To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wadhurst, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wadhurst, Sussex)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Wadhurst, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wadhurst, Sussex
Wadhurst+St+Peter+St+Paul East+Sussex.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loxfield-Pelham
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Ticehurst
Registration District Ticehurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1604
Bishop's Transcripts: 1666
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Malling
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WADHURST (St. Peter and St. Paul), a market town and parish, in the union of Ticehurst, hundred of Loxfield-Pelham, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 4 miles (S. W.) from Lamberhurst, and 5 (S. E.) from Tonbridge-Wells. This town is situated on the road from Tonbridge-Wells to Hastings. The church is partly in the early and partly in the later English style, with a tower surmounted by a lofty spire, and contains some ancient monuments, and on the floor numerous plates of iron, inscribed to various families. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

A history of the church is available Wadhurst St peter and St Paul

The Parish Church of St Peter and St Paul Wadhurst has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Wadhurst Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Tidebrook St John the Baptist was formed from this parish Tidebrook Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Tidebrook St John the Baptist Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Tidebrook Wikipedia list of places of worship in Rother district Wikipedia

See also Wadhurst Wikipedia and Church website which includes a guide to the church.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. For civil registration history see Ticehurst registration district

Church records[edit | edit source]

Wadhurst parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
FS PRs = England, Sussex, Parish Registers, 1538-1910 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Sussex Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Sussex Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Wadhurst Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP



1530-1990
TGEN 1538-1920s
1538-1920s
1538-1920s
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Sussex Record Office and The Keep (which houses the collections of the East Sussex Record Office).

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Ticehurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Wadhurst/

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 429-432. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch