Volusia County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Volusia County, Florida ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Social Security Records
- 2.27 Tax Records
- 2.28 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the Community of Volusia. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Volusia County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web site may have additional information on Volusia County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
- 1885 Florida State Population Census includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality. - How to Use this Collection
- Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Daytona Beach
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- NARA Ships Passenger Lists - These passenger lists cover:
- 1834-1897 - Immigration of Russians to the United States
- 1/12/1846-12/31/1851 - Irish Famine
- 1850-1897 - Germans to the United States
- 1855-1900 - Italians to the United States
- 1834-1897 - Immigration of Russians to the United States
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for most counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- 1821-1997 Maps of Florida
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps University of South Florida
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Florida State Military Files USGenWeb
- Florida state pension records from various wars Pension Transcriptions USGenWeb
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry (free)
- 1885-1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
World War I
- 1917-1920 - Florida, World War I Navy Card Roster, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
World War II
- 1940-1945 - Florida, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict distantcousin.com
- Distantcousin.com Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb Obituaries Project Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Indexes and Records
- 1784 – 1990 Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1810 – 1974 Ancestry.com $ Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1880-1935 - Florida, Births and Christenings, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1802-1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast $
- 1822-1875 and 1927 - 2001 - Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1830-1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1830-1993 - Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1837-1974 - Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1877-1939 - Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
- 1877-1998 - Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1900-1921 - Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Volusia County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Florida Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Libraries
Daytona Beach Florida Family History Center
1125 Sixth St
Daytona Beach FL 32117
Deland Florida Family History Center
1345 South Aquarius Ave
DeLand Florida 32724
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Volusia County. For state-wide library facilities, see Florida Archives and Libraries.
Daytona Beach Regional Library
1290 Indian Lake Rd
Daytona Beach, FL 32124
- The County Library system has fourteen library's and branches. Check website for location and address.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Volusia County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Florida Societies.
Genealogical Society of Southeast Volusia County
PO Box 895
Edgewater, FL 32132-0895
Roots and Branches Genealogical Society of West Volusia County
130 E. Howry Ave
P O Box 612
DeLand, FL 32724
John Knox Village Genealogy Club aka "The Sandhill Crane Investigative Team" or CSI
1490 Northlake Drive
Orance City, FL 32763
Phone: 386 218-4578
Volusia Genealogical Society
Mail: P O Box 2039
Daytona Beach, FL 32115
Meeting: Daytona Beach Regional Library
105 E. Magnolia Ave.
Daytona Beach, Fl 32114
Florida Historical Society
435 Brevard Ave.
Cocoa FL 32922
Florida State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 940927
Maitland, FL 32794-0927
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Volusia County, FLGenWeb/USGenWeb -- part of the national USGenWeb Project
- State of Florida
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Volusia County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Volusia County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Volusia County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, genealogy trails 04/27/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Volusia County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 14 February 2019.