Vor Frelser Parish København, København, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Vor Frelser, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Residents of Christianshavn originally attended Holmens parish until 22 May 1640, when a wooden church from the Middle Ages was dedicated. On 16 April 1696, Vor Frelser parish was organized.

The following is a chronological list of changes to the parish:

  • 1901 -  part of the parish went to the newly established Christians parish.
  • 6 March 1905 - part of Nathanaels parish was annexed into Vor Frelser parish.
  • 1 October 1973 - part of Citadels parish was added to Vor Frelser.

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Vor Frelser Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Københavns Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Vor Frelsers Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Add here
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Copenhagen City
Herred (district) Add here
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
Gods (estate) Add here
v • d • e


Street Names[edit | edit source]

Amagerbro, Amagerbrogade, Amagerfælled, Amagerstræde, Andreas Bjørns Gade

Bag Børsen, Bodenhoffs, Brobergsgade, Brogade, Burmeistergade, Børnehustorv, Børsgade, Baadsmandsstræde

Christiansborg Slot, Christianshavn Kanal, Christianshavns Torv, Christianshavn Voldgade, Christiansholm, Christmas Møllers Plads

Dalslandsgade, Dronningensgade

Enhorns Bastion

Flinterenden

Herjedalgade, Holmbladsvænge, Holms Plads

Islands Plads

Kallebø Bastion, Kanalgade Neden Vandet, Kanalgade Oven Vandet, Kløvermarksvej, Kongensgade, Krudtårvejen på Amager, Kvintevejen

Langebrogade, Laplandsgade, Lijnelle Bastion, Lille Amagergade, Lille Kongensgade, Lille Sophiegade, Lille Søndervoldstræde, Lille Torvegade

Markmandsgade, Mikkel Vibes Gade

Nedre Vandet Baadsmandsgade, Nerikegade, Nyholm

Overgaden Neden Vandet, Overgaden Oven Vandet, Over Vandet Baadsmandsgade

Pedersens Plads, Portstræde, Prags Boulevard, Prinsensgade, Prinsessegade

Refshalevej, Refshaleøen

Sankt Annæ Gade, Sankt Annæ Gade Neden Vandet, Siljangade, Sophie Bastion, Sophiegade, Store Amagergade, Store Kongensgade, Store Mølle Vej, Store Søndervoldstræde, Store Torvegade, Strandgade, Sønder Volden, Søndervoldstræde

Torvegade, Torvet

Uden Amager Port, Ulrich Bastion, Uplandsgade

Ved Kløvermarken, Ved Skansen, Ved Sønderporten, Ved Volden, Vermlandsgade, Vilholms Bastion, Volden

Wildersgade, Wilders Plads

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Genealogical Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Denmark Feast Day Calendars will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Personal Names.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, København Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, København" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]

Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Vor_Frelser_Parish_København,_København,_Denmark_Genealogy&oldid=4137205"