Vegusdal Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Vegusdal, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Vegusdal Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Vest-Nedenes prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Herefoss
Kommune Birkenes
Skifteretten Østre Råbyggelag
Tinglag Herefoss, Vegusdal
Fogderi Østre Råbyggelag
Skipreide Østre Raabyggelag


Church Records[edit | edit source]


  • Digitized images of parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


Census Records[edit | edit source]


  • See Evje for 1801, 1865.



  • 1891: The 1891 census for Vegusdal is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1900: The 1900 census for Vegusdal is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Setane, Paul: Vegusdal: gards- og ættesoge. Vital information on families living on various farms in Vegusdal, Aust-Agder co., Norway. FHL 948.28/V4 D2

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

53 Aannesland, 37 Aarikstad, 40 Aas,

39 Belland, 10 Breisaasen, 28 Buli,

15 Dovland,

43 Engesland nedre, 13 Engesland øvre, 23 Evel,

45 Fidje, 21 Fidjeland nedre, 25 Fjermedal, 8 Flateland, 44 Furholt,

20 Gjerustad, 28 Gjoreid,

47 Haastøl, 38 Haavaarstad, 27 Haugeland, 18 Haukum vestre, 12 Haukum østre, 50 Heimdal store, 36 Hommen, 6 Hovland ,

19 Katteraas, 16 Kjælevand, 1 Kullebunden,

46 Landaas, 46 Lande, 34 Lien, 5 Ljoseland, 51 Lunden, 35 Løland,

3 Myklebostad,

29 Neset, 3 Nygaard,

48 Retterholt, 14 Røiland, 28 Røli,

7 Skaare, 33 Skreeros, 41 Stølen, 31 Sundstøl lille, 29 Sundstøl store, 30 Sørli,

52 Troldalen, 4 Tveit nordre, 42 Tveit søndre, 26 Tveit vestre,

9 Vaagsdalen, 1 Vatne lille, 17 Vatne store, 11 Vegusdal ,49 Vestøl, 24 Vetrhus, 32 Vindvand,

2 Ødegaarden

Vegusdal farm history:

Aageshei, Augland, Austbø, Austebø,

Bakke, Bakken, Belland, Berg, Bergli, Bjelkeberg, Bjerva, Bjervamoen, Bjønskjegmyren, Bjørkeli, Bjørkelunden, Bjørnemyrlien, Blåkorshuset, Brattekleivlia, Breisåsen, Brekka, Brubakken, Buli, Busseslåttene,

Degneslåttene, Der Aust, Der Heime, Der Nord, Der Oppe, Der Vest, Dikemyr, Dovland, Døla,

Eikelia, Einebu, Ellefsvollen, Elvely, Engesland, Espemo, Evelid,

Fidje, Fidjeland, Finsland, Fjell, Fjellbu, Fjellebrekka, Fjermedal Øvre, Flateland, Flaten, Fossheim, Fredheim, Frivold, Frivoll, Furholt, Furubakken, Furuhaug, Furuheim, Furuholtet, Furujordet, Følkjønstykket,

Gjertrudsmyr, Gjerulstad, Gjerustad, Granly, Grindeholmen, Gunnheim,

Hagen, Haug, Haugeheim, Haugen, Hauger, Haugland, Hauglandsteigen, Haugmoen, Haugom, Haukom, Heggeli, Heien, Heimdal Store, Heimly, Heimtun, Helgetveit, Hestøen, Hestøya, Holmegard, Holtet, Homme, Hommen, Homsletta, Hovland, Hovlandsdalen, Hovlandsskogen, Håstøl, Håverstad,

Joreid, Jorøya,

Kaalgardhaugen, Kalrasheia, Karismyr, Kartarne, Karten, Katerås, Kattheistykket, Kjellevand, Kjersaas, Kjørslemyr, Klevedalen, Krosseheistykket, Kullebunnen,

Lande, Landsverk, Landås, Langeland, Langeliene, Langnadheim, Lia, Liane, Lillevoll, Lilletveit, Linnkron, Lislevand, Litveit, Ljosevatnsplassen, Ljosland, Lognøya, Lund, Lunde, Lunden, Lyngmyr, Løehaug, Løland,

Madstad, Mandaasen, Munkebergstykket, Myklebostad, Myrvang, Møsseli,

Nerejordet, Neset, Nordgarden, Nordheim, Nordheiteigen, Nordjordet, Nordli, Nordtun, Norheim, Nyborg, Nygard, Nyvoll,

Oggeli, Oggevang, Orgard, Orheim, Orregardsmyrene,

Porsmyr,

Retterholt, Risbu, Risdal, Rydland, Rødli, Røyland, Røyland øydegard,

Sagestø, Sagetufta, Sandmo, Sandvik, Signoldstad, Simundsmyr, Skaaredalen, Skaren, Skauen, Skauevollen, Skjeggerauen, Skjerpet, Skogli, Skogly, Skogstad, Skreros, Skåre, Sletteberg, Solbakken, Solhaug, Solheia, Solheim, Solli, Solsletta, Solvik, Solås, Soppmyr, Stallkleiv, Steane, Stolpane, Storejolien, Storemyr, Stormyr, Støledalen, Stølen, Sundbø, Sundsmyren, Sundstøl Austre, Sundstøl Lille, Sundstøl Store, Svaland, Svartekjønsteinen, Sørli,

Torborgsmyr, Trolldalen, Tveit,

Vatne Store, Vegusdal, Vellene, Vellir, Veslehaug, Vestlione, Vestøl, Vetrhus, Vindvand, Vinterbakken, Vollan, Vollane, Vollartim, Væting, Vågsdalen,

Ytre Åsane,

Øyegarden, Øygarden,

Ånesland, Årikstad, Ås, Åsen

Genealogy
[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Østre Råbyggelag judicial district
*1697-1852 Family History Library
*1697-1852 Digitalarkivet

Setesdal judicial district
*1697-1909 Digitalarkivet
*1856-1881 Family History Library.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Setane, Paul and Vellene, Jens, et al..  Vegusdal Gards- og ættesoge.  Stavanger:  Aase Grafiske, 19__.