To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Venezuela Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Venezuela Wiki Topics
Flag of Venezuela.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Venezuela Background
Local Research Resources

Introduction[edit | edit source]

A census is a count and description of the population. Censuses have been taken by various levels of government in Venezuela and by some ecclesiastical officials. Census records were taken primarily for population studies, taxation, military purposes, or taxing in behalf of the parish poor. Censuses, known as censos or padrones, have been taken by colonial and national governments throughout Latin American.

Records created during the Spanish administration of colonial Latin America, would be located in the Archivo General de Indias in Seville, Spain.

The Catholic church also took occasional censuses of parishioners. An ecclesiastical census was also known as a censo or padrón in Latin America.

Where available, census records can provide a person’s age, birth year, religion, birthplace, and occupation. These records can also explain his or her relationship to family members, and provide other family information.

Census records are especially valuable because they list a large portion of the population. They can provide information about persons where church and civil records may be incomplete. However, use the information with caution, since it may contain inaccuracies. The informant (perhaps a member of the family or a neighbor) may have not known the facts or deliberately falsified the information.

Searching Census Records[edit | edit source]

When searching census records, it is important to remember the following:

  • Accept the ages with caution.
  • Given names may not always be the same as the names recorded in vital records.
  • Information may be incorrect.
  • Names may be spelled as they sound.
  • Place names may be misspelled or spelled phonetically.
  • If the family is not at the suspected address, search the surrounding area.
  • Parts of the census may be indecipherable.

Venezuela Census Records in Census Records for Latin America and the Hispanic United States[edit | edit source]

The following table is a list of census records for the country of Venezuela, as listed in Lyman D Platt's book, Census Records for Latin America and the Hispanic United States.[1]

Province Locality Year(s) Access
All All 1756-1798 Family History Library Microfilm nos. 1162408-1162418
All All 1873 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 267
All All 1873 Instituto Nacional de Estadística
All All 1881 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 267
All All 1881 Instituto Nacional de Estadística
All All 1891 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 267
All All 1891 Instituto Nacional de Estadística
All All 1920 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 267
All All 1920 Instituto Nacional de Estadística
All All 1926 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 267
All All 1926 Instituto Nacional de Estadística
All All 1941 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 267
All All 1950 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 267
All All 1960 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 267
All All 1970 Lyman D Platt, Genealogical Historical Guide to Latin America, 267
All Cumarebo 1761 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #36
All Cumarebo 1780 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #27
All Perija 1767 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #28
Carabobo Puerto Cabello 1761 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162418 #3
Carabobo Puerto Cabello 1767 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162417 #8
Carabobo Puerto Cabello 1784 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162418 #3
Carabobo Puerto Cabello 1788 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162417 #6
Distrito Capital Caracas 1756-1798 Family History Library Microfilm nos. 1162408-1162418
Distrito Capital Caracas, Altagracia 1754 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162408 #24
Distrito Capital Caracas, Altagracia 1766 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162417 #5
Distrito Capital Caracas, Altagracia 1770 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162417 #5
Distrito Capital Caracas, Altagracia 1770 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162418 #1
Distrito Capital Caracas, Altagracia 1792 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162408 #21
Distrito Capital Caracas, Altagracia 1805 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162408 #22
Distrito Capital Caracas, Altagracia 1813 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162408 #23
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1758 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #15
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1761 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #14
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1762 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #19
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1766 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #21
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1767 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #18
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1768 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #23
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1773 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #25
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1768 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #23
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1773 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #25
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1774 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #26
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1776 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #24
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1776 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #38
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1778 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #13
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1781 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #37
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1786 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #12
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1787 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #30
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1788 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #33
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1790 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #32
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1791 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #33
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1792 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #31
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1794 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #30
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1795 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #28
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1796 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #35
Distrito Capital Caracas, Candelaria 1798 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #35
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1751 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162411 #54-55
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1758 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162411 #50-52
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1766 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162411 #53
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1767 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #47-48
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1767 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162411 #49
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1768 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #43-44
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1769 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #42
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1770 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #45
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1772 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #41
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1774 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #46
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1778 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162409 #39-40
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1781 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162411 #70
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1786 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162411 #69
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1787 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162411 #66-68
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1788 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162411 #63-65
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1790 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162411 #58, 60
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1791 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162411 #59, 63
Distrito Capital Caracas, Catedral 1792 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162411 #61-62
Distrito Capital Caracas, San Pablo 1766 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162417 #7
Distrito Capital Caracas, San Pablo 1768 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162417 #9
Guarico Chaguaramal 1782 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #43
Guarico Chaguaramal 1796 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #44
Guarico Chaguaramal 1798 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #45
Guarico Chaguaramas ? Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #38
Guarico Chaguaramas ? Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #43
Guarico Chaguaramas 1758 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #36
Guarico Chaguaramas 1767 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #37
Guarico Chaguaramas 1772 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #41
Guarico Chaguaramas 1782 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #42
Guarico Santa Ana del Serric 1768 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #46
Guarico Santa Maria 1759 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #37
Lara All 1759 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162408 #1-17
Lara Araguita en Carora 1769 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #8
Lara Araguita en Carora 1792 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #9
Lara Aregue 1791 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #10
Lara Aregue 1794 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #11
Lara Barquisimeto 17?? Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #49
Lara Barquisimeto 1758 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #55
Lara Barquisimeto 1767 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #58-59
Lara Barquisimeto 1768 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #61
Lara Barquisimeto 1782 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162418 #48
Lara Barquisimeto 1786 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #65
Lara Barquisimeto 1817 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #68
Lara Buria 1784 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #67
Lara Mitagache 1617 Ambrosio Perera, Historia de la Organización de Pueblos Antiguos de Venezuela, 1:113-120
Lara Santa Lucia 1795 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #50
Lara Santa Rosa ???? Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #51
Lara Santa Rosa 1758 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #63
Lara Santa Rosa 1768 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #56
Lara Santa Rosa 1781 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #60
Lara Santa Rosa 1784 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #52
Lara Santa Rosa 1786 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #53
Lara Santa Rosa (indios) 1758 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #64
Lara Sarare 1768 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162414 #61
Miranda Chacao 1770 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #34
Miranda Chacao 1772 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #34
Miranda Chacao 1781 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #34
Miranda Chacao 1792 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #35
Miranda Chacao 1790 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #35
Miranda Chacao 1791 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #35
Miranda Charallave 1764 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #29
Miranda Charallave 1767 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #28
Miranda Charallave 1768 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #28
Miranda Charallave 1770 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #29
Miranda Charallave 1772 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #33
Miranda Charallave 1776 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #28
Miranda Charallave 1777 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #28
Miranda Charallave 1778 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #27
Miranda Charallave 1778 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #33
Miranda Charallave 1781 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #32
Miranda Charallave 1781 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #33
Miranda Charallave 1782 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #33
Miranda Charallave 1786 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #32
Miranda Charallave 1790 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #32
Miranda Charallave 1794 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #31
Miranda Charallave 1795 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #31
Miranda Charallave 1796 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #30
Miranda Charallave 1798 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #30
Miranda Charallave 1799 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #29
Miranda Charallave 1800 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #30
Miranda Petare 1761 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162418 #4
Miranda Petare 1767-1768 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162410 #2
R. Tocuyo Bagueche 1617 Ambrosio Perera, Historia de la Organización de Pueblos Antiguos de Venezuela, 1:113-116
R. Tocuyo Querealle 1617 Ambrosio Perera, Historia de la Organización de Pueblos Antiguos de Venezuela, 1:113-116
Portuguesa Aparición de la Corteza 1745 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162412 #61
Portuguesa Araure 1758 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162412 #50
Portuguesa Araure 1770 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162412 #48
Portuguesa Araure 1782 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162412 #49
Portuguesa Araure 1791 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #1
Portuguesa Araure 1794 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162412 #49
Portuguesa Araure 1798 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162413 #2
Portuguesa Carimoto en Tucupido 1760 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162412 #55-57
Portuguesa Carimoto en Tucupido 1761 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162412 #59
Portuguesa Carimoto en Tucupido 1792 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162412 #60
Portuguesa Pueblo Nuevo 1758 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162412 #51-52
Portuguesa Zaragoza 1758 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162412 #62
Portuguesa Zaragoza 1782 Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162412 #49
Portuguesa Zaragoza (indios) ???? Family History Library Microfilm no. 1162412 #53
Trujillo All 1771 Family History Library Microfilm nos. 2245021-2245025

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lyman D Platt, Latin American Census Records (Salt Lake City, Utah: Instituto Genealogico e Historico Latinoamericano, 1987) 148-151.