Vega Alta, Puerto Rico Genealogy
| Puerto Rico Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Puerto Rico Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to Municipality of Vega Alta family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents
History[edit | edit source]
Vega Alta was founded in 1775 by Francisco de los Olivos.
On October 12, 1898 the city's mayor allowed U.S. troops as part of the Spanish–American War. On that same day, for the first time in Vega Alta's history, the U.S. flag was lifted on city hall.
From 1902 to 1905, Vega Alta became once more part of the neighbor city of Vega Baja. In 1905, the government of Puerto Rico passed a law, allowing Vega Alta to become a municipality with its own limits.
In 2010, the United States Census listed the population as: 40,000. [1]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records, 1805-2001[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, Vega Alta, browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Until the church records of this municipality are digitized and published online, write to the local Catholic Church for records prior to 1876. To find the address of the local parish, consult the Catholic Directory. For help with writing your letter or e-mail, use the Letter Writing Guide for Genealogy. If it seems that the priest would prefer to correspond in Spanish, use the Spanish Letter Writing Guide.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Vega Alta, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vega_Alta,_Puerto_Rico, accessed A12/29/2020.
