|Oklahoma Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
History[edit | edit source]
Guide to Waco People ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and other agency records.
To get started in Indigenous Peoples of the United States Research
Tribal Headquarters[edit | edit source]
Wichita and Affiliated Tribes
1 1/4 Miles North on HWY 281 / P.O. BOX 729
Anadarko, OK 73005
Brief Timeline[edit | edit source]
1835: Waco leaders sign the Camp Holmes Treaty
1859: Assigned to the Washita River Reservation in Indian Territory
Additional References to the History of the Tribe[edit | edit source]
Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Waco tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods.
Reservations[edit | edit source]
A tract of land set aside for the occupation and use by Native Americans.
Washita River Reservation
Superintendencies[edit | edit source]
Records for Superintendencies exist in the National Archives and copies of many of them are also available in other research facilities.
Agencies[edit | edit source]
The tribe was under the jurisdiction of the agencies.
Records[edit | edit source]
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Important Websites[edit | edit source]
- Wichita Tribe Wikipedia
References[edit | edit source]