Vega Baja, Puerto Rico Genealogy
|Puerto Rico Wiki Topics|
|Puerto Rico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Municipality of Vega Baja family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Although is generally believed that Vega Baja was founded in 1776, after the division of Vega Alta from La Vega, historians have verified that it was many years later when it was officially recognized by the Spanish government.
Vega is a surname of one of the families involved in the foundation of Vega Baja. It is also believed that the name comes from the region of Spain La Vega Baja del Segura.
Hurricane Maria in 2017 set off many landslides in Vega Baja with the significant amount of rainfall, possibly losing records. 
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records, 1805-2001[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, Vega Baja, browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Until the church records of this municipality are digitized and published online, write to the local Catholic Church for records prior to 1876. To find the address of the local parish, consult the Catholic Directory. For help with writing your letter or e-mail, use the Letter Writing Guide for Genealogy. If it seems that the priest would prefer to correspond in Spanish, use the Spanish Letter Writing Guide.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Vega Baja, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vega_Baja,_Puerto_Rico#History, accessed 12/29/20.