca. 1260 to 1890.

Inneholder slektning til Bjug Aanondsen født 17 Dec 1848 på Harstad, Valle, Aust-Agder, Norge. Han var son av Aanond Tellefsen (1800- 1861) og Torbjør Kittelsdatter (1810-1894). De immigrerte til staten Illinois i USA i 1861 og flyttet til Fillmore County, Minnesota i 1865. Bjug giftet seg 14 Feb 1877 med Gyro Svendsdatter Aamli i North Dakota. De flyttet til staten Washington i 1891.

Også omfatter historie om Valle, Setesdal, Aust-Agder, Norge fra ca. 1260 til 1890.

FHL film 1065292 item 12 To view a digital version click here

Frankson, Ellsworth B. (Ellsworth Bertrand), b. 1931: Eli Amundsdatter Rygnestad's family history late 1400s through 2000 AD (eighteen generations). Some ancestors and descendants of Eli Asmundsdatter Rygnestad (b. 1791), a daughter of Asmund Kjetilsson Rygnestad and Birgit Folkesdatter Flateland. She married 1812 Olav Tarjeisson Trydal (Bykle) ( 1795-1883). Her family farm was near Valle, Aust-Agder co., Norway. Three children of Eli and Olav immigrated to America in 1852. Youngest son Folke Olsen Trydal (1834-1909) and his wife Sigri Haugum's descendants use surname Frankson. FHL 929.273 R981. To view a digital version click here

Magneson, Roger Dean: Halvor M. Magnson's descent:

Contains: 1. Halvor M. Magneson's descent from the Galtung and Smør families of Austevoll, Fitjar, Stord, and Sund parishes of Hordaland, Norway -- 2. Halvor M. Magneson's descent from the viking kings.

Number 1 contains a pedigree chart, ahnenlist, and genealogical table connecting Halvor M. Magneson (1876-1942) to the prominent Galtung and Smør families. Number 2 contains a pedigree chart and 8 genealogical tables connecting Halvor M. Magneson (1876-1942) to the viking kings. FHL 929.2481 M274. To view a digital version of no 1 click here, to view a digital version of no 2 click here

Nelson, Truman O.: Nilsson (Nelson) - Hoftuft- Jore_ Groven family genealogical data, 1570-1973. Axel Nilsson (1845-1888) married Britta Maria Larson in 1875, and in 1882 they immigrated from Varmland, Sweden to Thief River Falls, Minnesota. Descendants lived in Minnesota, and elsewhere. Ancestors and relatives lived in Värmland County, Sweden and in Valle Parish, Aust-Agder County, Norway. FHL US/CAN film 1033990.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Vestre Råbyggelag judicial district
*1697-1862 Family History Library

Setesdal judicial district
*1697-1909 Digitalarkivet
*1856-1881 Family History Library

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Ryningen, Alfred, et al. Valle Kommune III Gards og Ættesoge Valle. Bergen: Reklametrykk Grafisk A.s., 1987.

Ryningen, Alfred, et al. Valle Kommune IV Gards og Ættesoge Valle. Bergen: Reklametrykk Grafisk A.s., 1987.

Ryningen, Alfred, et al. Valle Kommune V Gards og Ættesoge Valle. Bergen: Reklamatrykk Grafisk A.s, 1987.

Ryningen, Alfred, et al. Valle Kommune VI Gards og Ættesoge Valle. Bergen: Reklamatrykk Grafisk A.s, 1987.